Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
January 23, 2007
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne opened the meeting with distribution of minutes of the previous meeting held on November 28, 2006. Dennis Lescalleet asked that we note change from Pleasants Excavating to Pleasants Construction. Mark Hamrick asked that Dave Dubs be removed from the list of committee members because he is no longer with Networx. After noting these changes and reviewing the minutes, Wayne confirmed that the minutes were acceptable.

Moving forward in 2007, Wayne suggested that the committee should re-cap all meetings held in 2006 and compile all votes into one document. Wayne touched on specific highlights of each meeting and asked that we plan an agenda for course of action for the next several meetings. Mark suggested we begin with the subject of labeling noting “cleared areas” (or no utilities in area) should be addressed, too. Tom Baldwin suggested that the labeling of multiple cables, joint trench be discussed. White lining was proposed by Kelly Hardy as a topic to be discussed. Mark agreed. Tom commented that it may “muddy the waters” for this “Best Practices” committee. Karen Watkins referred to Va.’s marking standards and commented that they are addressed on one specific page. Wayne stated that maybe the “Chapter 12” group can put some emphasis on this subject. For this committee, we agreed that white lining should be referred to as a best practice (maybe with the opening introduction of the booklet).

Another area suggested to be addressed by Kelly was private facilities. This brought up discussions on responsibility of where private lines begin and demarcation showing where public ends and private begins. Tom reminded the committee that we should keep our scope on “a guide for excavator’s use”. Several committee members questioned whether or not some or all of the propositions made here would have the ability to be changed in to law. The meeting adjourned at 1:25pm.

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Dena Walters OCCLS 410-712-0544 dena@occls.com
Gregory Johnson Pepco 301-670-8735 gmjohnson@pepco.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 karen.watkins@Smeco.coop
Kevin Woolbright WSSC 301-206-8216 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Alex Baquie AA County 410-222-7340 alexbaquie@aacounty.org
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.