Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
July 25, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076

I. Call To Order and Introduction:
Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:40 am.
Introductions were made.

The minutes of June 27, 2006 were approved.

II. Safety Events:
Wayne Gilmer gave a brief update on the McGrath Safety Fair in California, MD on July 20th. He stated that it was a well attended event and that he gave out a lot of brochures and tip cards. He said that Matt Ruddo (Miss Utility) would be attending another one for McGrath on July 26th in the District of Columbia.

Wayne said that he and Matt are going to be attending a safety day and damage prevention presentation for Childs Landscape Contractors on August 4th at Sandy Point State Park in Annapolis, MD. He also said they would be taking the trade show booth and passing out materials at the Frederick County Employee Picnic on August 3rd.

III. Trade Shows:
Matt Ruddo attended the June 25th-28th Maryland Municipal League Convention in Ocean City, MD with Tony Gersitz of USPCD. He stated that several cities and towns contacted him after the Convention requesting color code cards, tip cards, brochures, etc. Matt also said he would be attending the Maryland Association of Counties Summer Conference in Ocean City, MD from August 16th-19th with Tony Gersitz.

Several trade shows are scheduled this fall and volunteers would be needed to work the trade show booth. Wayne asked everyone to contact him, Lisa Howard or Matt Ruddo if they could spare a few hours to work a shift.

IV. Locator Achievement & Dig Smart Awards:
Tom Baldwin stated that a Locator Achievement/Dig Smart Awards meeting would be held in September to gear up for the 2006 Awards. He gave a brief history of the Awards and the qualifications necessary to become a winner. He stated that he is looking for volunteers from all stakeholder groups between now and when the committee meets.

V. Marking Standards Committee:
Wayne Gilmer stated that the Marking Standards Committee is made up of all stakeholder groups and their goal is to come to a consensus on common marking standards for all types of underground facilities. He said that the Committee will meet monthly following the damage prevention meetings.

A few had suggested that the Marking Standard Committee meeting minutes be added to the Miss Utility website. Matt Ruddo said that he would post the previous meeting minutes, but he needed them electronically. Wayne stated that he would email the minutes to Matt.

VI. Contractor Events:
Matt Ruddo stated that two contractor events are scheduled for October 17th and 19th in the Hughesville and Laurel areas of Maryland. He said the events are being funded by the money the MDPSC received from the Federal Office of Pipeline Safety. He said the events would consist of a guest speaker, dinner, Miss Utility Presentation and door prizes. He also stated that Subscribers who have facilities in the Hughesville and Laurel areas of Maryland would have the opportunity to promote their companies by having a trade show booth or table on the evening of the event.

VII. FTTP/FIOS Progress Report:
Verizon provided the following trench footage projections which will remain the same for August and September;

AA County 140,000 feet
Howard County 140,000 feet
PG 220,000 feet

Pat Knickman (Verizon) stated that on average they are receiving 3,000 FIOS orders every 8 to 10 business days. He indicated that video service should be available in early August for Anne Arundel County and that parts of Bowie should have it in the middle to late part of August. He said that the locators should anticipate a 15% to 20% increase in ticket volumes in these areas.

VII. Open Discussion:
Representatives from Penn Line Service expressed concerns with MDSHA not being a member of Miss Utility. Robyn Showalter (Penn Line Service) wanted to know what they are doing wrong and what the Dig Smart winners are doing right. She said it would be a good idea to schedule a Miss Utility presentation for their employees. Tom Baldwin stated that the Dig Smart winners demonstrate proactive damage prevention programs by test pitting to verify the marks are accurate, have zero at fault damages, attend the monthly damage prevention meetings, hold company sponsored safety days, utilize ITIC and Ticket Check and follow all CGA best practices.

Wayne told Robyn that the Miss Utility presentations are offered free of charge and that folks would come to their office to provide the training. Tom Baldwin also said that safety training videos can be rented free of charge by visiting the lending library section of the Miss Utility website.

Tony Goodman (Washington Gas) expressed concerns with a telecommunications contractor installing yellow conduit in front of one of their buildings. He urged contractors to make sure they are installing the proper color coded conduit so that confusion and delays could be avoided when utility owners attempt to identify their facilities.

Tom Baldwin stated that the 30 minute Miss Utility program was completed and should be airing on the various local Maryland County access channels in the very near future. He said the program consists of the videos from Miss Utility, BGE and Underground Focus.

