Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Minutes of the Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
January 22, 2013
Prepared by Dora Parks


Kevin Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:31 am.

Customary introductions were made.

Kevin asked for a moment of silence for Vince Healy’s son, Vincent Healy, Jr.

The Minutes of November 27, 2012 were reviewed and approved as written.

Presented by Chris McMurry and Chrissie Bortner, MGH

2012 Trade Shows - contact, Chrissie Bortner (410-902-5054 or cbortner@mghus.com)

Completed Trade Shows

      Build, remodel and Landscape Expo
      Baltimore Convention Center
      January 18-20

Marc Haines (BGE) stated this show was poorly attended with only 15 attendees stopping by the booth on Saturday. Marc suggested we do not commit to this show in 2014.

Future Trade Shows

      Maryland Home and Garden Show (Spring)
      Timonium Fairgrounds
      March 2 – 3 & 8 – 10, 2013

      Northern Chesapeake Modern Living Expo
      APGFCU Arena on the Campus of Harford Community College
      March 22 – 24, 2013

      Mid Atlantic Construction Safety Conference
      The Show Place Arena and Prince Georges Equestrian Center
      Upper Marlboro, MD
      May 9, 2013

      Maryland Municipal League (MML)
      Ocean City, MD, Roland Powell Convention Center
      June 23 – 26, 2013

      Maryland Association of Counties (MACO)
      Ocean City, MD, Roland Powell Convention Center
      August 14 – 17, 2013

      Maryland Home and Garden Show (Fall)
      Timonium Fair Grounds
      October 18 – 20, 2013

Chrissie thanked everyone for their participation and support of the 2012 Trade Shows. The shows were staffed by utility owner-members, Miss Utility call center staff, contract locating companies and contractors.

Spring Radio Campaign- starts in April. Based on the recent excavator survey, the following was reported;

Radio continues to be the best way to reach professional excavators, according to the survey.

    WTOP and DC 101 were the most popular radio stations for the excavators from the DC area
    WPOC and 98 Rock were the most popular radio stations for the excavators from the Baltimore area
    WFRE and 106.9 The Eagle were the most popular radio stations for the excavators from the Frederick/Hagerstown/Cumberland area

Promotional Materials – An inventory was conducted in December 2012, materials such as notebooks, koozies, color code cards, flyers and Miss U decals will be ordered to replenish inventory.

Minor League Baseball – Miss Utility will sponsor the following events;

  • Frederick Keys – Keys for Reading Program
    • Students who complete (4) books in a 2 month period receive free tickets to a Frederick Keys game
    • Books names are logged on a bookmark promoting Miss Utility
    • Students participate in an on-field parade
    • Grounds crew sponsorship
  • Bowie Baysox
    • Manny Machado Garden Gnome Giveaway
    • Possible landscaping make-over
  • Southern Maryland Blue Crabs
    • Crabby cove Sandbox signage
    • Sand shovels with Miss Utility logo

All sponsorships provide Miss Utility promotional announcements during games, 1st pitches and concourse booth space to distribute educational and promotional items, Miss Utility is also promoted on game calendars, pocket schedules and press releases.

Excavator Research Survey – An online survey was conducted using call center professional excavators to determine the effectiveness of Miss Utility advertising.

The following results were provided;

  • Among the excavators who took the survey, 80 percent were aware of Miss Utility’s advertising efforts.
  • 48 percent of the respondents were aware that the Miss Utility law had recently changed, creating an opportunity for additional training/education.
  • Awareness of the new video was lower than all other Miss Utility materials, making it an area of focus for marketing this year.
  • Online training is something that was well received by 70 percent of the survey respondents. It will be part of the marketing plan for 2013.

Vocational School Outreach – MGH will provide mailers to area vocational schools to promote damage prevention training. Mark Hamrick (Verizon) stated the damage prevention training in May 2012 in Allegany County was very successful, 72 students attended. These schools are unaware of the dangers of excavation while building houses putting the students and public at risk.

Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon), Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

Mark Hamrick provided an overview of the Locator Achievement Awards (LAA) and process.  2013 marks the 10th anniversary of the LAA.  The Awards committee is meeting on January 22, 2013

Contact, Dora Parks (410-782-2026 or dora@missutility.net)

    Completed Training

      Midasco. LLC
      7121 Dorsey Run Road
      Elkridge, MD
      Jan. 21, 2013

    Future Scheduled Training

      Gray and Son, Inc.
      Hunt Valley Inn
      245 Shawan Rd
      Hunt Valley, MD 21031
      Baltimore County
      Lenny Corbin
      February 28th and March 5th. 125 attendees 2:00pm

      ABC of Baltimore
      1220 B East Joppa Rd Suite 322
      Towson, MD 212286
      Baltimore County
      Mike Barton
      April 30th 24 attendees Start time TBD


The GCDPTC will be held on October 23, 24 & 25th in Ocean City, MD at the Clarion Resort Hotel and Conference Center.  The committee will meet on Jan. 22, 2013.

