Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21706
Minutes of the meeting held on April 22, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS
Chairman Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am followed by the customary introductions.
The minutes of March 25, 2014 were approved as written.

SCHEDULED TRADE SHOWS  
Chris McMurry (MGH) provided the following update on damage prevention initiatives;

  • Win a $500.00 BBQ and 811 Bike appearance, by liking the Miss Utility Facebook Page, campaign ends on June 3rd
  • New internet Miss Utility banners for homeowner searches starting March 31st
  • Spring radio campaign from Garrett County to St. Mary’s County and District of Columbia (30) stations will provide call before you dig announces from 6-10-am
  • Minor League Baseball, Frederick Keys to start their Keys to Reading program recognition the weekend of April 25th 

Emily Meier (MGH) provided Trade Show information;

TRADE SHOWS – Past Exhibits

    Allegany County Home Expo (Columbia Gas and Verizon)
    Allegany County Fairgrounds
    March 21-23rd

    Home Builders Association of Washington County (Columbia Gas and Verizon)
    Hagerstown Community College
    March 22-23nd

    Washington Capitals Game (Verizon and Washington Gas)
    Verizon Center, Washington, DC
    April 13th

The Committee thanked the members who volunteered at these events.
Future Exhibits

    Mid-Atlantic Construction Safety Conference, Upper Marlboro, MD on May 8th
    Blue Book Building and Construction Safety Conference, Landover, MD on May 15th
    NIH Research Facilities Safety Stand Down Day, Bethesda, MD on May 21st

If you are interested in volunteering for any of the Trade Shows or would like to receive the updated Trade Show emails, please email Emily Meier at emeir@mghus.com

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS (DSA)
Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)   Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

  • Banquet at Bowie Baysox on May 9th
  • RSVP’s due this week.
  • 62 locators were nominated for the 11th year awards program
  • Locators can invite family to attend the Awards Banquet

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS – Completed

The Damage Prevention Training Committee provided feedback on the below completed trainings.       

    Miss Utility Quarterly Training, Hanover, MD on 3/27/2014
    KCI in Sparks, MD on 3/28/2014
    Willbros/Lineal, White Marsh, MD on 4/4/2014
    MD Jockey Club, Pimlico Racetrack, Baltimore, MD on 4/15/2014
    AA County Southern Roads District, Davidson, MD on 4/16/2014

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS – Future Training Events

    Cecil County School/Technical Center, April 30th in Cecil County
    Skanska-Facchina Construction, May 5th in Washington, DC-Safety Week
    Garrett County Roads, May 16th in Garrett County
    Short Course in Chestertown, MD Quarterly Training at the Miss Utility Call Center, June 26, 2014

For Damage Prevention and Safety Training requests, please contact Dora Parks, Manager of Client Relations at 410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.netTraining is free.

2013 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)
Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts) Reported by Chris McMurry

  • 6th Annual GCDPTC will be held during October 28-31, 2014 
  • The 2014 conference will have a Halloween theme in the exhibit hall
  • Pre-conference registration began in April with savings up to $100.00 per package
  • Post Card Sweepstakes, a free 2-night registration and hotel package will be given to a lucky winner who registers for updates, contest expires on April 30th
  • Website updated with conference information, www.missutilityconference.com

Anyone interested in conference sponsorships or exhibiting in the vendor area should contact Dora Parks, 410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.net.   

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MDUFDPA)
Executive Director, Jim Barron reported the following;

46 Notices of Probable Violation (NPV) have been submitted to the Authority in 2013
35 Notices of Probable Violation (NPV) have been submitted to the Authority in 2014
81 Total NPV’s

    49 of those NPV’s have been researched and reviewed by the Authority
    32 NPV’s are in research
    26 of the 49 have gone to a hearing in front of the Authority

26 of the NPV’s received by the Authority are for a “No Call” violation
21 of the NPV’s received by the Authority are for a “No Call and Clear Evidence” violation
2 of the NPV’s received by the Authority is for a “Clear Evidence” violation only
14 of the NPV’s received by the Authority are for a “Not Marked Per Code” violation
21 of the NPV’s received by the Authority is for an “Emergency Call Abuse” violation

$85,500 in fines have been assessed or recommended – all collected fines go to a Damage Prevention Educational fund.  The Authority cannot use collected fines to support the operations of the Authority. Authority members are volunteers.

