Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of the Maryland and DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) and Vice Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
January 24, 2012
Prepared by Dora Parks

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

Kevin Woolbright called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35am.

Customary introductions were made. Kevin Woolbright introduced the new MD & DC Damage Prevention Chairman (Kevin Woolbright) and Vice Chairman Mark Hamrick.

Kevin Woolbright stated he would like the following to be implemented during future DP meetings,

  • Appropriate communications amongst the stakeholders
  • Problems will be addressed and resolved
  • Share your success stories when issues are resolved
  • Acknowledge folks who assisted in resolving the problems

Mark Hamrick thanked the committee for the service opportunity and added,

  • Use the team approach and collaboration towards problem resolution
  • Share ideas
  • Have a partnership mentality

The Minutes of November 22, 2011 were amended and approved.

MGH UPDATE

Chrissie Bortner (MGH) reported the following;
During 2012 there will be (3) minor league baseball sponsorships;

  • Frederick Keys, Keys for Reading & Ground Crews sponsor
  • Bowie Baysox, Elliot Bobble Head Giveaway
  • Southern Maryland Blue Crabs, Crabby Cove Sandbox sponsorship

Miss Utility will host a meeting facilitated by MGH on February 22, 2012 at 11am to share the Miss Utility damage prevention marketing strategies for 2012 and to enlist the support of the state’s owner-members via their internal processes.

2012 TRADE SHOWS

Chrissie Bortner provided a hand out listing the 2012 Trade Shows and asked the membership to consider supporting the events. The Miss Utility booth is manned for (4) hour shifts and requires set up and break down. Materials are picked up at the call center during business hours. Kevin Woolbright stated an inventory log should be used for removing and returning supplies such as the table skirts, booth, chairs, etc. Mark Hamrick stated Verizon would support the MML and MACO events. Martin Wetzler (Long Fence) corrected the name for the MACSC.

Volunteers can contact Chrissie directly at 410-902-5054 or cbortner@mghus.com.

LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT (LAA) AND DIG SMART AWARDS

Chairman, Mark Hamrick (Verizon), Vice Chairman, Dora Parks (Miss Utility)
Martin Wetzler (Long Fence) was once again applauded as the MD & DC 2011 Dig Smart recipient.
The LAA awards will be held at the Bowie Baysox stadium where each winner will be recognized by their families, peers and the Damage Prevention committee.
Nomination forms and introduction letters will be mailed by January 31st with a due date of February 17th.
The committee will meet in the afternoon of January 24th

DAMAGE PREVENTION & SAFETY PRESENTATIONS

Contact, Dora Parks (office) 410-782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Kevin Woolbright provided the new format for presentation requests which will benefit the overall process for event data collection and tracking in addition to meeting the expectations of the requestors. All owner-members are invited to participate in the training sessions to share their experiences and expertise in damage prevention. The committee can provide training for those who are willing to participate.

New forms have been created to collect training requests, schedules and attendance. Kevin suggested evaluation surveys be completed to ensure the goals and expectations are being met for each training session.

Currently scheduled Damage Prevention Training sessions are;

    CTS Safety in Peach Bottom, PA for MD utility contractors and well drillers on 2/17/12.
    Gray & Son in Baltimore County on 2/21, 23 and 3/1.

All training sessions will be recorded on the Miss Utility website under TRACK SEMINARS and available for viewing at, www.missutility.net/excavators/trackseminars.asp

2012 GREATER CHESAPEAKE DAMAGE PREVENTION TRAINING CONFERENCE (GCDPTC)

Chairman, Matt Ruddo (One Call Concepts)
The 2011 GCDPTC was a huge success, over 350 attendees with 30 exhibitors, the unveiling of the 811 Bike and 11 conference speakers and presenters. The 2012 GCDPTC committee will meet on January 24th, following the Damage Prevention committee meeting.

MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY (MDUFDPA)

Kevin Woolbright (Authority member) reported the Authority submitted their first report to Governor O’Malley as provided for in the statute. Kevin stated the purpose of the Authority was to hear complaints of State Law violations and assess civil penalties. Violators can be afforded Damage Prevention Training in lieu of fines. The filing fee to submit violation claims is $250.00; this fee will assist with administration costs and hopefully diminish the claims that can be resolved at the monthly Damage Prevention meetings.

Application for federal grants have been completed, the approval notice is due in May 2012. Additional funds have been received by BGE, Miss Utility of Delmarva and One Call Concepts.

The Authority website is, www.mddpa.org and the email address is, info@mddpa.org.

MD/DC MISS UTILITY SUBSCRIBERS COMMITTEE MEETING

Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Vice Chairman, Vince Healy (Verizon)
Vince Healy stated the next Subscriber’s meeting will be held on March 14th at the call center.

INTER-COUNTY BROADBAND NETWORK (ICBN/OMBN)

ICBN Project Manager, Andre Robinson (office) 410-313-1180. arrobinson@howardcountymd.gov
Andre Robinson gave the following overview of the Stimulus Fiber project;

  • The OMBN is a planned 1294 mile fiber optic broadband network that will link 1006 government institutional anchor sites in every county in Maryland. ICBN is a consortium of 10 Central Maryland jurisdictions, including Baltimore City and Annapolis. ICBN design and build includes 815 miles of the total 1294 mile build.
  • When calling in a locate ticket for construction related to the ICBN project, a ticket header has been created for that purpose with a ticket header of ’OMBN’.
  • Covered the metrics for the February forecast, construction is picking up in most jurisdictions
  • Indicated that monthly meetings with UtiliQuest have been pushed out to quarterly – all is well due to increased communications between contractors and Utiliquest.
  • Effective Monday, January 16, 2012 – S and N will handle fiber locates for all ICBN jurisdictions except Anne Arundel, Howard and Carroll Counties. A question came up as to how project paint marks be labeled and for the time being, we will use, ”OMBN”.
  • Installation projections are as noted (non-shaded counties are ICBN territories)
  January February March
Allegany 0 0  
Annapolis 0 0  
Anne Arundel 52000 53000  
Baltimore City 0 2000  
Baltimore County 40000 5000  
Calvert 24000 28000  
Caroline 0 0  
Carroll 0 4000  
Cecil 0 0  
Charles 24000 120000  
Dorcheseter 0 0  
Frederick 0 100000  
Garrett 0 0  
Harford 0 10000  
Howard 9000 30000  
Kent 0 0  
Montgomery 0 65000  
Prince George's 30000 30000  
Queen Anne's 0 0  
Saint Mary's 4000 8000  
Somerset 0 0  
Talbot 0 0  
Washington 0 0  
Wicomico 0 0  
Worchester 0 0  

VERIZON FTTP FOOTAGE PROJECTIONS

Mark Hamrick, Verizon
Mark reported the following county projections;

  February March
Anne Arundel 28,500 16,500
Baltimore 41,700 61,000
Howard 11,400 200
Prince Georges 7,500 0
Montgomery 15,800 34,400
Harford 1,000 0
Charles 4,200 19,800
District of Columbia 200 0

OPEN DISCUSSION

Glen Goins (Anne Arundel County) inquired about when the ICBN facilities would be turned over to the counties. Andre Robinson stated this would occur in August 2013.

Vince Healy (Verizon) stated that Verizon continues to be concerned about damages to Verizon facilities in Washington DC. Safety and customer service are very important to Verizon and asked that all facility owners assist Verizon in reaching out to educate the excavation community on safe digging practices.

Cheryl Stone (NPL) raised concerns over the aging water lines in Baltimore City. While test pitting, NPL found leaking lines. It was suggested that NPL contact Darren Henson of Baltimore City regarding this matter.

Dennis Lescalleet (Pleasants Construction) raised concerns regarding, member contact information, marking standards and abandoned lines. Attendees provided feedback to address the concerns.

