Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of the Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
February 26, 2013
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

Kevin Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at, 9:30 am.

Customary introductions were made.

The Minutes of January 22, 2013 were reviewed and approved as written.

MGH UPDATE
Presented by Chris McMurry, MGH

Chris McMurry introduced Danielle Davis who will be the new point person for all Miss Utility Trade Shows.

Vocational School Outreach – MGH provided mailers to area vocational schools in February to promote damage prevention training. To date,10 schools have shown interest in damage prevention training and 6 schools are scheduled.  
           
Spring Radio Campaign- starts in April and runs through early summer in the following areas, DC and Baltimore metro area, Western Maryland and Southern Maryland.

Minor League Baseball – for 2013, Miss Utility will partner with the following minor league baseball teams to promote the damage prevention message;

  • Frederick Keys – Keys for Reading Program
    • Students who complete (4) books in a 2 month period receive free tickets to a Frederick Keys game
    • Books names are logged on a bookmark promoting Miss Utility
    • Students participate in an on-field parade
    • Grounds crew sponsorship
  • Bowie Baysox
    • Manny Machado Garden Gnome Giveaway
    • Possible landscaping make-over
  • Southern Maryland Blue Crabs
    • Crabby cove Sandbox signage
    • Sand shovels with Miss Utility logo

Marketing Strategies – in order to grow the 2013 marketing campaigns, several utility owner-members met with MGH and the call center to review the advertising plan for damage prevention.  This enabled the attendees to better understand the campaign focus and what they can do to partner with public outreach.

2013 Trade Shows - contact, Danielle Davis ddavis@mghus.com)

Future Trade Shows

      Maryland Home and Garden Show (Spring)
      Timonium Fairgrounds
      March 2 – 3 & 8 – 10, 2013

      Northern Chesapeake Modern Living Expo
      APGFCU Arena on the Campus of Harford Community College
      March 22 – 24, 2013

      Mid Atlantic Construction Safety Conference
      The Show Place Arena and Prince Georges Equestrian Center
      Upper Marlboro, MD
      May 9, 2013

      Maryland Municipal League (MML)
      Ocean City, MD, Roland Powell Convention Center
      June 23 – 26, 2013

      Maryland Association of Counties (MACO)
      Ocean City, MD, Roland Powell Convention Center
      August 14 – 17, 2013

      Maryland Home and Garden Show (Fall)
      Timonium Fair Grounds
      October 18 – 20, 2013

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC), Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

Dora Parks provided a summary of the LAA purpose and process.  Year 2013 marks the 10th anniversary of the LAA; the awards team will be planning additional activities to commemorate this anniversary. The awards banquet will be held on Friday, May 10th at the Prince George’s County, Bowie Baysox game, starting at 5:30pm. The locator nomination letter and form have been delivered; candidate names were due by February 20th. The Awards committee is meeting on February 26, 2013 to review nominees and discuss event planning.   

 

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS
Contact, Dora Parks (410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.net)

    Completed Training

    C.J. Miller
    Best Western – Westminster
    451 WMC Drive
    Westminster Md 21158
    Lisa Utz
    Mark Haines/Dora Parks/Mark Pressimone
    February 8th, 2013 60 attendees 10:00am

    R.W. Warner, Inc.
    217 Monroe Ave.
    Frederick, MD 21701
    Frederick County
    Jason Pickett
    Mark Hamrick/Romelia Kemp/Tad Miller/Dora Parks
    February 14th, 2013 20 attendees 7:30am

    Calvert Co. Career/Tech Academy
    330 Dorsey Rd
    Prince Frederick, Md 20678
    Carolyn Hobbs
    Mark Hamrick/Don Jones/Dave Miller
    February 15th, 2013 100 attendees 2 sessions
    8:00am & 11:154am

    George Pedri
    18960 Woodfield Rd
    Gaithersburg, Md 20879
    Patrick Romayne
    Kevin Woolbright/Mike Bion/Jeff Walters/Dora Parks
    February 19th, 2013 50 attendees 7:00am

    B.Frank Joy Company
    5355 Kilmer St.
    Hyattsville, Md 20781
    JW Hall
    Kevin Woolbright/Mark Hamrick/Romelia Kemp
    February 21st, 2013 30 attendees 6:00am

    We received thank you notices from CJ Miller, RW Warner and Calvert County/Technical Academy.

