Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Kevin Woolbright, Chairman, Mark Hamrick, Vice Chairman & Dora Parks, Secretary
  7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
 Hanover, MD 21076
_________________________________________________________________________

Minutes of the meeting held on March 24, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS
Chairman Kevin Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am followed by the customary introductions.  There were 50 attendees at the meeting.

The minutes of February 24, 2015 were approved as written.

OPEN DISCUSSIONS REGARDING DAMAGE PREVENTION AND AWARENESS

Mitzi Ambush (PEPCO) provided follow-up from the February meeting stating that she continues to work with the primes/generals on their responsibility to ensure contractors they use have Miss Utility tickets.  Jim Barron (MDUDPA) stated that a violation was filed on exactly this same situation.  The general was providing direction to the hired contractor and a damage occurred.  The Authority charged the contractor with the violation of not having a ticket.  Jim sited 12-124 for the decision.  There was a lengthy discussion regarding how the law might impact hired day laborers, rented equipment and/or equipment operators to include grade-all matters.  New Jersey offers a ticket type that allows for a prime or general to add contractors to their ticket work site linking their ticket to the original one. Future discussions will ensue on this topic that will include reviewing CGA Best Practices.

Victor Fernandes (V. Fernandes Construction) stated he was charged with a damage to a gas line and went in front of the Maryland Authority. He understands his responsibilities but asked what is done for contractors who suffer down time for water/sewer late locates, no locates when there is clear evidence of buried lines and miss marks.  Mark Hamrick (Verizon) offered the power point he provided during the February DPC meeting that spoke to contractor economic loss.  Deena Joyce (WSSC) offered her services if there were any issues regarding the WSSC locators. 

Committee discussions continued regarding the negative impact of covering PEPCO manholes during paving and delayed work being called in as emergency tickets. Various committee members offered opinions on both topics with reference to Maryland State Law for emergency ticket processing.  Mitzi Ambush also recognized the support and communications of WGL when they encounter PEPCO facilities at their work sites.

NEW BUSINESS
Craig Huntley (Moffatt & Nichol) provided information on a future demolition project for Cox Creek, on Port Authority property covering approximately 84 acres. Buildings, slabs and paving will be removed.  The concern is energized lines on the property.  Craig would like to meet the affected utility companies and their contract locators to establish points of contact for the project. Designer tickets will be processed with the intension of having on site meetings to ensure the work site is safe and the project continues in a timely manner.  The utility companies in the room agreed to exchange business cards. 

MD/DC SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE & BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas)   Vince Healy, Vice Chairman (Verizon)   Dora Parks, Secretary (Miss Utility/One Call Concepts) 

Chairman Woolbright asked Dora Parks (Miss Utility) to provide an overview of the new structure for the Subscribers Committee and Board of Directors. 

The committee will include a Board, elected from one of the listed industries,

  • Electric seat (2015-1 year term)
  • Gas seat (2015-2 year term)
  • Government seat: DC, Maryland State, County or Municipality. (2015-1 year term)
  • Telecommunications seat (2015-1 year term)
  • Water & Sewer seat (2015-2year term)

Each industry member will have one vote. If one of the industries fails to provide a nomination for their respective industry seat, the Board shall elect a representative from one of the below industries. No company shall have more than (1) voting representative on the board. However; an industry can have multiple voting representatives if a seat is left vacant by an individual industry. Voting matters can take place when there is a BOD quorum.

  • Stakeholders: The committee will include two additional members; one from utility line locating and one from professional excavating contractors. These stakeholder representatives can be nominated by their respective industries or self-nominated. Nominees will be voted on by the DPC membership and names forwarded to the BOD for appointment at the following January meeting. Each stakeholder representative will serve a two year term.

The stakeholder seats were nominated and voted on during the February DPC.  The DPC has forwarded the their endorsement to the current Subscribers Executive Committee, the names are;
            Contract Locator; Juan Vogel with UtiliQuest
            Contractor: Joe Shelton with B.F. Joy

The next Subscriber Committee and Board meeting will be on April 9th at 9:30am at the Miss Utility call center. The remainder of the voting utility seats will be selected and officers voted on.  All member utility owners are encouraged to participate in the committee and attend the quarterly meetings.

