Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076


Miss Utility is proud to announce the winners of the 15th Annual Locator Achievement Awards. For the past 15 years, these awards have honored the outstanding individuals who go above and beyond to ensure the underground infrastructure of Maryland and Washington, D.C., remains damage free. The locators recognized by the Locator Achievement Awards do their best to keep the public safe through their contributions to damage prevention by locating accurately and performing at the highest levels of safety in all elements of their profession.

The Miss Utility of Maryland/D.C. Damage Prevention Committee established the Locator Achievement Awards program to recognize locators who have zero at-fault damages and exemplify outstanding safety practices for an entire calendar year. The criteria for individuals to be eligible for the Locator Achievement Awards include:

  • Locator must have performed facility/utility location services as his/her FULL-TIME job in at least one of the specified regions from 1/1/2017 – 12/31/2017 AND must have responded to at least 1,500 locate requests during that time.
  • Locator must have been employed by the nominating organization for at least 12 months at the time this form is submitted.
  • Locator must have ZERO “at fault” damages or known mismarks/discrepancies for the period of 1/1/2017 – 12/31/2017.
  • Locator must have ZERO safety violations and pass quality audits (if applicable) within his/her respective organization between 1/1/2017 – 12/31/2017.
  • Locator must establish proactive working relationships in damage prevention.

Sixty-one locators were recognized during a ceremony at Prince George's Stadium in Bowie on May 11, 2018. The 2017 Locator Achievement Award Winners are:

Adam Dove, Anne Arundel County DPW
Ajayi Adedolapo, USIC
Alejandro Sanchez, DCI
Alisa Marbury, DCI
Andre Connelley, USIC
Brian Rappa, USIC
Bryan Peters, Cecil County DPW
Charlie Russell, Pro Comm ELS, LLC
Chris Bate, UtiliQuest
Chris Walrath, USIC
Clarence Watkins, UtiliQuest
Cody Turner, Pro Comm ELS, LLC
Darrell McCain, USIC
David Fultz, USIC
David Reyes, USIC
Dexter Brown, Pro Comm ELS, LLC
Gary Bates, USIC
Gerald Roedel, USIC
Harry Johnson, USIC
Harry Ring, Cecil County DPW
Jamel Peoples, USIC
Jeff Godissart, SMECO
Jermaine Russell, UtiliQuest
Jermaine Street, One Call Concepts Locating Services, Inc.
John Byers, UtiliQuest
John Crider, USIC
John Curtin, Pro Comm ELS, LLC
John Flohr, USIC
John Roebuck, Williams
John Thompson, DCI
Jon Watson, One Call Concepts Locating Services, Inc.
Joshua Jackson, USIC
Leo Crooks, UtiliQuest
Les Guessford, Town of Williamsport
Marvin Allen, One Call Concepts Locating Services, Inc.
Matt Brooks, UtiliQuest
Matthew Osbourn, UtiliQuest
Mike Thomas, UtiliQuest
Mike Yang, UtiliQuest
Milton Jenkins, DCI
Phil Mason, UtiliQuest
Randy Bennett, UtiliQuest
Richard Hughes, USIC
Richard Mills, USIC
Ryan Donaldson, Williams
Ryan Thomas, UtiliQuest
Sam Wallingsford, UtiliQuest
Scott Lindenberger, USIC
Scott Roberts, City of Aberdeen
Spenser Jackson, USIC
Stephanie Thomas, UtiliQuest
Thomas Michie, St. Mary's County Public Schools
Thurman Posey, SMECO
Tim Bailey, USIC
Todd Kelly, Anne Arundel County DPW
Tom Bowles, St. Mary's County Public Schools
Tom Day, UtiliQuest
Tommy Carney, UtiliQuest
Wayne Sargent, City of Aberdeen
William Asare, UtiliQuest
William Wright, USIC

“On behalf of the Locator Achievement Awards Committee, I’d like to congratulate all 61 outstanding locators being recognized this year for their achievements throughout 2017 and ongoing dedication to damage prevention,” said Awards Committee Chairman Mark Hamrick. “We are proud that 15 years after we started the program, the Locator Achievement Awards continues to be a successful way to honor locating technicians as key partners in safety and protectors of the communities in our region.”

Congratulations to all of the 15th Annual Locator Achievement Awards winners! To view photos from the event, please click here.

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.