    Upcoming Scheduled Training

    Cecil Co School of Tech
    900 North East Road
    North East, MD. 21901
    Jennifer Bird
    Mark Hamrick/Marc Haines/Dora Parks
    February 27th, 2013 65 attendees 9:50am

    GRAY AND SON, INC.
    Hunt Valley Inn
    245 Shawan Rd
    Hunt Valley, MD 21031
    Baltimore County
    Lenny Corbin
    Kevin Woolbright/Marc Haines/Mark Pressimone/Dora Parks
    February 28th 125 attendees 2:00pm

    Allegany County for Career & Technical Education
    14211 McMullen Hwy
    Cresaptown, MD 21502 Allegany
    Scott Puffenbarger
    Mark Hamrick/Tad Miller
    March 4th, 2013 45 attendees 9:00am

    GRAY AND SON, INC.
    Hunt Valley Inn
    245 Shawan Rd
    Hunt Valley, MD 21031
    Baltimore County
    Lenny Corbin
    Kevin Woolbright/Marc Haines/Dora Parks
    March 5th, 2013 125 attendees 2:00pm

    Western School of Technology
    100 Kenwood Ave.
    Baltimore, MD 21228
    John Kurtz
    Dora Parks
    March 19th, 2013 12 attendees 11:00am

    B.Frank Joy Company
    5355 Kilmer St.
    Hyattsville, Md 20781
    JW Hall
    Kevin Woolbright/Mark Hamrick/Romelia Kemp
    March 28th, 2013 30 attendees 6:00am

2013 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)
Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts)

Matt Eversmann will be the key note speaker at the 2013 conference. Matt’s encounter during the 1993 UN peacekeeping operation is a story of heroism and leadership.  The committee is very excited to have Matt participate in this year’s conference. Registration to the conference will begin in the spring.  There are sponsorship opportunities and exhibitor space available, contact Dora Parks for information. A full report of conference activity will be presented at the March DP Meeting.

The GCDPTC will be held on October 23, 24 & 25th in Ocean City, MD at the Clarion Resort Hotel and Conference Center.

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MDUFDPA)
Presented by Kevin Woolbright, Authority Vice Chairman

Claim fees ($250.00) have been waived from January 1 to June 30, 2013.
The Authority is currently reviewing several notices of probable violations of MD state law,
Authority is reviewing archiving software.
Jim Barron is the Executive Director for the Authority.
The monthly Damage Prevention meeting remains the first level for law disputes and resolution.

Next Authority meeting is scheduled for March 6, 2013 at the call center.

MD/DC MISS UTILITY SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE MEETING
Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Vice Chairman, Vince Healy (Verizon)

Scott Brown reiterated the importance of the MD Authority with respect to state law, our model is being watched from around the nation.  He also discussed the importance of advertising and promotion for, call before you dig messaging; this is funded by the call center utility owner-members.  Scott commended the Damage Prevention Training teams for their continued support and volunteering to educate the public on damage prevention and safe excavation.

The next Subscribers Committee meeting will be on March 27, 2013

INTER-COUNTY BROADBAND NETWORK (ICBN/OMBN)
OMBN Contact, Aaron Bouch, Project Manager  (410-590-2068 or abouch@skylinenet.net)
ICBN Contact, Richard Rook Rogers, Special Projects Manager (410-313-0715)

Mark Hamrick (Verizon) presented OMBN/ICBN footage projections.

  Jan Feb March April May
Allegany 500 500 250    
Annapolis          
Anne Arundel          
Baltimore City          
Baltimore County          
Calvert 0 100 50    
Caroline 0 0 0    
Carroll          
Cecil 0 1000 1000    
Charles 0 0 0    
Dorchester 0 0 0    
Frederick          
Garrett 0 2300 1000    
Harford          
Howard          
Kent 0 4000 1000    
Montgomery          
Prince George's          
Queen Anne's 0 0 0    
Saint Mary's 0 49000      
Somerset 0 900 100    
Talbot 0 0 0    
Washington 0 500 250    
Wicomico   500 250    
Worcester 0 0 0    

VERIZON FTTP FOOTAGE PROJECTIONS
Mark Hamrick, Verizon

Engineering projections are subject to change;

FTTP March 2013 April 2013 May 2013
Anne Arundel 0 8,000 9,700
Baltimore 2,100 500 0
Calvert 0 0 0
Charles 0 0 0
Frederick 0 0 0
Garrett 0 0 0
Harford 0 0 0
Howard 0 0 0
Montgomery 67,000 116,000 108,000
Prince Georges 0 0 0
St. Mary's 0 0 0
District of Columbia 100 3,000 0
Total 69,200 127,500 117,700

OPEN DISCUSSION

Dora Parks (Miss Utility) provided an overview of the upcoming ticket processing changes.  The call center will no longer require a paper map number or grid for member notification of excavation area.  In the near future (second quarter) the call center will convert to a mapping system.  CSR processed tickets in addition to ITIC (internet ticketing) will identify the work site using ‘grid click’ on a digital map.  All utility owner-members are converting their notification databases from their current grid tables to polygons on the One Call Concepts digital base map.  Whenever the ‘grid click’ touches the utility owner-member’s polygon, the member will receive a copy of the ticket for locate investigation.

Dora Parks provided a power point overview of the new iTic 2.0 for internet ticket processing.

There was a lengthy discussion regarding locating accuracy, on time performance, Ticket Check coding and multiple excavator concerns.  Kevin Woolbright suggested utility owner-members and/or their contract locators meet with the contractors to discuss their concerns.

For interested utility owner-members, Dora Parks provided a live demo of the new iMap application directly following the Damage Prevention meeting.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:35am.

