Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Wayne Gilmer (UtiliQuest) Vice Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover MD 21076
October 25, 2011
Prepared by Sherrell Stone


Mark Hamrick (Verizon) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am.
Customary introductions were made.
The previous meeting were reviewed and approved as written.


Mark Hamrick reviewed the importance of safe merging on highways as the Safety Message.


Christina Bartner (MGH) offered assistance for anyone that needed to register last minute for the event. The 811 bike will be unveiled on Wednesday, 11/2/11 at the GCDPTC. On 11/4/11, the Damage Prevention Authority will publicly meet and conduct a Q & A at the conference.
As well, she explained that the 2012 Advertising Plan will be discussed in November.


None scheduled at this time.


Chairman, Kevin Woolbright, Co-Chair, Dora Parks
The 2010 Dig Smart Winner, Long Fence will be recognized at the GCDPTC next week. The 2010 Locator Achievement winners were recognized in May 2010.


Annual Pipeline Safety Program- conducted by Paradigm Liaison Services in Early October andare well attended events that focus on the concerns of digging near gas lines.


Chairman, Scott Brown (WGL), Co-Chair, Vince Healy (Verizon)
Mark Hamrick reported the committee met on 10/11/11. Mark explained that the meeting was well attended and that it was decided that at least once a year the meeting would be held in Western Maryland to ensure good attendance.


Projections were provided by Andre Robinson.

  June July August September October November
Annapolis 0 5000 5000 0 0 0
Anne Arundel 25000 38000 40000 40000 52000 52000
Baltimore City 0 3000 10000 10000 5000 5000
Baltimore County 21000 53000 21000 53000 45000 150000
Calvert           7000
Caroline           0
Carroll 0 20000 20000 2200 0 0
Cecil 00 0 15840 36960 0 0
Charles 3000 7000 22000 20000 7000 63500
Frderick         0 0
Garrett         0 0
Harford 0 0 3000 3000 0 0
Howard 25000 35000 22000 20000 6000 6000
Montgomery 0 0 34000 0 0 0
Prince George's 30000 52000 67000 67000 25000 30000
Queen Anne's           0
Saint Mary's 15000 0 0 0 0 0
Somerset           0
Talbot           0
Washington           0
Wicomico           0
Worchester           0

Andre Robinson reported that engineering projections will not be complete until spring of 2012. RFI’s are out for “Central Locating” to four contractors and the hopes are to have just one locating company to mark the OMBN and ICBN facilities and will show up as a facility/ locator on the Miss Utility tickets. This may pose some confusion for excavators down the road. Facilities will be turned over to the counties/ jurisdictions around August of 2013. The question was posed as to how the post construction issues will be handled. Most likely, a “PMO” will be put together to address post construction issues. A representative from SMC expressed concerns with using only one locating entity to mark their facilities. Jim w/ KCI expressed concerns about 7-10 day delays on tickets and other general locating concerns with OMBN and ICBN and Andre asked that he bring these concerns to the monthly meeting that is held at, 8930 Stamford Blvd., Columbia, MD 21045


Mark Hamrick provided the following FTTP trench footage projections,

  Nov 2011
Anne Arundel 20,574
Baltimore County 24,804
Howard 4,652
Prince George's 19,859
Montgomery 37,247
Harford County 25,623
Charles County 14,410


Chuck McCulloch with GPI does not receive field plans 1st before designing/locating. He wants to know how he can get them. Jack Sullivan from BGE suggested that he call in a design ticket and explained that since "911", BGE does not give out plans. A request can be made with BGE's legal dept. Other utility reps suggested taking the same steps. Mark Hamrick stated that there was a recognized need for the change to the law to allow for design requests.

Sherell Stone from NPL requested that locating companies try to begin using flags whenever possible and please use identifiers, especially for communications.

Jack Sullivan asked the group if they have seen black/ purple markers. Tim Kempa from Comcast said that Comcast was using for fiber I.D., but only markers, not paint.

Nick Barone from Grey & Sons asked for a breakdown for BCTY locate charges:
Marked-$35.00/ Clear-$27.00/ Update-$15.00
He also asked if an emergency ticket can b e updated. Mark Hamrick answered no and suggested that he use the emergency ticket as a guide to call in a regular ticket.

Cal Brooks from HWD County suggested that emergency contact information be updated regularly for utility response on emergency tickets. He said that after waiting for 4-6 hours on an emergency ticket, the only conclusion was that the emergency contacts were not valid/ current.

