Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
September 25, 2007

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Don Jones WGL 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Gary Shulties Delmarva Power 410-758-4112 gshulties@delmarva.com
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 karen.watkins@smeco.coop

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD 21076
September 25, 2007

The meeting was called to order at 11:40am by Wayne Gilmer. He suggested that the committee take some time today to discuss how we want the Marking Guidelines booklet to look. Example photos of markings will be needed, as well. Wayne asked the attending reps from WG, SMECO and PEPCO to provide these photos at the next meeting.

Once Kevin Woolbright provides minutes from April '07, Sherell will add those minutes along with January's minutes to the summary of Voted and Accepted Guidelines. October's meeting will be a review of this summary and all photos. This information wil be presented to Chris McMurray with MGH at November's meeting so that this committee will be prepared to submit a final draft to the Subscribers in December.

Wayne suggested that for the front cover, we use the standard black/yellow Miss Utility Colors and the Miss Utility Damage Prevention roll-up display (with backhoe bucket photo). Ken Payne suggested using the back of the Excavator's Guide as the back of the Marking Guidelines booklet.

Wayne will get with Matt with respect to the inclusion of the Del-Marva area when referencing the state wide participation for the entire state of Maryland.

Listing of the response codes was discussed as far as where and how they should be displayed in the booklet. Because the codes may change, Karen Watkins suggested adding "codes are subject to change". See attached for an example of the response code sheet.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:15pm.

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.