Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
November 27th, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076

  • At 9:25am Wayne Gilmer called the meeting to order. Introductions were made.
  • The previous meeting minutes were reviewed and accepted.
  • Safety Item- Top six winter driving hazards. Maint visibility, black ice, blizzards, good battery in vehicle, stranded in remote areas, first aid kits.
  • MGH Update- Chris McMurray stated there was a meeting on Nov 13th concerning the information for 2008. Chris stated he will have items presented at the next meeting to show the group.
  • Damage Prevention Presentations- Wayne discussed that Matt Ruddo and he will travel and do demonstrations for anyone whom asks. Mark Hamrick discussed the meeting with Trading Post in Southern Md. Wayne and Mark stated that the meeting went very well. Wayne then finished up with discussion on the Gaines and Co meeting, Wayne thanked Tom Balwin and Jack Sullivan for helping out with the presentations.
  • Trade Shows- Wayne discussed the PG County H & G show. Wayne stated the show was very professionally setup. We will attend the next show in the beginning of 2008.
  • Scheduled Trade Shows- No shows scheduled at this time.
  • Dig Smart/ Locator Achievement- Chris stated they are getting started with the locator achievement award ceremony / dinner. There will be mailings for nominations sent out in a couple weeks. There will be a awards banquet at the Columbia Sheraton on April 17th. Dora Parks went over the qualifications needed to be a nominee for the awards.
  • Marking Standards Group- Tom Baldwin and Wayne stated they are waiting for the groups comments. Tom stated they need the information so the subscribers can review and get to Chris (MGH) for printing.
  • Title 12 Steering Committee- Wayne stated they made some progress with the 12-109 bill. All agreed that everyone is working well together. The committee will discuss ticket life at their next meeting. All agreed that the committee is making great strides in completing the tasks set forth
  • MD/ DC Subscribers Committee- Next meeting Dec 6th 10am, Tom Baldwin stated they need to finalize the 2008 budget at the next meeting. Ticket volume is increasing which will allow more $$$ for the budget.
  • FTTP / FIOS Report: Nelson Sneed (Verizon) provided the FTTP/ FIOS progress Report. Nelson stated that the January numbers were probably going to change.
  •   Dec Jan
    Anne Arundel 100,431 104,098
    Baltimore 77,663 55,960
    Howard 11,670 none to report
    Montgomery 2,312 none to report
    Prince George’s 22,678 44,162

    Open Discussion: Tom Baldwin recommended to all locators that flagging the job this time of year is a necessity. Alice Gilmore thanked Wayne with handling the issues she has called Wayne about. Alice works for Long Fence. Alice also stated she was having problems with the locators not locating the area she was calling in. Tom Baldwin and Mark Hamrick gave her advice and contacts to help her through the ticket calling process.

    Meeting adjourned at 10:23am.

    Next Damage Prevention Meeting will be on January 22, 2008 at 9:00 refreshments, 9:30 meeting.

    ITIC % Report for Maryland and Washington D.C.
    Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
    Aug-06   76,513   50,595   66%
    Sep-06   64,581   41,709   65%
    Oct-06   68,748   45,427   66%
    Nov-06   57,801   38,407   66%
    Dec-06   58,388   35,595   68%
    Jan-07   58,657   40,008   68%
    Feb-07   50,152   35,148   70%
    Mar-07   68,632   46,108   67%
    Apr-07   71,453   47,548   67%
    May-07   79,243   53,201   67%
    Jun-07   74,055   50,649   68%
    Jul-07   75,034   52,724   70%
    Aug-07   76,641   54,537   71%
    Attendee List
    Name   Company   Phone   Email
    Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
    Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
    Tom Baldwin   BGE    
    Greg Johnson   PEPCO   301-670-8735   gmjohnson@pepco.com
    Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
    Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   karen.watkins@smeco.coop
    Jim Verga   Eastcom Associates   908-803-0195   jverga@eastcomassoc.com
    Kenton Jones   Verizon   301-230-1056   kenton.l.jones@verizon.com
    Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Services   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
    Sherrell Stone   NPL Construction   410-355-1083   sstone@nplcc.com
    Joe Feronti   Utiliquest   301-343-8762   joe.feronti@utiliquest.com
    Robert Vicks   PEPCO   202-388-2141   rlvicks@pepco.com
    John Seefield   Howard County   410-313-5712   jseefried@howardcountymd.gov
    Vince Floyd   Triple E Utility Serv   800-309-7567   vince.floyd@3eutilityservice.com
    Don Wiles   Triple E Utility Serv   920-378-7335   don.wiles@3eutilityservice.com
    Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-371-3304   tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
    Ken Henkel   S&N   540-717-3380   khenkel@sncommfc.com
    Paul Elwood   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   paul.elwood@utiliquest.com
    Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@howardcountymaryland.gov
    Alice Gilmore   Long Fence   301-350-2400   agilmore@longfence.com
    Nelson Sneed   Verizon    
    Andy Kaldmaa   Long Fence   240-417-1922   akaldmaa@longfence.com
    John Pedone   Raley, Watts & Oneill   443-955-2649   jpedrone@rwoinsurance.com
    Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   301-206-8216   kwooljr@wsscwater.com
    Rick Behrens   Cable Comm   301-595-4707   rbehrens@bellsouth.net
    Chris McMurray   MGH   410-902-5036   cmcmurray@mghus.com
    Scott Brown   Washington Gas    
    Chooser Your State
    2014 Awards
    Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
    © 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.