Presented by Kevin Woolbright, Authority Vice Chairman

  • The Authority received 50% of the 2012 grant money.
  • There is a moratorium on the claim fee of $250.00 from Jan. 1st to June 30th of 2013.
  • To date, the Authority has received (2) notices of probable violations, these are under review.
  • Subcommittee to interview for a new Executive Director to start in late February.
  • The Authority will review utility owners not members to the one-call system.

Next Authority meeting is scheduled for Feb. 6, 2013 at the call center.

Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Vice Chairman, Vince Healy (Verizon)

Scott Brown reiterated the new terms of the committees:

    Chair and Vice Chair = extend current positions until 2014
    MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee
    Chair and Vice Chair = two year term to expire in 2015

The next Subscribers Committee meeting will be on March 27, 2013

OMBN Contact, Aaron Bouch, Project Manager  (410-590-2068 or abouch@skylinenet.net)
ICBN Contact, Richard Rook Rogers, Special Projects Manager (410-313-0715)

OMBN Monthly Projections Report provided by Aaron Bouch;

  Jan-13 Feb-13
Allegany 500 500
Anne Arundel    
Baltimore City    
Baltimore County    
Calvert 0 100
Caroline 0 0
Cecil 0 1000
Charles   0
Dorchester 0 0
Garrett 0 2300
Kent 0 4000
Prince George's    
Queen Anne's 0 0
Saint Mary's 0 12000
Somerset 0 900
Talbot   0
Washington 0 500
Wicomico   500
Worcester 0 0

ICBN, Rook Rogers provided the below ICBN project information;

Jurisdiction Description and location of anticipated construction
AACO Inter County Connect (ICC) north route, AACO to Balt City.
Baltimore City

15.8 mile East Wing Route ICC, connecting AACO to Balt Ciy to Balt Co.
43 Community Anchor Institutions (CAI) .31 are ready for the city cut over.

Baltimore County

Phase 1,2,3,4,5 are anticipated to be completed prior to the end of the project.
Construction of a few sections as they relate to the above phases continues;
including, but not limited to the completion of the CAI's.

Carroll County

The construction is just about completed.
Items that remain to be built are currently being discussed.

Harford County

Remaining section is the ICC connection to Baltimore County
Ebenezer Road to Route 24 in Harford County utilizing Route 40.

Howard County

Fiber pulling to be completed, many CAI's will come on line.
Anticipated ICC connections that remain, AACO, Montgomery County
Howard County will connect to Balt. Co via Route 1 in Elkridge

Montgomery County

Montgomery County is unique due to the fact the majority of the Fiber is over lashed to existing Fiber attached to existing poles.
The majority of the 90 CAI's are lateral builds.
As you are aware there are a few underground sections that were built as well.

Prince Georges County

This area lacks a few builds from being 100 % completed.
A few Tower builds are now tasked and should be completed very soon.
The CAI connections are in progress.


Mark Hamrick, Verizon

Engineering projections are subject to change;

  Feb 2013 Mar 2013 Apr 2013
Anne Arundel 0 0 0
Baltimore 5,400 0 500
Calvert 24,000 0 0
Charles 0 0 0
Frederick 0 0 0
Garrett 0 0 0
Harford 23,300 0 0
Howard 0 0 0
Montgomery 34,000 67,000 98,000
Prince Georges 5,000 0 0
St. Mary's 0 0 0
District of Columbia 0 100 3,000


Dora Parks provided information on future ticket processing; the call center will no longer notify owner-members using the ADC/Kappa Map County Street Atlas.  The call center will notify owner-members using a new digital district code polygon in the DC and WSMD service territory.  This excludes MDOT agencies currently using a permit number and agency name for ticket notification. The call center is converting all owner-member grid tables into digital polygons, the members will use iMap to approve and/or modify their district polygons to go live on or about April 3, 2013.

The call center will no longer require a paper map number and grid, these fields will remain on the current outbound ticket but will not be populated.  If excavators provide a map number and grid, the information will be typed into an alternate field on the ticket.

With the new process, the work site mapping will be synced into the text ticket using county, municipality, street, address and intersecting street information. This process is relevant for tickets processed via a call center CSR or the user processing their ticket(s) via iTic. The current iTic application has been modified to include this new mapping component in addition to many new user features to improve the ticket processing experience.  iTic 2.0 will include a new look, new tools, faster screen refresh, easier iTic registration, a chat feature in addition to a view of the dig site map. The iTic user email will include a link to view the map.

It was suggested that an iTic 2.0 presentation be provided during the new Damage Prevention meeting.

Kathy Riley of Absolute Underground voiced a concern regarding gas service locates.  Kathy will meet with Jeff Buck of USIC to discuss issues.

