Excellence in Damage Prevention

Miss Utility Awards

Locator Achievement Awards

Since 2003, the Locator Achievement Awards has given organizations the opportunity to recognize the best partners in damage prevention: locating technicians. We all work with dedicated locating technicians who strive to improve the damage prevention process. This is your chance to give these professionals the recognition they deserve.

Nomination Form

The Process


Nominations for the 21st Annual Locator Achievement Awards are now closed. The nominations for the 22nd Annual Locator Achievement Awards will open in early 2024. Nominations are submitted by locating technicians’ managers using an online nomination form that is emailed to locating organizations via their call center district database email address. Depending on the region as outlined below, 2-3 eligible locators can be submitted each year by locating using the nomination form.

The nine regions are:

  • Region #1: Harford & Cecil County (max. 2 nominees)
  • Region #2: Washington, D.C. (max. 2 nominees)
  • Region #3: Montgomery County (max. 3 nominees)
  • Region #4: Baltimore City & Baltimore County (max. 3 nominees)
  • Region #5: Calvert, Charles & St. Mary’s County (max. 2 nominees)
  • Region #6: Allegany, Garrett & Washington County (max. 2 nominees)
  • Region #7: Anne Arundel County (max. 3 nominees)
  • Region #8: Prince George’s County (max. 3 nominees)
  • Region #9: Howard, Carroll & Frederick County (max. 3 nominees)

The Criteria

Eligibility Requirements

The eligibility period is the full year (January 1st to December 31st) prior to nomination. In order to be eligible for a Miss Utility Locator Achievement Award applicants must meet ALL of the following criteria:

  • Submitted individuals must have performed facility/utility location services as his/her FULL-TIME job in at least one of the above regions during the eligibility period AND must have responded to at least 1,500 locate requests during that time.
  • Submitted individuals must have been employed by the nominating organization for at least 12 months at the time the form is submitted.
  • Locator must have ZERO at-fault damages, ZERO safety violations and pass quality audits (if applicable) within his/her respective organization for the eligibility period.
  • Locator must understand and abide by Maryland Code Title 12 “Underground Facilities” and/or Washington D.C. Code Title 34 Public Utilities.
  • Locator must establish proactive working relationships in damage prevention.
  • No more than two (2) or three (3) locating technicians per region may be submitted, as outlined by the regions above.
  • You can only nominate your own company employee(s) (i.e. none of your subcontractors or contract locators).

21st Annual

Locator Achievement Awards

On May 10, Miss Utility of Maryland/D.C., recognized 66 regional locators at the 21st Annual Locator Achievement Awards for their dedication to damage prevention and exemplary performance with zero safety violations in 2023. Since its creation in 2003, the Locator Achievement Awards program has aimed to recognize the essential role that locate technicians in Maryland and Washington, D.C., have in protecting underground infrastructure and keeping communities safe.

Miss Utility’s 21st annual Locator Achievement Awards celebration took place at a Bowie Baysox game at Prince George’s Stadium in Bowie, Md., where locators, their families, members of the awards committee and Miss Utility members gathered to celebrate the locators’ accomplishments. During the baseball game, winning locators stood on the dugout to be recognized by the Bowie Baysox over the PA system, and received a round of applause from the thousands present in the stadium. In addition to the awards celebration, locators received a Locator Achievement Awards certificate, a custom-embroidered safety jacket and an 811 T-shirt. Miss Utility also had a marketing booth set up during the game to help spread the 811 message to the homeowner audience in attendance.

This year, 64 locators are being recognized in Miss Utility’s 21st annual Locator Achievement Awards, including:

Anna Arundel County DPW

Adam Dove
Thomas Conklin

Charles County DPW/Utilities

Robert Gilhuly
Randy Haley

Dynamic Concepts Inc.

DeAngelo Brown
Mateen Thornton
Dario Salazar


Christopher Stewart
Pernell Grant
Allen Council


Gregg Andrew

Maryland Broadband Cooperative

Greg Krysiak

One Call Concepts Locating Services, Inc.

Marvin Allen
Harden Ward
Tyran Blair
Timothy Watkowski
Rasheed Raheem
Kyle Strobel

Pro Comm ELS, LLC

John Kluver
Kemar Baxter
Rolando Cedillos-Requeno
Marc-Etienne Mathieu
Rodney Brown
Jermaine Street
Amin Fitzpatrick
Ben Chester
Ruben Esparza

Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO)

Leonard Wathen
Mike Kewer

Stake Center Locating

George Asante
Ritchie Rollins
Michael Badasu
Charles Cook
Darell Hazelton
Terrell Turpin
Brandon Wanken
Edgar Carey
Bryan Chenoweth


Brian Rappa
Nolan Hebron
David Marin
Reese Parks
Robert Nelson
Rick Mills
Melvin Mcdowel


Gerald Roegner
Anthony Jones
Devon Barnes
Dwayne Lawrence
Demetrius McDaniels
Khalil Ford
Niko Di Bartolomeo
Pernell Latham
Christopher Hawkins
Bernard Smith
John Wisner
Robert Smith
Joseph Burgos
Michael Carolan
Austin Karls
Alfonzo Monroe
Andre Taylor
Oscar Amaya
Moises Ramirez
Kenneth Scott
Tony Hubbard