The Subscriber Committee and Board of Directors are active participants with the Maryland Authority regarding Title 12 Law modifications for a future rewrite.

STEERING COMMITTEE TO REWRITE THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ONE-CALL LAW
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas), Meena Gowda, Esq., Vice Chairman (DC Water), Dora Parks, Secretary (Miss Utility/One Call Concepts)

Report provided by Dora Parks; The intent of the DC Rewrite committee is to reduce damages in the District of Columbia and to fully comply with the PHMSA, Nine Elements for an effective damage prevention program. In recent committee meetings, most of the time has been spent creating the DC Authority’s structure and procedures for receiving law violations, review of those violations and accessing fines due to violations in addition to discussions regarding funding. The committee has compared the law draft to the PHMSA characterization tool to ensure all elements have been met within the law draft.

Please contact Dora Parks (dora@missutilityl.net) to receive the meeting schedule or to be put on the rewrite email distribution list. Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 rewrite draft are available on the website at; http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY-Maryland Authority
Executive Director, Jim Barron   Chairman, Kevin Woolbright

The Authority reviewed 28 NPV’s at their March 4, 2015 Meeting;

            20 for Abuse of Emergency Ticket - $40,000 in fines recommended
            2 for Miss-Mark/No Marks - $4,000 in fines recommended
            6 for No Call/No Ticket, 3 with the same contractor - $16,000 in fines recommended

HB 341 & SB 401 concerning Cross-Bores expected to pass this legislative session.

Fourth Report of the Action of the Authority for 2014 was submitted to the Governor and
Maryland Legislature in January 2015

The Authority as submitted an application for the 2015 PHMSA State Damage Prevention Grant
in the amount of $100,000

Oral Arguments scheduled for NPV# 283 on the Constitutionality of the Authority to be heard in
front of the Maryland Court of Special Appeals on Friday, April 10, 2015

Authority meetings are open to the public; the next planned meeting is scheduled for April 1, 2015.

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS (DSA)
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC)   Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

Emily Meir’s (MGH) reported 60 locators in the Miss Utility and District One Call territory will receive recognition on May 1, 2015 at the Bowie Baysox stadium in front of their families, companies and the stadium at large during the dugout locator presentation. The locators and their families are invited to dinner, the recognition ceremony, the baseball game and the kiddie play area ending with a wonderful display of fireworks.  Locators will additionally receive a safety jacket sporting their name and winner year and certificate.  This is the 12th locator awards banquet, pictures and event details will be available on the Miss Utility website, www.missutility.net.  

The next committee meeting is scheduled for March 24th

2015 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)
Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts)

The 7th year conference will be held at the Clarion Resort in Ocean City, MD during October 27-30, 2015. 
Pre-conference pricing will be available to returning attendees from April 14 – May 15.  From there, Early Bird pricing will be available from May 16 – August 28.  Regular conference registration is from August 29 – October 12th.  The conference will offer a key note speaker, breakout sessions regarding every aspect of damage prevention, our popular Damage Prevention Jeopardy game and plenty of networking opportunities. Visit www.missutilityconference.com for full information and registration.

Next committee meeting is scheduled for March 24th.

For conference information visit; www.missutilityconference.com

MGH – DAMAGE PREVENTION MARKETING UPDATE
Chris McMurry, cmcmurry@mghus.com

April is National Safe Digging Month, Miss Utility is actively involved in promoting damage prevention and safe excavation;

Radio advertising will begin on March 30 and will run through June 7, with 3,920 paid spots running across 27 highly rated stations in Baltimore, Washington, DC, Southern Maryland, Frederick, Hagerstown, Cumberland and Garrett County. Additionally, MGH has used its buying power to secure 1,107 free “live reads” across the 27 stations, often airing as sponsorships of key morning content – news, weather, traffic and sports. MGH’s research continues to show that morning radio is the best way to reach professional excavators, with the residual benefit of also reaching homeowners.

