Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of the Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
August 28, 2012
Prepared by Dora Parks

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

Vince Healy called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:30am.

Customary introductions were made.

A statement submitted by Kevin Woolbright was read by Vince Healy in Kevin’s absence, regarding the July 2012 Authority vacancy nomination process. According to Maryland state law (Title 12) Mr. Gilmer will remain a member of the Authority. The nomination process will be reviewed during the Subscriber’s October 2012 committee meeting.

Meeting minutes from 7/24/2012 were reviewed and approved as submitted.

MGH UPDATE
Chrissie Bortner (MGH) reported the following:

August 11th '811 Day' was promoted using a variety events;

  • Ocean City - aerial ‘811; banner flyover. There were (5) scheduled fly overs promoting safe digging starting at the inlet in Ocean City, MD and ending at Rehoboth Beach, DE. The message read, “DIGGING SOON, CALL 811, IT’S THE LAW” Miss Utility of Delmarva partnered with Miss Utility to provide this high level promotion.
  • BGE lit up Baltimore City with their building (Fayette St.) ‘811’ lights thanks to Aaron Koos (BGE).
  • The CGA, ‘811 Promise’ was promoted at (3) different minor league baseball games in August. Added value to all games included league website and DC 101 advertising plus game night resources. Additional promotions ran during these games;
    • Bowie Baysox, 8/1 game included an Elliot in the morning bobble head give-a-way and the 811 bike was on display.
    • Frederick Keys, 8/9 game included the 811 bike.
    • Maryland Blue Crabs hosted an $8.11 game ticket in addition to displaying the 811 bike.

2012 TRADE and SAFETY SHOWS
Contact: Chrissie Bortner (office) 410-902-5054 cbortner@mghus.com

COMPLETED SHOWS

MACo
Convention Center
Ocean City, MD
August 15-17, 2012

 

FUTURE SCHEDULED TRADE SHOWS

NIH Safety Day
Washington, DC
August 29, 2012
 
Howard County Tree Care Outreach (Presented by MOSH)
Howard County Fairgrounds
October 10, 2012
 
Maryland Home & Garden Fall Show
Timonium Fairgrounds
October 19-21, 2012

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS
Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon), Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)

Dora Parks reported that Dig Smart entry forms were mailed to the top users of the Miss Utility system. Completed entries are due by August 6th. Multiple email entry reminders will be sent to the contractors. The Awards team will invite the Miss Utility subscribers to participate in the entry evaluation; all evaluations are due to Dora Parks by September 11th. Dig Smart winners will be invited to the 2012 Greater Damage Prevention Training Conference where they will be awarded and recognized by conference attendees.

2012 DAMAGE PREVENTION/SAFETY TRAINING
Contact: Dora Parks (office) 410-782-2026 dora@missutility.net

COMPLETED TRAINING

American Infrastructure
Aberdeen, MD
July 30, 2012
 
Charles County (Dora read a thank you letter from Charles County for our training)
LaPlata, MD
July 31, 2012
 
WSSC/WGL Session
Anacostia Service Center
Hyattsville, MD
August 14, 2012
 
American Infrastructure
Laurel, MD
August 22, 2012
 
WSSC/WGL Session
Customer Care South
Temple Hills Road
August 22, 2012

FUTURE SCHEDULED TRAINING

ABC Baltimore Chapter
Towson, MD
September 11, 2012
 
DC Water and Sewer Authority
Bryant Street Locatgion
Washington, DC NW
September 26, 2012
 
Lineal Industries
White Marsh, MD
October 2, 2012

2012 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)
Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts)

Dora Parks reported the conference sessions have been finalized; there will be (14) breakout sessions with two sessions being repeated during the conference block. The 811 Bike will be displayed in the exhibitor hall and 85% of the exhibitor space has been secured. The early bird registration ends on August 31st and includes the following packages;

  • Day-Tripper (no overnight hotel accommodations
  • One night package
  • Two night package
  • Three night package
  • All inclusive package (includes golf outing)

Keynote speaker is electrical damage survivor and Olympian, Cliff Meidl who will open the conference on Thursday morning.

Next Committee meeting on August 28, 2012

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MDUFDPA)
Reported by Kevin Woolbright, Vice Chairman

  • Next Authority meeting will work through a mock hearing
  • Authority website is, www.mddpa.org
  • Authority attended MACo conference in Ocean City, MD
  • Grant funding waiting for signatures
  • Wayne provided an overview of Authority purpose
  • Maryland approach to law violations favorable with PHMSA

Next Authority meeting scheduled for September 5, 2012

MD/DC MISS UTILITY SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE MEETING
Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Vice Chairman, Vince Healy (Verizon)

  • The next Subscribers meeting will be held October 19th at Visitors Center in McHenry Md.

INTER-COUNTY BROADBAND NETWORK (ICBN/OMBN)

ICBN Project Manager, Joe Crossney

Joe recognized UtilitQuest (Mike Burns and Erik Phillips) for their support and education of the Maryland fiber project. Group discussion regarding fiber locating.

