Miss Utility > Damage Prevention Committee > Meeting Minutes
Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
Chairman, Wayne Gilmer (UtiliQuest) Vice Chairman, Kevin Woolbright (WSSC)
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover MD 21076
September 27, 2011
Prepared by Dora Parks

I. Call To Order and Introduction

Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am.
Customary introductions were made.
Minutes of the August 23, 2011 meeting were approved as written.

II. Safety Item

Wayne Gilmer’s monthly safety topic covered a ‘Home Safe Home Checklist’ as distributed by the Maryland Department of Mental Health and Hygiene

III. ONE MARYLAND, INTER COUNTY BROADBAND NETWORK (OMBN and ICBN)

Andre Robinson – Project Manager
Andre Robinson (Howard County) reported the engineering projections phase should be completed by November 2011. Fiber installations have started in Anne Arundel, Baltimore and Prince Georges counties. A public thanks went to Dora Parks (One Call Concepts) for her contributions and assistance in the project. A specific header was created (OMBN) to be used by all excavators connected with this type of fiber installation. Mark Hamrick (Verizon) asked about a damage incident report for this fiber build. Andre stated their PMO maintains the incident reports and they are not public at this time. Andre reported that to date they have had one hit in Prince George’s county where over 8 miles of fiber has been installed. Andre holds regular project meetings with contractors, county personnel and UtiliQuest.

OMBN – ICBN Monthly Projections:

  June July August September October
Allegany 0 5000 5000 0 0
Annapolis 25000 38000 40000 40000 52000
Baltimore City 0 3000 10000 10000 5000
Baltimore County 21000 53000 21000 53000 45000
Charles 3000 7000 22000 20000 7000
Howard 25000 35000 22000 20000 6000
Montgomery 0 0 34000 0 0
Prince George's 30000 52000 67000 67000 25000
Saint Mary's 15000 0 0 0 0

Information regarding the Maryland fiber project can be found at www.onemaryland-icbn.org.

IV. COMMITTEE, LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT AND DIG SMART AWARDS

Chairman, Kevin Woolbright, Co-chair, Dora Parks
Dora Parks reported that Long Fence was selected as the 2010 Dig Smart recipient for both WSMD and DC. Dora stated this is the first time one company has received the award for both service territories. Long Fence has processed over 8000 excavation tickets during 2010; their commitment to safe digging practices, participation in various industry damage prevention forums and meetings in addition to continuing employee safety training has established them as the premier recipient of the annual Dig Smart Award. Long Fence will be recognized for their achievements at the Greater Chesapeake Damage Prevention Training Conference in November. As part of their recognition, Long Fence will receive (4) two night conference packages.

Dora also reported that the Dig Smart announcement will be available on the Miss Utility (www.missutility.net) website early September; all 2010 entries will be listed.

V. COMMITTEE, PRESENTATIONS AND SAFETY EVENTS

Wayne Gilmer reported on the following committee presentations;

  • KCI Convergent Technologies, Hanover, MD on August 30th.
  • D&D Drilling in Woodbine, MD on September 14th.
  • Chesapeake Region Safety Council Conference, Laurel, MD on September 15th.

Future Safety Events are as follows:

  • Forestry Workshop, Westminster, MD on October 7th
  • Paradigm Pipeline Safety Presentations
    • Columbia, MD on October 3rd
    • Upper Marlboro, MD on October 4th
    • Cumberland, MD on October 5th
    • Frederick, MD on October 6th
    • Aberdeen, MD on October 12th
    • Waldorf, MD on October 13th

Wayne Gilmer also reported the Damage Prevention Certificate has been revised to reflect a certificate of attendance.

VI. MGH Update

Nick Kelly stated over 5,000 email recipients received additional GCDPTC information and that www.missutility.net provided conference details. At this time, 260 attendees have registered; the cap is about 325 people. The One Call Concepts ‘811’ bike will be unveiled by Paul Jr. Designs on Wednesday evening during the conference reception.

Nick Kelly presented the new Miss Utility Damage Prevention video and stated all attendees will receive a copy at the GCDPTC. The video is about 7 minutes and will be mailed to excavators as part of a damage prevention kit in addition to being available on the Miss Utility website. There were some general discussions regarding the video, most being positive feedback for a quality production.

Lastly, Nick stated the Excavator Guides are being reprinted as our inventory is nearly exhausted and the Spanish version will be a budgeted item for year 2012.

VII. COMMITTEE, TRADE SHOWS

Future schedules to be announced.

VIII. MARYLAND UNDERGROUND FACILITIES DAMAGE PREVENTION AUTHORITY

Kevin Woolbright (WSSC) reported the Authority will change its meeting date to (tentatively) October 10, 2011. The Authority is;

  • Finalizing the By-Laws,
  • Website is near completion,
  • Applied for Grant monies
  • Authority members and purpose will be discussed at the GCDPTC.

