Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
March 27, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne began the meeting by addressing a question: Tim Kempa asked the committee what the reasonable distance should be between marks. The committee replied that typically the marks should be 2’ to 12’ apart. Tim said that he is dealing with an issue where the marks were 25’ apart. The committee feels as a whole, that excavators should be using safe digging practices. Both Tom Baldwin and Wayne insisted that the distance between the marks should be site specific. (Referred back to mtg. of 6/27/06 and agreed 100%).
The minutes from the mtg. of 2/27/07 were reviewed and accepted by all. Wayne asked that at our next meeting, the committee addresses “Joint Trench” as a topic. The labeling of each individual utility was brought up for discussion. Tom Baldwin emphasized the importance of knowing what utility an excavator is digging over and that consistency in the designation is important. He suggested that we adopt the “Material Type Abbreviations” from Va.’s Marking Standards, but make a few changes: Add PCCP-Prestressed Concrete Cylinder Pipe. The committee voted 100% in favor of:

Material Type Abbreviations
CI....................Cast Iron
CPR..................Copper
DI....................Ductile Iron
PL....................Plastic
PVC..................Polyvinyl Chloride
RFC..................Reinforced Concrete
SCC..................Steel Cylinder Concrete
STL..................Steel
TC....................Terracotta
TR....................Transite
W/STL..............Wrapped Steel
PCCP.................Prestressed Concrete Cylinder Pipe

Finally, the committee brought up the topic of labeling of fiber optics to be discussed at a later date.
The meeting was adjourned at 2pm.
The next Marking Guidelines meeting will be held on April 24, 2007 immediately following the MD/DC Damage Prevention meeting.

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Gregory Johnson Pepco 301-670-8735 gmjohnson@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
Robert Timon Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 rtimon@pleasants.org
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 karen.watkins@Smeco.coop
Kevin Woolbright WSSC 301-206-8216 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.