UPCOMING MEETINGS

MD & DC Damage Prevention Meeting Date: March 26, 2013 @ Miss Utility
MD & DC Subscribers Committee Meeting Date: March 27, 2013 @ Miss Utility

Please visit www.missutility.net/damageprevention/ for the monthly MD & DC Damage Prevention meeting dates which are held the 4th Tuesday of every month excluding December. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am and the meetings begin at 9:30.

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington, D.C.

Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Jan-12   47,584   35,465   75%
Feb-12   47,084   35,531   75%
Mar-12   58,613   42,643   73%
Apr-12   59,588   43,310   73%
May-12   62,057   45,820   74%
Jun-12   61,779   45,506   75%
Jul-12   61,779   46,506   75%
Aug-12   64,860   48,637   75%
Sep-12   56,373   41,967   74%
Oct-12   63,863   48,609   76%
Nov-12   55,319   41,675   75%
Dec-12   48,323   37,748   78%
Jan-13   55,672   43,863   79%
Meeting Attendees
NAME Sorted By First Name   COMPANY   TELEPHONE #   EMAIL ADDRESS
AE Bull   Gray & Son   (410) 771-4311   abull@graynson.com
Aurelian Nicolau   DPW- Baltimore   (410) 396-3671   aurelian.nicolau@baltimorecity.gov
Brandon Monroe   Gray & Son   (443) 829-7722   bmonroe@graynson.com
Brian Scaramozzino   Spiniello   (443) 506-6718   bscaramozzino@spiniello.com
Brooke Barlow   USIC   (410) 991-0221   brookebarlow@usicinc.com
Bryon Bronson   Lambert Cable Splicing   (301) 725-7082   byron.bronson@lambertcable.com
Cal Brooks   Howard County   (410) 31304952   cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Charles McCadden   BGE   (443) 463-1200   charles.mccadden@bge.com
Chris McMurry   MGH   (410) 902-5036   cmcmurry@mghus.com
Chuck Baker   Verizon   (301) 502-9340   charles.b.baker@verizon.com
Danielle Davis   MGH       ddavis@mghus.com
David Wilkins   WSSC   (310) 206-4371   dwilkin1@wsscwater.com
Deena Joyce   WSSC   (310) 206-8259   djoyce@wsscwater.com
Dena Walters   OCC Locating Service   (410) 712-0202   dena@occls.com
Dora Parks (Committee Secretary)   One Call Concepts/Miss Utility   (410) 782-2026   doraparks@missutility.net
Dorothy Miller   Comer Construction   (410) 879-6094   dorothy@comerconstruction.com
Emily Meier   MGH       emeier@mghus.com
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   (443) 324-7835   Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Iris Curtis   SMECO   (301) 705-8689   Iris.curtis@smeco.coop
Jason Seitz   Gray & Son   (443) 591-2949   jseitz@graynson.com
Jeff Sotheron   Verizon   (301) 791-3992   jefferey.p.sotheron@verizon.com
Jeff Williams   S&N Communications   (443) 264-2135   jwilliams@sncommfo.com
Jim Bieber   Anchor Construction   (202) 269-6694   jbieber@anchorconst.com
John Berrettini   A/I/Data   (410) 686-5091   jberrettini@aidatainc.com
John Clementson   MD PSC   (410) 767-8111   jclementson@psc.state.md.us
Juan Vogel   Utiliquest   (703) 929-9710   juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   (240) 417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kathy Riley   Absolute Underground   (410) 768-2607   Kathyr@absoluteunderground.com
Kathy Yadvish   DCI   (202) 494-2130   kyadvish@dcihq.com
Kevin Woolbright (Committee Chairman)   WSSC   (240) 205-3684   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lawrence Johnson   Pinpoint   (301) 672-8520   lj@pinpointunderground.com
Leonec Dominques   M Luis Co, Inc.   (240) 882-6430   leo.dominques@mluisconstruction.com
Lisa Hurley   SMECO   (410) 535-9403   lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
Mark Hamrick (Committee V. Chairman)   Verizon   (410) 610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matthew Histon   Spiniello   (410) 235-0094   mhiston@spinielloco.com
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   (443) 786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Nicolas Cote   Northern Pipeline   (410) 365-5288   ncote@gonpl.com
Robbie Shaneybrook   Gray & Son   (410) 977-1506   rstoneybrook@graynson.com
Robert Butcher   Verizon   (410) 393-4535   robert.d.butcher@verizon.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   (703) 750-4388   ssbrown@washgas.com
Susie Comer   Comer Construction   (410) 879-6094   susie@comerconstruction.com
Thurman Smith   Utiliquest   (703) 926-0639   thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tim Kaptein   Comer Construction   (443) 807-2391   tim@comerconstruction.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   (410) 933-1137   Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Vincent Healy   Verizon   (301) 791-5690   vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Wayne Gilmer   USIC   (410) 897-7696   waltergilmer@usicinc.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.