A lengthy discussion regarding WSSC locates in Prince George’s and Montgomery counties ensued. Kevin Woolbright provided contact information for Deena Joy regarding locate issues for Pinpoint.  Contact phone number is, 301-206-8259 and email is, djoyce@wsscwater.com.

Scott Brown of WGL stated they have a current damage ratio of 1 per 1,000 locates.  Scott applauded the locators and contractors for a job well done.

The meeting attendees had an extensive dialog regarding the; locate tolerance zone, practices vs. state law, test pitting, utility protection during excavation and saw blading the asphalt.  Various members provided industry best practices.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 12:05pm.


MD & DC Damage Prevention Meeting Date: February 26,, 2013 @ Miss Utility
MD & DC Subscribers Committee Meeting Date: March 27, 2013 @ Miss Utility

Please visit www.missutility.net/damageprevention/ for the monthly MD & DC Damage Prevention meeting dates which are held the 4th Tuesday of every month excluding December. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am and the meetings begin at 9:30.

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington, D.C.

Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Dec-11   46,317   34,952   75%
Jan-12   47,584   35,465   75%
Feb-12   47,084   35,531   75%
Mar-12   58,613   42,643   73%
Apr-12   59,588   43,310   73%
May-12   62,057   45,820   74%
Jun-12   61,779   45,506   75%
Jul-12   61,779   46,506   75%
Aug-12   64,860   48,637   75%
Sep-12   56,373   41,967   74%
Oct-12   63,863   48,609   76%
Nov-12   55,319   41,675   75%
Dec-12   48,323   37,748   78%
Meeting Attendees
Brian Simmons   One Call Concepts/Miss Utility   (732) 796-3949   bsimmons@occinc.com
Chris McMurry   MGH   (410) 902-5036   cmcmurry@mghus.com
Chrissie Bortner   MGH   (410) 746-5288   cbortner@mghus.com
Chuck Baker   Verizon   (301) 502-9340   charles.b.baker@verizon.com
Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   (301) 428-0800   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Don Jones   Washington Gas   (703) 750-5510   charles.b.baker@verizon.com
Donald MacKay   Long Fence   (240) 417-1922   dmackay@longfence.com
Dora Parks (Committee Secretary)   One Call Concepts/Miss Utility   (410) 782-2026   doraparks@missutility.net
Dorothy Miller   Comer Construction   (410) 879-6094   dorothy@comerconstruction.com
Ed O'Connell   S&N   (434) 942-4754   eoconnell@sncommfo.com
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   (443) 324-7835   Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Frank Maida   Badger Daylighting   (240) 841-3831   fmaida@badgercorp.com
Greg Sydnor   S&N   (434) 942-6949   gsydnor@sncommfo.com
Jack Sullivan   BGE   (443) 677-1411   john.a.sullivan@bge.com
Jason Wedding   OCC Locating Service   (443) 783-0080   jwedding@occls.com
Jeff Buck   USIC   (904) 806-3796   jeffbuck@usicinc.com
Jeff Williams   S&N Communications   (443) 264-2135   jwilliams@sncommfo.com
Jim Verga   Eastcom Associates   (908) 803-0195   jverga@eastcomassoc.com
Joe Feronti   USIC   (443) 239-4464   josephferonti@usicinc.com
John Berrettini   A/I/Data   (410) 686-5091   jberrettini@aidatainc.com
John Clementson   MD PSC   (410) 767-8111   jclementson@psc.state.md.us
John Seefried   Howard County   (410) 313-5712   jseefried@howardcountymd.gov
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   (240) 417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kathy Riley   Absolute Underground   (410) 768-2607   Kathyr@absoluteunderground.com
Kathy Yadvish   DCI   (202) 494-2130   kyadvish@dcihq.com
Ken Shorter   RK&K   (410) 462-5410   kshorter@rkk.com
Kevin Woolbright (Committee Chairman)   WSSC   (240) 205-3684   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   (410) 365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Lisa Hurley   SMECO   (410) 535-9403   lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
Marc Haines   BGE   (43) 324-0371   marc.haines@bge.com
Mark Hamrick (Committee V. Chairman)   Verizon   (410) 610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Mark Norris   Eastcom   (757) 642-6601   mnorris@eastcomassoc.com
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   (443) 786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Paul Kwiatkowski   Howard County   (443) 315-7535   pkwiatkowski@howardcountymd.gov
Rook Rogers   ICBN   (443) 253-4829   rroger@elandscapellc.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   (703) 750-4388   ssbrown@washgas.com
Tim Kaptein   Comer Construction   (443) 807-2391   tim@comerconstruction.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Service   (410) 712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Wayne Gilmer   USIC   (410) 897-7696   waltergilmer@usicinc.com
Will Metzger   Anchor Construction   (202) 269-6696   wmetzger@anchorconst.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.