Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
September 23, 2008
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076


I. Call To Order and Introduction:

Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:30 am.

Introductions were made.

The minutes of August 26, 2008 were approved with a few corrections.

II. Safety Item:

Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on electrical safety.

III. Dig Smart/Locator Achievement Awards:

Next meeting will be held following the October 28, 2008 MD/DC Damage Prevention Meeting.

IV. Contractor Nights:

Chris McMurry (MGH) stated that a mailing was recently sent to the various contractor associations in the state of Maryland and they would be making follow up phone calls in the next couple of weeks as well. 

The next meeting was immediately following the Damage Prevention Meeting.

Please visit http://www.missutility.net/contractornight/ for more details.

V. Damage Prevention Presentations:

Matt Ruddo gave a brief update on the safety presentation held for the City of Bowie on September 9, 2008. He said that Greg Johnson (PEPCO), Mark Hamrick (Verizon) and Jack Sullivan (BGE) assisted with the presentation as well.

Matt Ruddo gave a brief update on the safety presentation he did for Garrett County Government on September 11, 2008 in Oakland, MD.

Wayne gave a brief update on the safety presentation for Associated Building and Contractors (ABC) of Baltimore in Towson, MD. He said Bill Taylor (Verizon) and Jack Sullivan assisted with the presentation as well. Chris McMurry said that he received a nice thank you letter from the ABC of Baltimore and additional presentation would be held in the future.

Wayne also gave a brief update on the upcoming presentations:

  • Long Fence on October 6, 2008 at 1114 MD Rt. 3 North in Crofton, MD
  • ABC of Baltimore on October 23rd at 245 Shawan Road in Hunt Valley, MD

 VI. Trade Shows & Safety Events:

Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on the MD Chesapeake Safety Helath Conference at Martins West in Woodlawn, MD on September 12, 2008

Tom Bladwin (BGE) said that Jack Sullivan gave a safety presentation for Centennial Contractors at their annual safety day at the La Fountain Bleu in Lanham, MD.  

Wayne Gilmer stated that Paradigm Liaison Services plan on holding pipeline safety dinners in the state of Maryland in the coming weeks and he distributed copies of the invitation.

Please visit http://www.pdigm.com/PLS_Schedule.php for more details on the dinners.

Tom Baldwin suggested that we link to their website and Matt Ruddo said he would follow up with them.

A list of the upcoming trade shows are listed below.

Trade show coordinator contact is Nick Kelly of MGH and he can be reached at nkelly@mghus.com or 410-504-8338.

VII. Title 12 Steering Committee:

Tom Baldwin stated that the MDPSC is taking a more active role on the enforcement piece of the proposed MD Law changes and it will be a topic of discussion at the next meeting which will be held September 25th.  .
VIII. MD/DC Subscribers Committee Meeting:

No Report.
IX. FTTP/FIOS Progress Report:

Bill Taylor (Verizon) provided the following FTTP trench footage projections:

Anne Arundel
Baltimore 180,000
Charles 10
Howard 34,000
Montgomery 39,000
Prince George’s 53,000
Harford 0

Mark Hamrick indicated that Charles County will add to the FTTP trench footage projections going forward.

XII. Open Discussion:
Chris McMurry stated that he would provide a 5 minute update on the Miss Utility Diamond Dig promotion at Baysox Stadium at the next MD/DC Damage Prevention Meeting. Wayne said that discs of the Diamond Dig event could be found on the back table for those that are interested in taking one. Chris stated that the event appeared on the front cover of CGA’s latest monthly newsletter.

Chris also said the Miss Utility radio ads have begun running and will continue the next couple of weeks. There was a general discussion about hearing Miss Utility ads for traffic sponsorships and the baseball field conditions on the Orioles radio network. Chris indicated that MGH secured value added spots as part of the media buy negotiations.

Dennis Lescalleet (Pleasants Construction) asked the group when the MD/DC Marking Standards Guide would take effect. Several in attendance stated that the books were just now rolling out and it would probably take some time for utility owners to adopt/implement the new guidelines. Wayne Gilmer indicated that the new books are an additional educational tool and that some utility owners may or may not adopt all the guidelines in the book.