Kevin Woolbright stated that February was National Compliment month, so he complimented Pinpoint for attending the meeting and UtiliQuest (Eric Phillips and Mike Burns) for their support.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at

UPCOMING MEETINGS at the Miss Utility call center;

    MD & DC Damage Prevention Meeting Date: Tuesday, February 28, 2012
    MD & DC Subscribers Committee Meeting Date: Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Please visit www.missutility.net/damageprevention/ for the monthly MD & DC Damage Prevention meeting dates which are held the 4th Tuesday of every month excluding December. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am and the meetings begin at 9:30 am.

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington D.C.

Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Jan-11   48,309   38,657   80%
Feb-11   47,424   37,759   80%
Mar-11   63,746   48,898   77%
Apr-11   58,723   43,448   74%
May-11   60,267   43,603   72%
Jun-11   63,834   47,059   74%
Jul-11   55,150   40,563   74%
Aug-11   60,073   44,272   74%
Sep-11   56,298   41,599   74%
Oct-11   55,827   40,895   73%
Nov-11   50,981   38,030   75%
Dec-11   46,317   34,952   75%
Jan-12   47,584   35,465   75%
Meeting Attendee List for January 24, 2012
Name   Company   Phone   Email
AE Bull Gray & Son   410-771-4311   abull@graynson.com
Andre Robinson   OMBN   410-313-1180   arrobinson@howardcountymd.gov
Bill Richards   Lambert Cable Splicing   301-395-2093   bill.richards@lambertcable.com
Bill Sapero   SMC   410-867-7577   bsapero@smcinc.biz
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Christina Bortner   MGH   410-746-5288   cbortner@mghus.com
Charles Baker   Verizon   301-502-9340   charles.b.baker.jr@verizon.com
Courtney H Coleman   Baltimore City DPW   410-361-9383   courtney.coleman@baltimorecity.gov
Darren Henson   Baltimore City DPW   410-402-4328   darren.henson@baltimorecity.gov
Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Don Jones   Washington Gas   703-750-5510   djones@washgas.com
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   doraparks@missutility.net
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   443-324-7835   Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Glenn Goins   A.A. County   410-222-7344   pwgoin01@aacounty.org
Jack Sullivan   BGE   443-677-1411   john.a.sullivan@bge.com
Jay Miranda   Badger Daylighting   202-603-4067   jmiranda@badger-corp.com
Jeff Walters   Utiliquest   443-790-0063   Jeff.walters@utiliquest.com
Jim Bieber   Anchor Construction   202-269-6694   jbieber@anchorconst.com
Jim Verga   Eastcom Associates   908-803-0195   jverga@eastcomassoc.com
John Berrettini   A/I/Data   410-686-5091   jberrettini@aidatainc.com
John Pendleton   Verizon   301-509-7566   john.r.pendleton@verizon.com
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   240-417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   240-205-3684   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lawrence Johnson   Pinpoint   301-672-8520   lj@pinpointunderground.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   410-365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Lisa Hurley   SMECO   410-535-9403   lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Martin Wetzler   Long Fence Co, Inc.   240-417-1922   mwetzler@longfence.com
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2025   matt@missutility.net
Mike Boin   Verizon   410-371-8946   michael.m.boin@verizon.com
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   443-786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Mike Hickox   S&N Communications   540-717-3394   mhickox@sncommfo.com
Nic Barone   Gray & Son   410-365-5635   nbarone@graynson.com
Reginald (Reggie) Hawkins   Just Locating, Inc.   410-923-4411   just_locating_3j@cablespeed.com
Sherell Stone   NPL   410-355-1083   sstone@gonpl.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-933-1137   Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Service   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Vincent Healy   Verizon   301-791-5690   vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Wayne Summers   S&N   540-717-3212   csummers@sncommfo.com
Wen Liang   Anchor Construction   202-269-6694   wliang@anchorconst.com
Will Metiger   Anchor Construction   202-269-669   wmetiger@anchorconst.com