91 letters sent to Municipalities in Maryland there are not members of One Call

    1 of those was already a member of One Call
    30 of those have been mailed a contract
      8 have a Service Agreement
    29 of those appear to be exempt
    31 have not responded to our initial letter

5 letters sent to Counties in Maryland that are not members of One Call

    Allegany, Talbot & Worchester are signing up
    Wicomico does not own or operate underground facilities but will mark storm drains
    Baltimore County sent a letter about not marking all utilities

Antietam Cable is up and running on Miss Utility

Norfolk Southern has been contacted by the Authority. The Authority is in contact with their Legal Department in Norfolk.  A second letter was sent to their Attorney “certified”

The Authority decided to reinstitute a filing fee of $200.00 beginning with June 1st NPV.

The next Authority meeting is scheduled for May 7th; all meetings are open to the public.

STEERING COMMITTEE TO REWRITE THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ONE CALL LAW
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas)   Meena Gowda, Esq.  Vice Chairman (DC Water)

Scott Brown provided an overview of the purpose for the Title 34, District One Call Law rewrite, ‘To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.’
Scott reiterated that if the District did not meet the 2006 PHMSA Pipes Act requirements, the Federal Government would handle the enforcement piece of the Pipes Act. The committee has held 10 meetings and working through Sections 34-2701 – 2704. The committee is made up of all stakeholder groups in the District and meetings are open to the public.

Meeting dates, attendees and minutes are available for review at,

The next meeting is scheduled on Monday, April 14, 2014 at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am.

MD/DC MISS UTILITY SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE MEETING
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas)   Vince Healy, Vice Chairman (Verizon)

Scott gave an account of the Subscriber Committee and various sub committees, MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee, Awards Committee and Scholarship Committee.  The Subscriber Committee is the “behind the scenes” group providing direction to one-call operations and technologies, Ticket Check processes and rules, law matters and managing the annual Advertising Account collected from Subscriber ticket transmission fees. The Subscriber committee meets quarterly, these meetings move around the state and District of Columbia.

The next Subscriber Committee will be held on July 10, 2014 from 10:00am to 2:00pm at the Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD.

FTTP PROJECTIONS
Mark Hamrick (Verizon) reviewed the below estimated footage projections;

 FTTP

May 2014

A.A County

0

Baltimore Co.

26,676

Calvert Co

0

Charles Co.

68,296

Frederick Co.

0

Garrett Co.

0

Harford Co.

8,858

Howard County

12,000

Montgomery County

30,371

Prince Georges Co

0

St Mary’s Co

0

District of Columbia

884

Total

129,369

NEW BUSINESS

Jeff Buck thanked Lambert’s Cable for their support on a recent job site.

Mark Hamrick asked the membership to think about what information or presentations would be a benefit to the Damage Prevention Meetings.

Dora Parks introduced the new Enhanced Positive Response Pilot (EPR) active in Montgomery County for Verizon, Washington Gas and PEPCO locates using contract locating company, UtiliQuest.

Mark Hamrick stated this was a pilot in which (3) excavators in Montgomery County are evaluating the value of having a viewable locate manifest (electronic locate sketch) as part of the Ticket Check status.  The pilot will run approximately 6 weeks and measure the following;

  • Damages
  • Satisfactory Locates
    • Not marked
    • Re-mark ticket needed
    • Differentials between site and electronic sketch
  • Identify utilities not correctly marked
  • Site problems after marking
    • Weather
    • Disturbed ground markings
    • Markings covered
  • Benefit of the EPR

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

UPCOMING MEETINGS – at the Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Authority Meeting, May 7th starting at 8:30am
Subscriber Committee Meeting, July 10th starting at 10:00am
DC One Call Law Rewrite Committee Meeting, April 14th starting at 8:30am
MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee Meeting, April 22nd starting at 9:30am

Monthly meeting minutes and the attendee contact list is available at,
          http://www.missutility.net/damageprevention/

