Excellence in Damage Prevention

Miss Utility Awards

Dig Smart Award

The Miss Utility MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee holds the annual Dig Smart Awards as part of its quest to promote underground utility safety and recognize contractors who steadily work toward damage prevention.

Nomination Form
The Process


If your company goes above and beyond to ensure damages are prevented, apply for the Dig Smart Awards by completing an entry form, which is available in early July. Nominated companies are evaluated based on their damage prevention procedures, employee training programs, enforcement of damage prevention laws, and participation in public/government forums, damage prevention meetings and conferences, and trade organizations.

The Winners

Awards Ceremony

The winning companies each receive two complimentary two-night packages to the Greater Chesapeake Damage Prevention Training Conference in the fall, where they are recognized by their peers as leaders in damage prevention.

The winners will be recognized at the 2018 Greater Chesapeake Damage Prevention Training Conference, which will take place Oct. 23-26 in Ocean City, Md. Congratulations to the four companies recognized this year, and thank you to all organizations that submitted nominations.


Dig Smart Award Winners

This year, the committee reviewed entries from some of the safest contractors in Maryland and Washington, D.C., making it a challenge to pick the winners. These outstanding organizations were chosen from a group of excellent nominations from contractors across Maryland and the District of Columbia. The winners were determined after a review of each company’s damage prevention practices by a select panel of industry experts.

NPL receives this year’s Dig Smart Excellence Award. This award recognizes companies that have been awarded the Dig Smart Award on three different occasions in the past and are maintaining the highest level of safety standards. NPL is a leader in underground and overhead utility and energy distribution construction. With over 5,000 employees and operations in more than 20 states across the country, NPL provides a full service menu of safe, high quality construction solutions. Its five decades of experience has earned them an industry reputation for excellence in performance, reliability, quality and customer satisfaction. NPL also received the Excellence Award in the 2008-2009 and 2011-2012 Dig Smart Awards.

Ferguson Trenching Company receives this year’s Dig Smart Award for Maryland. Founded in 1966 and incorporated in 1970 by Stanley and Stephen Ferguson, the company specializes in all facets of underground utility and site work construction. Now, 50 years later, Ferguson has become a leader in the underground utility business. This is Ferguson Trenching’s first Dig Smart Award.

Childs Landscape Contractors, Inc. is the recipient of this year’s Dig Smart Award for Washington, D.C. Childs Landscape is a commercial landscape contracting company that provides professional landscape design, plant material installation, state-of-the-art irrigation system design and install, pavers, hardscapes, fine grade, seed, sod, sediment, erosion controls, segmented and timber retaining walls, as well as grounds maintenance. Childs Landscape was the recipient of the Dig Smart Honorable Mention Award for 2013-2014 and 2016-2017.

Gaines and Company is the recipient of this year’s Dig Smart Award Honorable Mention. Founded in 1954 and a Top 600 Specialty Contractor, Gaines and Company is a turnkey site development company that specializes in underground utilities, grading and excavating, sediment and erosion controls, road work such as paving and sidewalks, and storm water management. Its clientele includes homebuilders and developers; general contractors; underground utility contractors; state, federal and municipal authorities; and military installations in Maryland, North Carolina, Washington D.C. and Delaware. This is Gaines and Company’s first recognition from the Dig Smart Awards.