Miss Utility will launch our second annual online advertising campaign that targets homeowners online based on behavior consistent with likely digging in the near future, such as visiting HomeDepot.com or Lowes.com, doing web searches for “how to install a mailbox” or “how to plant a tree.” These ads, which launch on 4/20 and run through 5/31, will drive traffic to http://homeowners.missutility.net, a special page created by MGH to match the creative look/tone of the ads and ultimately drive traffic to the Miss Utility website. MGH and One Call Concepts will collaborate to measure web traffic generated by the campaign and any increases in ITIC Lite submissions and all homeowners tickets (online plus calls).

Sports continue to be a major focus this year, especially during National Safe Digging Month, with Miss Utility sponsoring the Frederick Keys’ Keys for Reading program. This program provides free tickets to games for students who read books prior to the start of the season, with an on-field recognition event at each sponsored game for the participating students. Miss Utility has been a sponsor of this program for many years and benefits by having its logo and message on all of the materials that are used in the program and seen by parents. More information about the program is posted at http://www.milb.com/content/page.jsp?ymd=20100222&content_id=8111642&sid=t493&vkey=team3. Big thanks go to all of the volunteers who will be working the Miss Utility booth.

Miss Utility is also reaching the youth audience this month by informing five high school students that they will be recipients of the inaugural Miss Utility Scholarship, which provides $1,000 per student to use toward college/university/trade school tuition expenses. These students completed a comprehensive application process, including an essay explaining how better understanding the damage prevention process will help them be safe in their future careers in construction and related fields. MGH is working with the scholarship committee to promote the awarding of the $1,000 for each student to earn news coverage. Two of the students are from Washington County, along with one each from Baltimore City, Frederick County and St. Mary’s County.
 
Another major initiative is the Locator Awards, although the banquet is scheduled for May 1st, most of the work and planning occurs in April. Sixty locate technicians will be honored for having no at-fault damages and no at-fault vehicle accidents in 2014, and for being advocates of damage prevention and safety. Congratulations to all of the winners!

Governor Hogan provided a proclamation for Maryland declaring the month of April as Safe Digging Month.  The proclamation will be displayed at the Locator Achievement Awards on May 1st.

April will include five Safe Digging presentations by the DPC training team.

Moving past April, May 30th will offer two events; DC DOT Community Day and Touch A Truck at the Bowie Baysox stadium. 

2015 TRADE SHOWS AND PRESENTATIONS
Report provided by Emily Meier;

Completed Shows

  • Maryland Home & Garden Spring Show in Timonium, MD –  Mar 1 and Mar 6-8
  • Division of Labor & Industry Employment Rights on March 17th in Towson, MD
  • Maryland Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Trade Show on March19th in Baltimore, MD
  • Allegany County All Things Home Expo during Mar 20-22 in Cumberland, MD
  • Home Builders Association of Washington County during Mar 21-22 in Hagerstown, MD

Upcoming Shows for April
Keys for Reading at the Frederick Keys Stadium, April 10-12 and 24-26
Chesapeake Safety Fest Presentation, April 16th
Chesapeake AIHA/ASSE Educational Seminar, April 23rd
           
If you are interested in volunteering for any Trade Shows or would like to receive the updated Trade Show emails, please email Emily Meier at emeir@mghus.com

DAMAGE PREVENTION SAFETY TRAINING AND PRESENTATIONS

Past Training Events for March
CGA Damage Prevention Conference
Orlando, Florida
March 10-12
           
Future Training Events for March
Calvert County Career and Technical Academy
Prince Frederick, MD
March 27th, 2 class sessions

To schedule a FREE Damage Prevention & Safety Training, please contact Dora Parks, Manager of Client Relations at 410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.net.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:37am

Next MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee Meeting; April 29, 2015 starting at 9:30am      