ITIC PERCENTAGE REPORT


Month

Total Tickets

ITIC Tickets

Percentage

Feb-13

48,336

37,848

78%

Mar-13

56,718

43,675

77%

Apr-13

68,544

51,280

75%

May-13

63,561

45,659

72%

Jun-13

62,607

47,841

76%

Jul-13

68,571

52,864

77%

8/1/2013
C/O 8/20
MAPPING

64,067

48,165

75%

Sep-13

62,073

47,983

77%

Oct-13

68,468

54,106

79%

Nov-13

55,300

44,461

80%

Dec-13

54,321

44,503

82%

Jan-14

55,608

46,336

83%

Feb-14

49,532

40,830

82%

Meeting Attendees:

Cal Brooks Howard County (410) 313-4952 cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Chris McMurry MGH (410) 902-5036 cmcmurry@mghus.com
Dave Elliott Comcast (410) 387-1704 dave_elliot@cablespeed.com
Dave Roberts Insight (703) 999-0188 droberts@planwithinsight.com
David Wilkins WSSC (301) 206-4371 dwilkin1@wsscwater.com
Dominic Pope Gaines & Company (443) 386-1383 dpope@gainesandco.com
Don Jones Washington Gas (703) 750-5510 djones@washgas.com
Dora Parks
Committee Secretary
One Call Concepts/Miss Utility (410) 782-2026 doraparks@missutility.net
Erik Phillips Utiliquest (443) 324-7835 Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Frank Maida Badger Daylighting (240) 841-3831 fmaida@badger-corp.com
Fred Collins Concrete General (301) 252-6775 safety@concretegeneral.com
Greg Johnson PEPCO (202) 388-2161 gmjohnson@pepco.com
James 'Randy' Carey, Sr. NPL (571) 921-0210 jcarey@gonpl.com
Jeff Buck USIC (904) 806-3796 jeffbuck@usicinc.com
Jeremy Fenton Lambert Cable Splicing (301) 356-2608 jeremy.fenton@lambertcable.com
Jim Bieber Anchor Construction (202) 269-6694 jbieber@anchorconst.com
Jim Verga Eastcom Associates (908) 803-0195 jverga@eastcomassoc.com
John Nesbitt SHA (State Highway) (443) 572-5265 JNesbitt@sha.state.md.us
Justin Lilly Insight (571) 422-0047 jlilly@planwithinsight.com
Ken Payne Allstate Utility (240) 691-6657 kpallstate@verizon.net
Ken Younger NPL (443) 462-9363 kyounger@gonpl.com

Kevin Woolbright
Committee Chairman

WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lawrence Bowlding, III Dynamic Concepts (DCI) (202) 480-4886 lbowlding@dcihq.com
Lenny Corbin Gray & Son (410) 365-4156 lcorbin@graynson.com
Lisa Hurley SMECO (410) 535-9403 lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
Marc Haines BGE (443) 324-0371 marc.haines@bge.com

Mark Hamrick
Committee V. Chairman

Verizon (410) 610-1371 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Mike Burns Utiliquest (443) 786-7994 mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Patti Soppe Willis (443) 699-2412 patty.soppe@willis.com/a>
Rob Smith Hammers (443) 282-7423
Satish Patel WSSC (301) 206-8559 spatel@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown Washington Gas (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Scott R. Moore Colonial Pipeline Co (410) 970-2138 smoore@colpipe.com
Tim Harwood Decisive (301) 748-5293 tim@decisiveinc.net
Tim Kaptein Comer Construction (443) 807-2391 tim@comerconstruction.com
Tim Kempa Comcast (410) 933-1137 Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Tim Stathiewiez NPL (419) 788-0177  
Timothy Wiley Allied (410) 539-6727 twiley@alliedcontractor.com
Tom Hastings OCC Locating Services (410) 712-0202 thastings@occls.com
Ute Sumego Hammers (410) 805-2200
Walter Johnson Comcast (202) 815-7510 walter_johnson@cable.comcast.com
Will Gooch Decisive (240) 586-1605 drops@decisiveinc.net
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.