There was another general discussion about the challenges of working around MDSHA lines and the issues everyone has with them not being member of Miss Utility. Tom Baldwin stated that MDSHA claims that they don’t need to be a member because anyone that excavates in the MDSHA right-of-way needs to have a permit.

Upcoming Damage Prevention Presentations:
4th Childs Landscape Safety Day at Sandy Point State Park in Annapolis, MD

Upcoming Trade shows:

  • 26th McGrath Contractors Safety Fair at the US Navy Yard in Washington DC


  • 3rd Frederick County Employee Picnic at the Middletown Community Park in Frederick, MD
  • 4th Childs Landscape Safety Day at Sandy State Point Park in Annapolis, MD
  • 16th-19th Maryland Association of Counties Summer Conference at the Roland Powell Convention Center in Ocean City, MD


  • 30th & Oct. 1st Harford Live Home & garden Show at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, MD


  • 20th-22nd Fall Maryland Home and Garden Show at the Timonium Fairgrounds in Timonium, MD
  • 27th-29th Suburban Maryland Fall Home & Garden Show at the Show Place Arena in Upper Marlboro, MD

Upcoming Meetings:

The next Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting is scheduled for August 22, 2006 at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am. The meeting will begin at 9:30 am.

The next Maryland/DC Marking Standards Committee will meet immediately following the Damage Prevention Meeting. Lunch will be available for those that attend.

The Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be held September 6, 2006 at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 8:30 am, and the meeting will begin at 9:00 am.

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:25 am.

Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tom Hastings   OCCLS   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-712-0056   matt@missutility.net
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-371-3304   Tim_kempa@cbale.comcast.com
Don Drenning   Penn Line Service   724-887-9110    
Mike Berzansky   Penn Line Service   724-887-9110    
Nancy Stull   Penn Line Service   724-887-2106   nancys@pennline.com
Robyn Showalter   Penn Line Service   724-887-2118   robyn@pennline.com
Robert Timon   Pleasants Construction   301-428-0800   rtimon@pleasants.org
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952   cbrooks@co.ho.md.us
Tim Van Cleve   Verizon   410-303-3923   Timothy.m.vancleve@verizon.com
G. M. Johnson   PEPCO   301-670-8735   gmjohnson@pepco.com
Jay Spence   Mirant Piney Point LLC   301-751-6269   James.Spence@mirant.com
Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   Karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Lyle Bolyard   MDM   443-324-3649   L.Bolyard@mdm.net
Brian Sink   S&N Communications   301-874-8773   bsink@sncommfo.com
Kevin Woolbright   WSSC   301-206-8216    
Kelly Hardy   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Denise Collins   Networx, Inc.   410-414-8494   dcollins@networxusa.com
Mike Collins   Networx, Inc   410-414-8494   mc@networxusa.com
Dave Dubs   Networx, Inc.   703-989-1715   ddubs@netwroxusa.com
Sean Davis   S&N   240-285-8875   sdavis@sncommfo.com
Albert Thomas   Millennium Cable   443-871-0386   athomas@mdm.net
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   dora@missutility.net
Rick Behrens   CableCom   916-712-5028   rlbehrens@bellsouth.net
Pat Knickman   Verizon   410-224-9270   Patrick.p.knickman@verizon.com
Bill Hymes   WGL   703-408-6536    
Tony Goodman   WGL   703-750-4708   agoodman@washgas.com
Scott Brown   WGL   703-750-4338   ssbrown@washgas.com
Alex Baquie   A.A. County   410-222-7340   pwbaquill@aacounty.org
Andrew McCorison   Verizon   410-224-3894   Andrew.c.mccorison@verizon.com
Joe Feronti   Utiliquest   301-343-8767   Joe.feronti@utiliquest.com
Norman Moore   SMECO   443-532-5774   Norman.moore@smeco.coop
Dave Roberts   Utiliquest   240-447-3601   Dave.roberts@utiliquest.com
Kelly Hardy   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Nelson Sneed   Verizon   301-230-5050   Nelson.sneed@verizon.com
Bob Norman   Utiliquest   410-536-0700   Bob.norman@utiliquest.com
Vic Giordani   NTI   410-796-7770   vgiordani@trenching.com
Ken Payne   PEPCO   202-388-2137   khpayne@pepco.com
Mario Beiiaty   Dalcon Construction   410-528-2760   Mario@dalconconstruction.com
Tanya Pettie   Dalcon Construction   410-528-2760   Tanya@dalconconstruction.com
Gary Shulties   Delmarva Power   410-758-4112   Gary.shulties@delmarva.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.