Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
February 27, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne opened the meeting with distribution of minutes of the previous meeting held on January 23, 2007.
Ken Payne made a motion to accept the minutes.
Ken Payne stated that he did not receive the minutes from the last meeting. His e-mail address was verified.
Ken brought up for discussion the topic of where public utilties end and private utilities begin. Mark Hamrick said that this issue is seen in the campus environment and that a mark of a “T” is used and that communication is the key. Tom Hastings reminded the committee that the code of 9 is to be utilized. Tom Baldwin stated that a “T” is used for a crossing or a bull-nose. Wayne raised the question, “Do we want to identify where public ends and private begins? Tom Baldwin stated in reference to the status of 9, that the real truth is that the excavator usually does not have the response ticket on site, but is given the clear to dig by someone in the office. Wayne suggested that only when known should a locator identify the end of public utilities. Tom Baldwin suggested that this be marked with a box and “PRIV” inside of the box. Sewer laterals came up as an issue. Dennis Lescaleet asked if the manifest will show the symbol of the box and PRIV. After more discussion as to how the box would be interpreted by an excavator, the committee voted 100% in favor of the following:

Where practical, the utility locator may indicate the existence of private utilities by the label:

Meeting adjourned at 12:45pm.
The next meeting will follow the MD/DC Damage Prevention Meeting of March 27, 2007.

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 karen.watkins@Smeco.coop
Carolyn Lehman Verizon 410-373-4012 carolyn.lehman@verizon.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.