Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Wayne Gilmer (UtiliQuest) Vice Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover MD 21076
November 22, 2011
Prepared by Dora Parks


Wayne Gilmer (UtiliQuest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:38am.
Customary introductions were made.
Minutes of October 25, 2011 were corrected and approved.
Wayne Gilmer publically thanked Sherell Stone of NPL and Mark Hamrick of Verizon for taking the lead for the Damage Prevention October 25, 2011 committee meeting.


Wayne Gilmer’s monthly safety topic covered ‘Parking Decisions’, handouts were provided.


Christina Bortner (MGH) stated the new Miss Utility video is available for distribution and was provided to all GCDPTC attendees held November 2-4, 2011.

Trade Shows will be provided in early 2012. Anyone interested in volunteering to work future Trade Shows please contact Christina directly at 410-902-5054 or via email, cbortner@mghus.com.

Advertising recommendations for 2012 will be voted on at the next Subscribers meeting.


Chairman, Kevin Woolbright, Co-Chair, Dora Parks
Dora Parks reported that Martin Wetzler accepted the 2010 Dig Smart Award for Long Fence at the GCDPTC held in November 2011. Long Fence was the recipient for both WSMD and DC which is a first in the history of the Dig Smart Awards. Long Fence has processed over 8000 excavation tickets during 2010; their commitment to safe digging practices, participation in various industry damage prevention forums and meetings in addition to continuing employee safety training has established them as the premier recipient of the annual Dig Smart Award.

Kevin Woolbright announced elections for the 2011 Locator Achievement and Dig Smart Awards; Mark Hamrick (Verizon ) will serve as the Chairman and Dora Parks (Miss Utility) will Co-Chair. The Awards Committee will start meetings in early 2012.


Chairman, Matt Ruddo (Miss Utility Center)
Wayne Gilmer stated this year’s conference was extraordinary with the unveiling of the 811 Bike, speaker Eric Giguere sharing his story of being buried alive during a trench collapse and the recognition of the 2010 Dig Smart Awards presentation being added for Miss Utility of MD/DC and Miss Utility of Delmarva.

Matt Ruddo was recognized for his leadership and vision for the conference since its inception three years ago. Matt thanked the members for their sponsorships and partnerships, the vendors and speakers for their support and the committee for their dedication to once again providing an exceptional conference.

Matt provided the following overview;

  • Conference held from November 2 – 4th, at the Clarion Resort Hotel in Ocean City, MD
  • 30 Industry vendors participated in the exhibit area
  • 11 Individual sessions were available to attendees
  • Title Sponsors included; Miss Utility and Miss Utility of Delmarva
  • Platinum Sponsors included; BGE, Delmarva Power, One Call Concepts, PEPCO, Verizon, Washington Gas and Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
  • Gold Sponsors included; Flippo Construction
  • Silver Sponsors included; Gillespie Precast, One Call Concepts Locating Services, Inc. and Anchor Construction
  • Reception and Meal Sponsors included; B. Frank Joy, UtiliQuest, Lambert’s Cable Splicing Company and Delaware Electric Cooperative
  • A golf outing kick started the Conference
  • Paul Jr. Designs unveiled the 811 Bike
  • Eric Giguere, Safety Awareness Solutions

Everyone agreed this year’s conference was a success; many attendees provided positive feedback on the impact speaker, Eric Giguere brought to this year’s conference.

Conference updates and pictures are available at www.missutility.net.


Wayne Gilmer provided the following scheduled training opportunity,

    Gray & Son, Inc. February 21, 23 and March 1st at 11:00am
    Hunt Valley Marriott, Hunt Valley, MD

All members are encouraged to participate, please contact Dora Parks at 410-782-2026 for information.


Wayne Gilmer thanked OCC for hosting the OCC Users Group Meeting held October 25th and 26th. Scott Brown stated this was a great opportunity to hear what other states are doing and to network with other utility members. Representatives from the MD/DC Damage Prevention and Subscribers Committees were; Scott Brown, Vince Healy, Kevin Woolbright and Wayne Gilmer.

Dora Parks provided an overview of the conference sessions;

  • Building a Successful Statewide Damage Prevention Conference
  • Formation of the MD State Damage Prevention Authority
  • Development of a mobile device application
  • Processing Design Requests
  • Mapping Updates
  • ITIC Outreach
  • OCC’s Systems Division Updates
  • Organizational Lifecycles


Chairman, Tom Hoff (One Call Concepts), Vice Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC)
Kevin Woolbright stated the Authority held a meeting in Ocean City directly after the GCDPTC addressing structural items. The following individuals were nominated for another term;

  • Tom Hoff – Chairman
  • Kevin Woolbright – Vice Chairman
  • Cindy Flanders– Secretary

The Authority will resume meetings in early 2012.


Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Co-Chair, Vince Healy (Verizon)
Scott Brown reiterated that the Subscribers October 2011 meeting in Garrett County was an opportunity to meet and network with the members in that service area. The committee agreed that our 2012 fall meeting will be held in Western Maryland.

