Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
July 24, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076

I. Call To Order and Introduction:

Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am.
Introductions were made.

The minutes of June 26, 2007 were approved.

II. Safety Item:

Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on the top four construction hazards. They are: falls, being struck by, caught in between and electrocution.

III. Chris McMurry/MGH Advertising Public Awareness Campaign Update:

Chris McMurry gave an update on the following public awareness initiatives.

  • Contractor nights will be held in four locations in October. Please visit www.missutility.net for more details.
  • 811 messaging as well as other minor changes are being done to the seven and half minute video.
  • The trade show volunteer scheduled will be available August 1. Please contact Stephanie Schneck (MGH Advertising) at sschneck@mghus.com or 410-902-5023 for trade show volunteering.
  • There were 3 examples of the new homeowner brochure that were presented by MGH. The brochure would be done in time for the fall home and garden shows.
  • There was a lengthy discussion about the design of the homeowner brochure and whether to add the 800-257-7777 number to it. Everyone agreed to advertising 811 only and to use the “man and dog” design. There were a few minor changes to the “Frequently asked Question” section of the brochure as well.

IV. New Trade Show/Promotional Items:

Wayne Gilmer distribution samples of the new promotional items that will be ordered prior to the fall 2007 home and garden shows. He said the new items will be easier to carry and won’t take up as much space as some of the current trade show giveaway items. Wayne Gilmer stated that he would talk to the MD/DC Subscribers at the September 2007 meeting about purchasing new director chairs and carpet to compliment the current trade show booth. He said the new items would be lightweight and compactable. He also stated that at a lot of money could be saved by not having to rent carpet because it tends to run around $100 for each show.

V. Safety Events:

Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on the McGrath Contractors Safety Fair held on June 27, 2007 at the Navy Yard in Washington D.C. He stated that approximately 300 people were in attendance.

VI. Trade Shows:

Matt Ruddo gave a brief update on the Maryland Municipal League Convention in Ocean City, MD which was held June 24-27, 2007. He said he received a significant amount of requests for color code cards and brochure.

Wayne Gilmer asked everyone to consider volunteering for the 2007 fall home and garden shows. He said that Stephanie Schneck (MGH) is the lead the person for trade show volunteer schedule and to contact her at 410-902-5023 or sschneck@mghus.com.

VII. Locator Achievement & Dig Smart Awards:

Chris McMurry stated the next meeting will be held sometime during the third week of September and there would be a follow up the first week of November.

VIII. Marking Standards Group:

Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on the June 26, 2007 meeting. He said there was a discussion about the labeling of fiber optic lines by multiple facility owners. He also said the Group would be meeting after the Damage Prevention meeting.

IX. Title 12 Steering Committee:

Wayne Gilmer stated the next meeting would be held on September 5, 2007 in the Miss Utility conference room.

X. MD/DC Subscribers Committee Meeting:

No Report.

XI. FTTP/FIOS Progress Report:

Kenton Jones (Verizon) provided the following twommonth FTTP trench footage projections:

  August September
Anne Arundel 109,009 45,222
Baltimore 175,299 174,152
Howard 53,071 0
Montgomery 11,012 1,899
Prince George’s 123,947 184,338

XII. Open Discussion:

There was a lengthy discussion about the need for contractors to white line jobs and its benefits to damage prevention. If few had indacted that there may be some drawbacks to whiteling, but that it is an excellent tool and will be added as a best practice to the Marking Guidelines Group.

Larry Duncan (Traffic Systems) stated that he is not getting call backs when Code 5’s are statused on his tickets. There was a brief discussion about his concerns and Larry provided more specifics details after the meeting.

Scott Brown (Washington Gas) stated that the Gas Operators of Maryland are developing an informational safety brochure directed at children and digging around gas lines.

Upcoming Damage Prevention Presentations:

None are scheduled at this time.

Upcoming Trade Shows:

Show name:   Maryland Association of Counties
Date:   August 15th - 18th
City, State:   Ocean City, MD
Place:   Ocean City Convention Center
Website:   www.mdcounties.org/events/sc_overview.cfm
Show name:   Chesapeake Region Conference & Expo
Date:   September 14th
City, State:   Baltimore, MD
Place:   Martin's West
Website:   N/A
Show name:   Suburban Maryland Home & Garden Show
Date:   September 14th - 16th
City, State:   Upper Marlboro, MD
Place:   The Show Place Arena
Website:   www.americanconsumershows.com
Show Name:   Harford LIVE!
Date:   September 29th - 30th
City, State:   Aberdeen, MD
Place:   Ripken Stadium
Website:   www.harfordlive.com
Show Name:   Fall Maryland Home & Garden Show
Date:   October 19th - 21st
City, State:   Timonium, MD
Place:   Maryland State Fairgrounds
Website:   www.mdhomeandgarden.com
Show Name:   Fall Montgomery County Home & Garden Show
Date:   October 26th - 28th
City, State:   Germantown, MD
Place:   Discovery Center at Maryland Soccer Plex
Website:   www.americanconsumershows.com

Upcoming Meetings:

The next Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting is scheduled for August 28, 2007 at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am. The meeting will begin at 9:30 am.

The 2007 Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be held September 19th and December 6th at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 8:30 am, and the meeting will begin at 9:00 am.

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:15 am.

ITIC % Report for Maryland and Washington D.C.
Month   Call Center Tickets   ITIC Tickets   Percentage
Jun-06   73,787   47,588   64%
Jul-06   68,103   44,388   65%
Aug-06   76,513   50,595   66%
Sep-06   64,581   41,709   65%
Oct-06   68,748   45,427   66%
Nov-06   57,801   38,407   66%
Dec-06   58,388   35,595   68%
Jan-07   58,657   40,008   68%
Feb-07   50,152   35,148   70%
Mar-07   68,632   46,108   67%
Apr-07   71,453   47,548   67%
May-07   79,243   53,201   67%
Jun-07   74,055   50,649   68%




Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Zenon Sushko   MDPSC   410-767-8113   zsushko@psc.state.md.us
Robert Timon   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   rtimon@pleasants.org
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-712-0056   matt@missutility.net
Tom Baldwin   BGE   410-291-3121   t.c.baldwin@bge.com
Paul Kwiatkowski   Anne Arundel Co.   443-744-7112   pwkwia18@aacounty.org
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Kelly Hardy   Consolidated Utility Services   410-310-8412   kelly.hardy@cusinc.com
Kenton Jones   Verizon   301-230-1056   kenton.l.jones@verizon.com
Tom Hastings   OCC Locating Services   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Sherrell Stone   NPL Construction   410-355-1083   sstone@nplcc.com
Chris McMurry   MGH Advertising   410-902-5036   cmcmurry@aghus.com
Robert Vicks   PEPCO   202-388-2141   rlvicks@pepco.com
Veronica Rozier   Utiliquest   301-356-1566   veronica.rozier@utiliquest.com
Larry Duncan   Traffic Systems   443-557-0025   lduncansr@cablespeed.com
Karen Stelmach   Traffic Systems   443-557-0025   lduncansr@cablespeed.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   703-750-4388  
Tony Goodman   Washington Gas   703-750-4708  
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-371-3304   tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@howardcountymd.gov
Sean Davis   S&N   540-717-3204   sdavis@sncommfc.com
Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   301-206-8216   kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Erik Phillips   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   erik.phillips@utiliquest.com
Paul Elwood   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   paul.elwood@utiliquest.com
John Payne   Southern MD Cable   410-867-7577   jpayne@smcinc.biz
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   dora@missutility.net
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.