  • 98% of fiber build will be completed by December 2012
  • Grant to provide 1,300 miles of fiber to connect government sites in Maryland
  • Government sites/institutions lighting and connecting to occur from January – August 2013
  • ICBN hand holes identified as, ‘County Fiber’
  • Locate marks are identified as either, OMBN or ICBN
  • S&N providing locates for ICBN side of the project (9 WSMD counties)
  • Dark fiber will be leased for county revenue

September Monthly Forecast; OMBN - shaded

   
Allegany 5,500
Annapolis 3,000
Anne Arundel 0
Baltimore City 1,000
Baltimore County 61,000
Calvert 150
Caroline 0
Carroll 1,300
Cecil 50,000
Charles 150
Dorchester 0
Frederick 1,300
Garrett 1,000
Harford 0
Howard 25,671
Kent 15,000
Montgomery 35,200
Prince George's 3,000
Queen Anne's 15,000
Saint Mary's 12,000
Somerset 7,000
Talbot 0
Washington 1,500
Wicomico 3,000
Worcester 10,000

VERIZON FTTP FOOTAGE PROJECTIONS
Mark Hamrick, Verizon

FTTP Sept 2012 Oct 2012 Nov 2012
Anne Arundel 0 0 0
Baltimore County 100 0 0
Charles County 0 0 0
District of Columbia 0 0 1,000
Harford County 0 17,000 0
Howard County 0 0 0
Prince Georges County 0 0 0
Montgomery County 60,000 32,000 0
Total 60,100 49,000 1,000

OPEN DISCUSSION

Roger Trotter (Riggs Distler) inquired about new contract locator for BGE, USIC. USIC will provide locating services for BGE on September 7, 2012.

Dora Parks reported the Miss Utility ‘resource’ website page has been revised to streamline ordering educational materials. The resource page is available at,
http://www.missutility.net/training_safety/resources.asp

There being no further information brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

UPCOMING MEETINGS

    MD & DC Damage Prevention Meeting Date: Tuesday, September 25, 2012

    MD & DC Subscribers Committee Meeting Date: Friday, October 19, 2012

Please visit www.missutility.net/damageprevention/ for the monthly MD & DC Damage Prevention meeting dates which are held the 4th Tuesday of every month excluding December. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am and the meetings begin at 9:30 am unless otherwise noted.

CALL CENTER ITIC REPORT

Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Aug-11   60,073   44,272   74%
Sep-11   56,298   41,599   74%
Oct-11   55,827   40,895   73%
Nov-11   50,981   38,030   75%
Dec-11   46,317   34,952   75%
Jan-12   47,584   35,465   75%
Feb-12   47,084   35,531   75%
Mar-12   58,613   42,643   73%
Apr-12   59,588   43,310   73%
May-12   62,057   45,820   74%
Jun-12   61,779   45,506   75%
Jul-12   61,779   46,506   75%
Aug-12   64,860   48,637   75%
Meeting Attendees
NAME Sorted By First Name   COMPANY   TELEPHONE #   EMAIL ADDRESS
Christina Bortner   MGH   (410) 746-5288   cbortner@mghus.com
Chuck Baker   Verizon   (301) 502-9340   charles.b.baker@verizon.com
Dee Gregory   SHA (State Highway)   (443) 572-5267    
Don Jones   Washington Gas   (703) 750-5510   djones@washgas.com
Donald MacKay   Long Fence   (240) 417-1922)   dmackay@longfence.com
Dora Parks   One Call Concepts /Miss Utility   (410) 782-2026   doraparks@missutility.net
Dorothy Miller   Comer Construction   (410) 879-6094   dorothy@comerconstruction.com
Iris Curtis   SMECO   (301) 705-8689   iris.curtis@smeco.coop
Jeff Buck   USIC   (904) 806-3796   jeffbuck@usic.com
Jim Bentley   NPL   (443) 271-7497   jbently@gonpl.com
Jim Verga   Eastcom Associatees   (908) 803-0195   jverga@eastcomassoc.com
Joe Crossney   ICBN- Howard County   (410) 313-0830   jcrossney@howardcountymd.gov
John Berrettini   A/I/Data   (410) 686-5091   jberrettini@aidatainc.com
John Clementson   MD PSC   (410) 767-8111   jclementson@psc.state.md.us
John Nesbit   SHA (State Highway)   (443) 572-5265   jnesbitt@sha.state.md.us
Juan Vogel   Utiliquest   (703) 929-9710   juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   (240) 417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kay Bixby   USIC   (443) 239-4460   kaybixby@usicinc.com
Lawrence Bowlding   DCI   (202) 480-4886   lbowlding@dcihq.com
Lawrence Johnson   Pinpoint   (301) 672-8520   lj@pinpointunderground.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   (410) 365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Marc Haines   BGE   (443) 324-0371   marc.haines@bge.com
Martin Wetzler   B. Frank Joy   (240) 417-0110   mwetzler@bfjoy.com
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   (443) 786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Nic Barone   Gray & Son   (410) 365-5635   nbarone@graynson.com
Nicolas Cote   NPL   (410) 365-5288   ncote@gonpl.com
Patrick Thompason   USIC   (321) 863-9907   patrickthompson@usicinc.com
Rob Cullison   KCI   (410) 316-7980   rob.cullison@kci.com
Roger Trotter   Riggs Distler   (443) 829-6003   rtrotter@riggsdistler.com
Ron Diemer   NPL   (443) 829-9052   rdiemer@gonpl.com
Sherell Stone   NPL   (410) 355-1087   sstone@gonpl.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   (410) 933-1137   tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Tim Kaptein   Comer Construction   (443) 807-2391   tim@comerconstruction.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Service   (410) 712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Vincent Healy   Verizon   (301) 7915690   vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Wayne Gilmer   USIC