Monthly meeting minutes and the attendee contact list is available at,
           http://www.missutility.net/damageprevention/

Meeting Attendees:

List Sorted By
COMPANY

Name TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
ABC of Baltimore Mike Barton (443) 600-0446 mbarton@abcbaltimore.org
Absolute Underground Billl Neal (443) 336-7749 billn@absoluteunderground.com
American Infrastructure Chris Shertzer (610) 721-2694 chris.shertzer@americianinfrastructure.com
B. Frank Joy Joe Shelton
Board Member
(240) 417-0200 jshelton@bfjoy.com
B. Frank Joy JW Hall (240) 417-0184 halljw@bfjoy.com
Badger Daylighting Frank hammond (443) 750-1611 fhammond@badger-corp.com
Belfast Valley Contractors Martin Wetzler (240) 643-8333 mwetzler@belfastvalley.com
Colonial Pipeline Co. Scott R. Moore (410) 970-2138 smoore@colpipe.com
Columbia Gas Jeremy Kline (301) 268-8416 jkline@nisource.com
Comcast Tim Kempa (410) 933-1137 Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Comer Construction Dorothy Miller (410) 879-6094 dorothy@comerconstruction.com
DCI Kathy Yadvish (202) 494-2130 kyadvish@dcihq.com
Fernandes Victor Fernandes (301) 622-3452  
Fort Myer Construction Hector Sealey   hsealey@fortmyer.com
Gaines & Company Dominic Pope (443) 386-1383 dpope@gainesandco.com
Gray & Son Lenny Corbin (410) 365-4156 lcorbin@graynson.com
Howard County Cal Brooks (410) 313-4952 cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Insight Justin Lilly (571) 422-0047 jlilly@planwithinsight.com
JHUAPL Greg Hustead (443) 506-7298  
JHUAPL Jose Suarez (443) 778-6403  
Just Locating Reginald Hawkins (443) 336-4247 just_locating3j@cablespeed.com
Maryland Port Administration Jeffrey Neumayer (410) 385-4810 jneumayer@marylandports.com
MDUFDPA Jim Barron (410) 365-5182 jim.barron@mddpa.org
MES Liane Hart (410) 729-8300 lhart@menv.com
MGH Emily Meier   emeier@mghus.com
Moffatt & Nichol Craig Huntley (410) 563-7300 chuntley@moffattnichol.com
NPL James Randy Carey (571) 921-0201 jcarey@gonpl.com

NPL

Jamila Odom (301) 322-4210 jodom@gonpl.com

NPL

Luis Torres (301) 322-4210 ltorres@gonpl.com

NPL

Sandra Bankowski   sbankowski@gonpl.com
OCC Locating Service Tom Hastings (410) 712-0202 thastings@occls.com
One Call Concepts/Miss Utility Dora Parks
Committee Secretary
(410) 782-2026 dparks@missutility.net
PEPCO Lenny King (301) 967-5247 lgking@pepco.com
PEPCO Vera Cutter (202) 872-2993 vmcutter@pepco.com
Pleasants Construction Dennis Lescalleet (301) 428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
SMECO Iris Curtis (301) 705-8689 Iris.curtis@smeco.coop
SMECO Lisa Hurley (410) 535-9403 lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
US Ecology Guy Miller (610) 476-5371 guy.miller@usecology.com
USIC Joe Feronti (443) 239-4402 josephferonti@usicllc.com
Utiliquest Erik Phillips (443) 324-7835 Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Utiliquest Juan Vogel (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Utiliquest Mike Burns (443) 786-7994 mike.burns@utiliquest.com
VA 811 Leslie Fannon (703) 994-5177 lfannon@va811.com
Verizon Mark Hamrick
Committee V. Chairman
(410) 610-1371 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Washington Gas Don Jones (703) 750-5510 djones@washgas.com
WSSC Deena Joyce (301) 206-8259 djoyce@wsscwater.com

WSSC

Kevin Woolbright
Committee Chairman
(240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.