Scott Brown suggested an alternate Miss Utility logo integrating the 811 logo. The new logo is in the artwork phase.


ICBN Project Manager: Andre Robinson (410-313-1180)

OMBN – ICBN Monthly Projections

  June July August September October November December
Allegany             0
Annapolis 0 5000 5000 0 0 0 0
Anne Arundel 25000 38000 40000 40000 52000 52000 52000
Baltimore City 0 3000 10000 10000 5000 5000 5000
Baltimore County 21000 53000 21000 53000 45000 150000 132000
Calvert           7000 24000
Caroline           0 0
Carroll 0 20000 20000 2200 0 0 0
Cecil 00 0 15840 36960 0 0 0
Charles 3000 7000 22000 20000 7000 63500 24000
Dorcheseter             0
Frderick         0 0 0
Garrett         0 0 0
Harford 0 0 3000 3000 0 0 3000
Howard 25000 35000 22000 20000 6000 6000 40000
Kent             0
Montgomery 0 0 34000 0 0 0 0
Prince George's 30000 52000 67000 67000 25000 30000 30000
Queen Anne's           0 0
Saint Mary's 15000 0 0 0 0 0 4000
Somerset           0 0
Talbot           0 0
Washington           0 0
Wicomico           0 0
Worchester           0 0

Information regarding the Maryland fiber project can be found at, www.onemaryland-icbn.org.


Nothing to report.


Open nominations for the MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee Chairman and Vice Chairman to take office in January 2012 – this is a one year term.

The following individuals were nominated for Chairman or Vice Chairman; Don Jones (WGL), Kevin Woolbright (WSSC), Mark Hamrick (Verizon) and Wayne Gilmer (UtiliQuest) – Wayne Gilmer declined. The Subscriber’s Committee will hold elections during their meeting in December.

Tim Kempa (Comcast) recognized Wayne Gilmer’s contribution for the past eight years as Chairman of the MD/DC Damage Prevention Committee. All attendees applauded Wayne for his dedication, contributions and enthusiasm for damage prevention.


The group discussed appropriate painting on hard surfaces. Scott Brown stated WGL paid a large claim due to solvent used to remove paint marks and cautioned locators on painting methods.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:40am.


The next MD/DC Subscribers meeting will be on December 13th at the Miss Utility call center. Refreshments served at 9:00am, meeting starts at 9:30am with a Holiday Luncheon immediately following hosted by One Call Concepts, Inc.

The next MD/DC Damage Prevention meeting will be January 24, 2012 at the Miss Utility call center. Refreshments served at 9:00am, meeting starts at 9:30am.


ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington D.C.
Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Nov-10   52,495   39,481   75%
Dec-10   59,900   46,530   78%
Jan-11   48,309   38,657   80%
Feb-11   47,424   37,759   80%
Mar-11   63,746   48,898   77%
Apr-11   58,723   43,448   74%
May-11   60,267   43,603   72%
Jun-11   63,834   47,059   74%
Jul-11   55,150   40,563   74%
Aug-11   60,073   44,272   74%
Sept-11   56,298   41,599   74%
Oct-11   55,827   40,895   73%
Nov-11   50,981   30,030   75%
Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Andre Robinson   OMBN   410-313-1180   arobinson@howardcountymd.gov
Art Shapiro   DPW - Baltimore   443-928-3575   Art.shapiro@baltimorecity.gov
Bill Sapero   SMC   410-867-7577   bsapero@smcinc.biz
Christina Bortner   MGH   410-746-5288   cbortner@mghus.com
Deena Joyce   WSSC   301-206-8259   djoyce@wsscwater.com
Don Jones   Washington Gas   703-750-5510   djones@washgas.com
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   dparks@missutility.net
Iris Curtis SMECO 301-705-8689 Iris.curtis@smeco.coop
Jay Miranda   Badger Daylighting   202-603-4067   jmiranda@badger-corp.com
Jim Bieber   Anchor Construction   202-269-6694   jbieber@anchorconst.com
Jim Verga   Eastcom Associates   908-803-0195   jverga@eastcomassoc.com
Kevin Woolbright WSSC 240-205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   410-365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Marc Gilbert   ICBN   410-313-0450   mgilbert@howardcountymd.gov
Marc Haines   BGE   443-324-0371   marc.haines@bge.com
Martin Wetzler   Long Fence Co, Inc.   240-417-1922   mwetzler@longfence.com
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2025   mruddo@missutility.net
Mike Boin   Verizon   410-371-8946   michael.m.boin@verizon.com
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   443-786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Nic Barone   Gray & Son   410-365-5635   nbarone@graynson.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   703-750-4388   ssbrown@washgas.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-933-1137   Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Service   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Wayne Summers   S&N   540-717-3212   csummers@sncommfo.com
Wen Liang   Anchor Construction   202-269-6694   wliang@anchorconst.com