Pam from Madasco expressed several locating concerns specifically tickets not being marked until the date they expire. She asked if calling in extended tickets is a possibility and Mark explained that it's not possible and not part of the law. Mark referred her to speak directly to the locating company that was causing the issues.

Dennis Lescalleet from Pleasants Construction provided a success story on how an unmarked duct line was not damaged and was quickly resolved for markings by communicating with the right people. He and Martin Wetzler (Long Fence) both expressed that no ticket responses were received during the week of Columbus Day. Dennis Lescalleet referred to a school project where he had issues getting private utilities marked. Martin Wetzler expressed the importance of communicating to home and business owners for locations of private facilities.

Martin Wetzler directed a concern to Jack Sullivan about two electric services feeding two meters and only one service was marked. Jack Sullivan stated that the records would be updated to reflect both services and Jack and Martin side barred after the meeting to discuss the issue further.

Meeting adjourned at 11:15am.

The next Damage Prevention meeting will be November 22, 2011 at the Miss Utility call center. Refreshments will be served at 9:00am, the meeting will begin at 9:30am.

The next Subscriber's Meeting will be December 13, 2011 at the Miss Utility call center, Corporate Conference Room located at Suite 210. Refreshments at 9:00am, the meeting will begin at 9:30am with a Holiday Luncheon to follow. Please RSVP to Dora Parks at 410-782-2026 or email (dora@missutility.net) if you plan to attend this meeting.

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington DC

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington D.C.
Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Oct-10   57,137   41,489   73%
Nov-10   52,495   39,481   75%
Dec-10   59,900   46,530   78%
Jan-11   48,309   38,657   80%
Feb-11   47,424   37,759   80%
Mar-11   63,746   48,898   77%
Apr-11   58,723   43,448   74%
May-11   60,267   43,603   72%
Jun-11   63,834   47,059   74%
Jul-11   55,150   40,563   74%
Aug-11   60,073   44,272   74%
Sept-11   56,298   41,599   74%
Oct-10   55,827   40,895   73%
Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Andre Robinson   OMBN   410-313-1180   arobinson@howardcountymd.gov
Bill Sapero   SMC   410-867-7577   bsapero@smcinc.biz
Cal Brook   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@howardcounty.gov
Charles McCullock   GPI   410-880-3055   cmccullock@gpinet.com
Christina Bortner   MGH   410-746-5288   cbortner@mghus.com
Chuck Baker   Verzion   301-502-9340   charles.b.baker.jr@verizon.com
Deena Joyce   WSSC   301-206-8259   djoyce@wsscwater.com
Dell Hanley   Lambert Cable Splicing       dell.hanley@lambertcable.com
Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   443-324-7835   Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Glenn Goins   A.A. County   410-222-7344   pwgoin01@aacounty.org
Greg Johnson   PEPCO   301-670-8735   gmjohnson@pepco.com
Heather Hartman   MIDASCO   410-579-6714   hhartman@midasco.net
Jay Miranda   Badger Daylighting   202-603-4067   jmiranda@badger-corp.com
Jeff Sothorom   Verizon   301-791-3992   jeffrey.p.sothorom@verizon.com
Jeff Walters   Utiliquest   443-790-0063   Jeff.walters@utiliquest.com
Jim Noha   KCI-Convergent   410-309-7902   james.noha@kci.com
John Berrettini   A/I/DATA   410-685-5091   jberrettini@aidatainc.com
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   240-417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kathy Yadrish   DCI   202-494-2130   kyadrish@dcihq.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   410-365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Martin Wetlzer   Long Fence Co, Inc   240-417-1922   mwetzler@longfence.com
Mike Barton   ABC of Baltimore   443-600-0446   mbarton@abcbaltimore.org
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   443-786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Mike Hickox   S&N   540-717-3394   mhickox@sncommfo.com
Nic Barone   Gray & Son   410-365-5635   nbarone@graynson.com
Pamelo Waltos   MIDASCO   410-579-6729   pwaltos@midasco.net
Rob Cullison   KCI   410-316-7980   rob.cullison@kci.com
Robbie Shaneybrook   Gray & Son   410-977-1506   rstoneybrook@graynson.com
Sterell Stone   NPL   410-355-1083   sstone@gonpl.com
Tammy Carroll   SMECO   301-997-1072   tammy.carroll@smeco.coop
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-933-1137   Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Service   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com