Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
July 24, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Shawn Breen Verizon 410-303-3987 shawn.p.breen@verizon.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
John F. Payne Southern MD Cable 410-867-4340 jpayne@smcinc.biz
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Dena Walters OCCLS 410-712-0544 dena@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Gregory Johnson Pepco 301-670-8735 gmjohnson@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
David Turner Colonial Pipeline 410-781-7110 dturner@colpipe.com
Calvin Mustgrove AA County DPW pmwusg62@aacounty.org
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Robert Timon Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 rtimon@pleasants.org
John Eichorn Comcast john_eichorn@cable.comcast.com
Kathy Riley Absolute kathyaui@cablespeed.com
Matt Ruddo Miss Utility matt@missutility.net
Scott Brown Washington Gas ssbrown@washgas.com
Gary Shulties Delmarva Power 410-758-4112 gshulties@delmarva.com
Tony Goodman Washington Gas agoodman@washgas.com
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 karen.watkins@Smeco.coop
Norman Moore SMECO 410-535-9409 Norman.Moore@Smeco.coop
Michael Jewell Columbia Gas/MD 240-420-2026 mjewell@Nisource.com
Zenon Sushko Columbia Gas/MD 410-767-8113 zsushko@psc.state.md.us
Kevin Woolbright WSSC 301-206-8216 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Joe Wilkinson Verizon 301-904-6024 joseph.a.wilkinson@verizon.com
Alex Baquie AA County 410-222-7340 alexbaquie@aacounty.org
Paul Elwood Utiliquest 302-363-0744 paul.elwood@utiliquest.com

The meeting began at 11:40am with introductions of attendees.
Paul Elwood from Utiliquest has taken a seat on this committee since he has replaced Kelly Hardy.
Consensus was reached by the committee that Kelly Hardy, although not working for Utiliquest at this time will remain on this committee. The committee welcomes his years of experience and knowledge. However, since he is not employed by a stakeholder, he would not have voting privileges.
Paul Elwood asked what the objective of this committee was. Tom Baldwin explained that this group is creating Marking Guidelines/ Best Practices that possibly could be driven in to law. Wayne added that Virginia’s Best Practices have been made in to law and are strictly enforced by the PSC.
Wayne suggested that the group review the “voted & accepted” definitions in their spare time and suggested the topic of white lining for discussion.
Tom Hastings from OCC said that white lining allows the excavator to survey the job site before the work begins and hopefully before the ticket is called in. He added that it has been known to cut down on paint graffiti calls from homeowners.
The committee discussed whether or not to make white lining mandatory or should it be referred to as a best practice.
Tim Kempa stated that he has used white lining and thought that it was a positive approach all around. He asked what the downsides are.
Tom Baldwin said that in busy metro area, the white lines are hard to differentiate due to congestion.
Wayne suggested that the committee review the following and complete final discussions on white lining at the next meeting:
White Lining
White lining is a widely suggested best practice for proposed excavations.

Definition:
When utilizing white lining, a clear footage definition of radius (in feet) around the white paint markings should be established in the ticket instructions for utility markings involving single point excavations, such as: signs, poles, pole bases, anchors, drilling, blasting etc.; or continuous excavation, such as: trenching, plowing, boring, grading etc. When white lining is not practical, other means of area of excavation descriptions can be used, such as site meetings, documents transfers, etc.

The meeting adjourned at 1:15pm

Next meeting will be held at the One Call Center on Tuesday, August 28, 2007 immediately following the Damage Prevention Meeting.

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.