Dennis Lescalleet cited several examples of update tickets having different Ticket Check statuses from the previous processed tickets. He wasn’t sure how a ticket could be statused as “Clear/No Conflict” one time then be statused as “marked” the next time and vice versa. A few individuals in attendance commented that complex and large projects require communication between the excavator’s foreman/supervisor and the locators that visit the site.  Joe Feronti (Utiliquest) offered to speak with Dennis after the meeting to help clear up his concerns.

Tom Baldwin stated that it is very important that a call be made to the facility owner if there are issues with the locating effort.

Kathy Riley (Absolute Underground) expressed concerns with tracer wire not always being installed with communication lines. Bill Taylor (Verizon) said they are implementing a new procedure for tracer wire issues that should address most of her concerns. Bill stated he would talk to Kathy after the meeting to get more specifics.

Upcoming Trade Shows:

Show Name:   Harford LIVE!
Date:   September 27th - 29th
City, State:   Aberdeen, MD
Place:   Ripken Stadium
Website:   www.harfordlive.com/assets/har_live_contract.pdf
Show Name:   Maryland Home & Garden Show
Date:   October 17th - 19th
City, State:   Timonium, MD
Place:   Maryland State Fairgrounds
Website:   www.acshomeshow.com/HGExpo/HAF.html
Show Name:   Suburban Maryland Fall Home Show
Date:   October 24th - 26th
City, State:   Upper Marlboro, MD
Place:   The Show Place Arena
Website:   www.acshomeshow.com/HGExpo/HAF.html


Upcoming Meetings:

The next Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting is scheduled for October 28, 2008 at the Miss Utility Center.  Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am.  The meeting will begin at 9:30 am.  

The 2008 Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be held October 10th and December 12th, 2008 at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:30 am, and the meeting will begin at 10:00 am.  

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:45 am.

ITIC % Report for Maryland and Washington D.C.
Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Aug-07   76,641   54,537   71%
Sep-07   68,418   47,376   69%
Oct-07   74,837   51,712   69%
Nov-07   60,718   42,868   71%
Dec-07   53,677   39,652   74%
Jan-08   58,159   41,586   72%
Feb-08   51,004   36,810   72%
Mar-08   57,239   39,568   69%
Apr-08   63,265   42,709   68%
May-08   60,597   41,305   68%
Jun-08   61,717   42,510   69%
Jul-08   63,231   44,582   71%
Aug-08   58,606   40,823   70%


Attendee List
Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   dora@missutility.net
Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-712-0056   matt@missutility.net
Tom Baldwin   BGE   410-291-3121   t.c.baldwin@bge.com
John Rothe   Southern MD Cable   443-532-7195   jrothe@smcinc.biz
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Dan Wiles   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   dan.wiles@utiliquest.com
Jeff Walters   Utiliquest   443-790-0063   jeff.walters@utiliquest.com
Tom Hastings   OCCLS   3410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Sherell Stone   NPL Construction   410-355-1083   sstone@nplcc.com
Bill Taylor   Verizon   410-916-7726   william.e.taylor.jr@verizon.com
Joe Feronti   Utiliquest   301-343-8762   joe.feronti@utiliquest.com
Raul Torres   Utiliquest   301-343-5224   raul.torres@utiliquest.com
Paul Elwood   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   paul.elwood@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   301-206-8216   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Tony Goodman   Washington Gas   703-750-4708   agoodman@washgas.com
Jay Spence   Mirant Piney Point Pipeline   301-751-6269   james.spence@mirant.com
John Seefriend   Howard County Utility Permits   410-313-5712   jseefried@howardcountymd.gov
Greg Johnson   PEPCO   301-670-8735   gmjohnson@pepco.com
Bernie Bratton   PULS   410-800-7066   bernie.bratton@pulsinc.com
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-54352   cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Chris McMurry   MGH   410-902-5036   cmcmurry@mghus.com
Nick Kelly   MGH   410-504-8338   nkelly@mghus.com
Bill Dow   CableCom     b.dow@att.net
Alice Gilmore   Long Fence   301-350-2400   agilmore@longfence.com
Martin Wetzler   Long Fence   301-350-2400   mwetzler@longfence.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   703-750-4388   ssbrown@washgas.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.