Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
July 25, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the meeting to order at 11:10am.

Introductions of attendees were made.

The minutes of meeting held June 27, 2006 were approved.

Wayne asked everyone to double check the spelling of their email addresses on the minutes to make sure he has them correct.  A few had indicated that they had issues opening up the attachment. Tom Baldwin suggested that everyone use Microsoft Word to open the document.

There was a general discussion about the length of the Marking Standards Committee meetings. Everyone agreed that the meeting should end at 12:30 pm, but that it could go until 1:00 pm if need be. Wayne stated that lunch would be provided since the meetings would run past noon.

There was a lengthy discussion on developing the definition and symbol/style for conduit markings.

Kelly Hardy proposed the following conduit marking definition: “Conduit markings shall be used when identifying any multiple cabled or piped facilities, in the confines of the same trench that are encased or contained inside an external structure other than its manufactured sheathing or coating. This should exclude direct buried fiber optics.” Everyone voted 100% in favor of the definition.

Kelly Hardy demonstrated the four different styles of conduit markings. Norman Moore asked Kelly how the colors would be handled for multiple facility owners in one conduit run. Tom Baldwin stated that the colors are changed every few feet to let the excavator know that multiple facilities are present. Several committee members proposed that the “H” marking style be used for conduit markings. A few indicated that APWA had adopted the “H” marking style for corridor marks, but it was agreed that the committee would use it for conduit marks. Everyone voted 100% in favor of the marking style.

There was a lengthy discussion on developing the definition and symbol/style for corridor markings. Mike Collins expressed concerns with the frequent use of corridor marks. He believes that locators are using the marks to cover themselves and it is slowing down his crews. A few indicated that the locator’s supervisor or someone from management should be contacted when there are incidences that corridor marks are being used unnecessarily. Tom Baldwin stated that most of the contractors working for BGE have purchased locating equipment in the interest of damage prevention. Mike stated that he has purchased locating equipment as well.

Norman Moore stated that examples of the various types of markings and the reasons why they would be utilized needs to be a part of the marking standards manual. Wayne said that the manual will include an explanation and description for each type of mark.

The committee voted 100% in favor of the following definition for corridor marks: “Corridor markings are any structure that has a diameter that is greater than 4 inches and shall be used when identifying any multiple cabled or piped facilities, in the confines of the same trench that are not encased or contained inside an external structure other than its manufactured sheathing or coating. This should include direct buried fiber optics.”

Wayne demonstrated the different styles of corridor marks and the issues locators face with the way utility lines are placed in the joint buried trench.

There was a general discussion about what color should be used for the outside portion of the corridor marks. A few stated that the outside corridor mark, regardless of its color, is there to determine the width of the trench and that the contractor still must hand dig within 18 inches off the outside of the mark.

After further debate it was agreed that the symbol/style and the color of the outside corridor mark could not be agreed upon by the committee and it would be discussed at the next marking standards meeting.

Wayne Gilmer read an email from Alex Baquie with regards to the use of paint on hard surfaces in residential areas. There was a general discussion about how long paint should last and the need for paint manufactures to come up with a solution.

UPCOMING MEETINGS

Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting will be held on Tuesday July 25, 2006 at 9:30am at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00am. The Maryland/DC Marking Standards Committee meeting will follow Damage Prevention meeting and lunch will be provided.

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 12:45pm.

Attendee List
Name Company Fax Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-210-0894 Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tim VanCleve Verizon 410-303-3983 Timothy.m.vancleve@verizon.com
Shawn Breen Verizon 410-303-3987 Shawn.p.breen@verizon.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
John F. Payne Southern MD Cable 410-867-4340 jpayne@smcinc.biz
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Christy Stinebaugh Verizon 410-737-4056 Christy.m.stinebaugh@verizon.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
David Turner Colonial Pipeline 410-781-7110 dturner@colpipe.com
Calvin Mustgrove AA County DPW   Pmwusg62@aacounty.org
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Escavating   dlesalleet@pleasants.org
John Eichorn Comcast   John.eichorn@cable.comcast.com
Kathy Riley Absolute Underground   kathyaui@cablespeed.com
Kevin Woolbright WSSC 301-206-8216 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo Miss Utility   matt@missutility.net
Scott Brown Washington Gas   ssbrown@washgas.com
Gary Shulties Delmarva Power 410-758-4112 Gshulties@Delmarva.com
Tony Goodman Washington Gas   agoodman@washgas.com
Jim Jennings OCCLS 443-783-4211 Jimmy@OCC.com
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 Karen.Watkins@Smeco.coop
Norman Moore SMECO 410-535-9409 Norman.Moore@Smeco.coop
Dave Dubs NETWORX 703-989-1715 DDubs@NETWORXUSA.com
Zenon Sushko MDPSC 410-767-8113 Zshushko@PSC.STATE.MD.US
Mike Collins NETWORX 410-414-8494 MC@NETWORXUSA.com
Denise Collins NETWORX 410-414-8494 dcollins@NETWORXUSA.com
Tim Kempa Comcast 410-371-3304 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Alex Baquie A.A. County 410-222-7340 tim_kempa@cable.comcast.com
Robert L. Timon Pleasants Construction 301-428-0800 rtimon@pleasants.org
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.