Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
September 26, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne opened the meeting with introductions.

The Meeting Minutes from the August 22, 2006 meeting were reviewed and accepted. Contact information was corrected and verified.

Definition change: We are all in agreement of the marking for visual perimeter of a facility shall be a solid line and the facility owners can establish the size of the Safe Hand dig Zone. The recommended title is Perimeter Markings of Structures / Hand Dig Zone. A definition should be included. Visual facility structures that are on or beneath the surface, examples included but not limited to are manholes, underground tanks, poles, communication pedestals, gas and electric structures, vaults, water and sewer facilities, etc. While working in the proximity of an identified underground structure, it is incumbent upon it is the responsibility of the excavator to positively identify the outermost edges of the structure by hand or by vacuum excavation equipment or call the facility owner for assistance. Tim Kempa recommended the following: In referencing below ground structures, the structure will be identified by a minimum of a 3x3 box with arrows extending from each corner, see fig. 1-1. Regarding above ground structures, perimeter size is to be established by the utility owner. Within any established perimeter, identification of the outermost edges shall be determined by hand or vacuum excavation.

Figure 1-1

VOTE ON CHANGED VERBAGE: 13/13 PASSED

Typical service sizes [¼”, 3/8”, ½”, ¾”, 1”, 1 ¼”, 1 ½”, 1 ¾”, 2”, 3”]
Below 4”, shall be identified by a single marking.

4”, 6”, 8”, 10”, 12”, 16”, 18”, 20”, 22”, 24”, 30”, 40”, 42”, 48” and above
4” and above, shall be identified by a designated corridor pipe marking, see figure 1-2.

Figure 1-2

NOTE: Gas mains, electric transmission lines, water mains, sewer mains, 4” and above are considered high profile.

This matter will be revisited at the October 24 Marking Standards Meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 1:40 PM.

Next Meeting after the MD/DC Damage Prevention Meeting, October 24, 2006.

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-674-2769 Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tim VanCleve Verizon 410-303-3983 timothy.m.vancleve@verizon.com
Shawn Breen Verizon 410-737-4042 Shawn.p.breen@verizon.com
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0202 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2137 khpayne@pepco.com
Christy Stinebaugh Verizon 410-737-4150 Christy.m.stinebaugh@verizon.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-610-1371 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest 410-536-0071 Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-5510 djones@washgas.com
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Construction, Inc 301-370-7286 dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 Tim_Kempa@cable.comcast.com
Denise Collins Networx, Inc. 410-414-8494 dcollins@networxusa.com
Dave Dubs Networx, Inc 703-989-1715 ddubs@networxusa.com
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 Karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Gary Shulties Delmarva Power 410-758-4112 gary.shulties@delmarva.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.