Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21706
Minutes of the meeting held on March 25, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS
Chairman Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:32 am followed by the customary introductions.
The minutes of February 25, 2014 were approved as written.

SCHEDULED TRADE SHOWS  
Chris McMurry (MGH) provided the following update on damage prevention initiatives;

  • Miss Utility Facebook page sweepstakes, win a $500.00 BBQ and 811 Bike appearance,
  • Radio campaigns across Western Shore Maryland and DC start March 31st,
  • Internet homeowner banner promotion of Miss Utility, call before you dig,
  • Governor O’Malley signed the April Safe Dig Month Proclamation
  • Keys for Reading and Ground Crews sponsorship begins in April

Emily Meier (MGH) provided Trade Show information;

TRADE SHOWS – Past Exhibits
                Maryland Home and Garden Show at the Timonium Fairgrounds
                Timonium, MD
                March 1-2 and 7-9, 2014
               
Maryland Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Trade Show
                Howard County Fairgrounds
                March 19, 2014

                DLLR Employment Rights and Safety Forum
                Towson University
                March 19, 2014

Allegany County Home Expo
                Allegany County Fairgrounds
                March 21-23, 2014

Home Builders Association of Washington County
                Hagerstown Community College
                March 22-23, 2014

Future Exhibits

                Mid-Atlantic Construction Safety Conference, Upper Marlboro, MD  on May 8th
MML – Ocean City, MD during June 8-11th

If you are interested in volunteering for any of the Trade Shows or would like to receive the updated Trade Show emails, please email Emily Meier at emeir@mghus.com

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS (DSA)
Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)   Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

  • 62 locators were nominated for the 11th year awards program
  • Banquet at Bowie Baysox on May 9th
  • Locators can invite family to attend the Awards Banquet

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS – Completed

The Damage Prevention Training Committee provided feedback on the below completed trainings.       
                                Gray & Son, Baltimore, MD m on 2/25/2014
Belfast Valley Contractors, Baltimore, MD on 2/27/2014
John Hopkins, Laurel, MD on 3/6/2014

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS – Future Training Events

                                Miss Utility Quarterly Training, Hanover, MD on 3/27/2014
                                KCI in Sparks, MD on 3/28/2014
                                Willbros/Lineal, White Marsh, MD on 4/4/2014
                                MD Jockey Club, Pimlico Racetrack, Baltimore, MD on 4/15/2014
                                AA County Southern Roads District, Davidson, MD on 4/16/2014

                                Quarterly Training at the Miss Utility Call Center on June 26, 2014
                                Contact Dora Parks to reserve your seat(s) dora@missutility.net

For Damage Prevention and Safety Training requests, please contact Dora Parks, Manager of Client Relations at 410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.netTraining is free.

2013 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)
Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts) Reported by Chris McMurry

  • 6th Annual GCDPTC will be held during October 29-31, 2014 
  • A free 2-night registration and hotel package will be given to a lucky winner who registers for updates, contest expires on April 30th
  • Cornhole was a success in 2013 and will be part of the 2014 conference on Oct. 28th
  • Pre-conference registration will begin in April with savings up to $50.00 per package

Anyone interested in sponsoring the conference or exhibiting in the vendor area should contact Dora Parks, 410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.net.   

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MDUFDPA)
Executive Director, Jim Barron reported the following;

Mr. Barron provided an overview of the Authority’s purpose and process.

  • To date, 52 Notice of Probable Violations (NPV) have been received by the Authority.
  • The number one violation is ‘no call’; the second is ‘Clear Evidence’ violations.
  • The Authority is fining $2,000 for ‘no call’ violations.

The next Authority meeting is scheduled for April 2, 2014, this is a public meeting and all are invited to attend.

MD/DC MISS UTILITY SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE MEETING
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas)   Vince Healy, Vice Chairman (Verizon)

Scott Brown provided an overview of the CGA Conference held March 11-13th, 2014 which included picture perfect weather and a wealth of shared information from attendees across the country.  All agreed that our local GCDPTC provided the same high quality training sessions, key note speakers and networking opportunities. 

The future change to Ticket Check code 10, was discussed.  The code 10 will be unlocked for subsequent coding if the contractor processes a Discrepancy notice. Locators can provide comments to their status to better explain the code 10 condition.

STEERING COMMITTEE TO REWRITE THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ONE CALL LAW
Scott Brown, Chairman (Washington Gas)   Meena Gowda, Esq.  Vice Chairman (DC Water)

Scott Brown reported the DC Law Rewrite Committee has been meeting to discuss the current Title 34 in respect to the 2006 PHMSA Pipes Act for a successful damage prevention program, which includes enforcement. The committee includes all stakeholder groups in the District.  The committee is currently working through Section 34-2701, Definitions.  Meeting dates, attendees and minutes are available for review at,

               http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

The next meeting is scheduled on Monday, April 14, 2014 at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am.

FTTP PROJECTIONS
Mark Hamrick (Verizon) reviewed the below estimated footage projections;

 FTTP

April 2014

A.A County

5,145

Baltimore Co.

2,237

Calvert Co

0

Charles Co.