IX. FTTP PROJECTIONS

Mark Hamrick (Verizon) provided the following FTTP trench footage projections:

  October 2011
Anne Arundel 10,023
Baltimore 9,299
Charles 4,296
Harford 28,063
Howard 4,090
Montgomery 57,764
Prince George's 8,426

X. OPEN DISCUSSION

Cal Brooks of Howard County reported that excavators test pitting with post hole diggers resulted in two water hits in the last few weeks. Cal stated this is a safety issue and Howard County will stop crews if they see post hole diggers being used in this manner. Mark Hamrick (Verizon) stated that post hole diggers is not acceptable for test pitting.

Vince Healy (Verizon) reminded the committee of the importance of Washington DC members reporting on their damages.

Upcoming Meetings

The next Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be October 11, 2011 at the Garrett County Visitor’s Center in McHenry, MD at 10:00am. Coffee will be served at 9:30am with a luncheon directly following the meeting.

The next Damage Prevention meeting will be October 25, 2011 at the Miss Utility call center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:30am; the meeting begins at 10:00am.

Note; there will not be a GCDPTC committee meeting on October 25, 2011.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35am.

ITIC % Report for Maryland (Western Shore) and Washington D.C.
Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Sep-10   59,379   44,876   76%
Oct-10   57,137   41,489   73%
Nov-10   52,495   39,481   75%
Dec-10   59,900   46,530   78%
Jan-11   48,309   38,657   80%
Feb-11   47,424   37,759   80%
Mar-11   63,746   48,898   77%
Apr-11   58,723   43,448   74%
May-11   60,267   43,603   72%
Jun-11   63,834   47,059   74%
Jul-11   55,150   40,563   74%
Aug-11   60,073   44,272   74%
Sept-11   56,298   41,599   74%
Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Aaron Bouch   Skyline    
Andre Robinson   OMBN   410-313-1180   arobinson@howardcountymd.gov
Bill Hynes   WGL        
Bill Richards   Lambert Cable Splicing   301-395-2093   Bill.richards@lambertcable.com
Bill Wheeler   Skyline       bwheeler@skylinenet.net
Brian Bendyna   MLUIS   410-808-7323   brian.bendyna@mluisconstruction.com
Cal Brook   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@howardcounty.gov
Christina Bartner   MGH        
Chuck Baker   Verzion   301-502-9340   charles.b.baker.jr@verizon.com
Darren Henson   Baltimore City Water   410-402-4328   darren.henson@baltimorecity.gov
Deena Joyce   WSSC   301-206-8259   djoyce@wsscwater.com
Dell Hanley   Lambert Cable Splicing       dell.hanley@lambertcable.com
Donald Wiles   Absolute Underground   410-768-2607    
Dora Park   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   doraparks@missutility.net
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   443-324-7835   Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Gary Gray   WGL   703-750-4588   ggrayjr@washgas.com
Glenn Goins   A.A. County   410-222-7344   pwgoin01@aacounty.org
Jack Sullivan   BGE   443-677-1411   john.a.sullivan@bge.com
Jay Miranda   Badger Daylighting   202-603-4067   jmiranda@badger-corp.com
Jeff Walters   Utiliquest   443-790-0063   Jeff.walters@utiliquest.com
Jim Noha   KCI-Convergent   410-309-7902   james.noha@kci.com
John Clementson   MD PSC   410-767-8111   jclementson@psc.state.md.us
JW Hall   B. Frank Joy   240-417-0184   halljw@bfjoy.com
Kathy Riley   Absolute Underground   410-768-2607    
Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   240-205-3684   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Lenny Corbin   Gray & Son   410-365-4156   lcorbin@graynson.com
Lisa Hurley   SMECO   410-535-9403   lisa.hurley@smeco.coop
Marc Gilbert   ICBN   410-313-0450   mgilbert@howardcountymd.gov
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Martin Wetlzer   Long Fence Co, Inc   240-417-1922   mwetzler@longfence.com
Mike Barton   ABC of Baltimore   443-600-0446   mbarton@abcbaltimore.org
Mike Burns   Utiliquest   443-786-7994   mike.burns@utiliquest.com
Mike Hickox   S&N   540-717-3394   mhickox@sncommfo.com
Nic Barone   Gray & Son   410-365-5635   nbarone@graynson.com
Nick Kelly   MGH   410-504-8338   nkelly@washgas.com
Rick Mills   Dynamic Concepts   202-480-4888   rmills@dcihq.com
Rob Cullison   KCI   410-316-7980   rob.cullison@kci.com
Sean Davis`   S&N   540-717-3204   sdavis@sncommfo.com
Sterell Stone   NPL   410-355-1083   sstone@gonpl.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-933-1137   Tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Todd Hammond   Concrete General   301-948-4450   safety@concretegeneral.com
Vincent Healy   Verizon   301-791-5690   vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest   301-674-2769   walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com