14,914

Frederick Co.

0

Garrett Co.

0

Harford Co.

2,511

Howard County

18,133

Montgomery County

30,371

Prince Georges Co

1,500

St Mary’s Co

0

District of Columbia

737

Total

75,548

NEW BUSINESS

A presentation was provided by Mark Shupe of Tetra Tech on the upcoming DDOE Anacostia River Sediment Sampling Project.  A power point was provided to introduce the project and explain the process and affected project areas.  Tetra Tech will provide all affected members with site plans and XY locations and welcome any comments or suggestions from the membership as the project progresses.  The hope is to have Designer Tickets and meetings to better work with and communicate to the affected members and operators in the Prince George’s County and District of Columbia.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

UPCOMING MEETINGS – at the Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Authority Meeting, April 2nd starting at 9:00am
Subscriber Committee Meeting, April 3rd starting at 9:30am
DC One Call Law Rewrite Committee Meeting, April 14th starting at 8:30am
MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee Meeting, April 22nd starting at 9:30am

Monthly meeting minutes and the attendee contact list is available at,
          http://www.missutility.net/damageprevention/

ITIC PERCENTAGE REPORT


Month

Total Tickets

ITIC Tickets

Percentage

Feb-13

48,336

37,848

78%

Mar-13

56,718

43,675

77%

Apr-13

68,544

51,280

75%

May-13

63,561

45,659

72%

Jun-13

62,607

47,841

76%

Jul-13

68,571

52,864

77%

8/1/2013
C/O 8/20
MAPPING

64,067

48,165

75%

Sep-13

62,073

47,983

77%

Oct-13

68,468

54,106

79%

Nov-13

55,300

44,461

80%

Dec-13

54,321

44,503

82%

Jan-14

55,608

46,336

83%

Feb-14

49,532

40,830

82%

Meeting Attendees:

Cal Brooks Howard County (410) 313-4952 cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Charles McCadden BGE (443) 463-1200 charles.mccadden@bge.com
Chris McMurry MGH (410) 902-5036 cmcmurry@mghus.com
Chuck Baker Verizon (301) 502-9340 charles.b.baker.jr@verizon.com
Deena Joyce WSSC (301) 206-8259 djoyce@wsscwater.com
Dena Walters OCC Locating Service (410) 712-0202 dena@occls.com
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction (301) 428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Dev Murali District Dept. of the Environment (202) 548-4387 dev.murali@dc.gov
Emily Meier MGH   emeier@mghus.com
Floyd Harley Calvert County (410) 535-0905  
Fred Collins Concrete General (301) 252-6775 safety@concretegeneral.com
Glenn Fox Rice Associates (703) 968-3200 gfox@ricesurveys.com
Greg Johnson PEPCO (202) 388-2161 gmjohnson@pepco.com
James 'Randy' Carey, Sr. NPL (571) 921-0210 jcarey@gonpl.com
Jeff Buck USIC (904) 806-3796 jeffbuck@usicinc.com
Jim Barron MDUFDPA (410) 365-5182 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Jimmy Jennings OCC Locating Service 443-783-4211 jimmy@occls.com
John Clementson MD PSC (410) 767-8111 jclementson@psc.state.md.us
John Nesbitt SHA (State Highway) (443) 572-5265 JNesbitt@sha.state.md.us
John Pendleton Verizon (301) 509-7566 john.r.pendelton@verizon.com
Juan Vogel Utiliquest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Ken Younger NPL (443) 462-9363 kyounger@gonpl.com

Kevin Woolbright
Committee Chairman

WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lawrence Bowlding, III Dynamic Concepts (DCI) (202) 480-4886 lbowlding@dcihq.com
Lenny Corbin Gray & Son (410) 365-4156 lcorbin@graynson.com
Lisa Hurley SMECO (410) 535-9403 lisa.hurley@smeco.coop

Mark Hamrick
Committee V. Chairman

Verizon (410) 610-1371 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Mark Shupe Tetra Tech (703) 885-5516 mark.shupe@tetratech.com
Martin Wetzler Belfast Valley Contractors (240) 643-8333 mwetzler@belfastvalley.com
Michael Jewel Columbia Gas (614) 307-5304 mjewell@nisource.com
Mike Barton ABC of Baltimore (443) 600-0446 mbarton@abcbaltimore.org
Mike Burns Utiliquest (443) 786-7994 mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Patrick Ronayne Highway & Safety Services (301) 948-4970 patrick@hiwayandsafety.com
Robert Nash Baltimore City DPW (443) 873-9437 robert.nash@baltimorecity.gov
Ryan Murley Tetra Tech (703) 885-5513 ryan.murley@tetratech.com
Shirley Steffey Calvert County (410) 535-0905  
Steve Danko Absolute Underground (443) 336-7226 steved@absoluteunderground.com
Tim Kaptein Comer Construction (443) 807-2391 tim@comerconstruction.com
Tim Stathiewiez NPL (419) 788-0177  
Vincent Healy Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Will Metzger Anchor Construction (202) 269-6696 wmetzger@anchorconst.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.