Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
June 27, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076

I. Call To Order and Introduction:
Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35am.
Introductions of attendees were made.
The minutes of meeting held May 23, 2006 were approved.

II. SPECIAL PRESENTATION
Kelly Ruddo (One Call Concepts, Inc.) and Sonia Miles (One Call Concepts, Inc.) gave a presentation on the new web based product; National Ticket Management System (NTMS) and the improvements made to Search and Status and Ticket Check.

NTMS – the four components of this system are;

  • Positive Response – Ticket Check
  • Search and Status
  • Excavator Ticket Management (future)
  • Member Ticket Management (future)

NTMS can provide the ability to status the Ticket Check system from a desktop application or via the web. Users will be able to change their contact information for tickets displayed on Search and Status. The ability to view and sort tickets will be available. Kelly stated this new system would allow an expansion of searchable fields regarding Search and Status and invited the members to provide their ideas for what these fields should be. This new platform will open the doors to many future enhancements.

Ticket Check and Search and Status were moved to a single database system on June 20, 2006 and as a result of that move, afforded the following:

  • Excavators have real time access of Ticket Check member coding
  • Ensures 100% accuracy for Search and Status and Ticket Check data

Kelly also provided insight to the issues resulting from this cutover. Some members received Ticket Check No Responses on Emergency tickets. Some members received pre-mature No Responses on Insufficient and Short Notice tickets. Manual coding had problems with accessing some ticket numbers and recognizing some member access authorization codes. There were a few member firewall issues that were being dealt with.

Mark Hamrick stated he appreciated the center notice and communications regarding the cutover issues.
There were some general conversations as to what the new system would allow, such as;

  • Set up member user preferences within cookies.
  • Being able to log a Ticket Check code discrepancy on line.
  • Emailed reporting.
  • Expanding the date range for Search and Status.

Tom Baldwin (BGE) suggested a sub committee be formed to discuss future aspects of Search and Status and Ticket Check.

III. DAMAGE PREVENTION PRESENTATIONS
Wayne Gilmer stated that the MOSH presentation on June 14, 2006 was attended by 35 to 40 persons and was well received. Information regarding improved damage investigating, education, partnership and the importance of test pitting was provided.

A second presentation was provided to Corman Construction on June 20, 2006. Tom Baldwin stated there were about 120 attendees and the discussions revolved around the aspects of safe digging and the purpose of Miss Utility.

Wayne Gilmer stated that Matt Ruddo was attending the Maryland Municipal League Convention in Ocean City (June 25 – 28, 2006) and would report on that trade show at the July meeting.

IV. LOCATOR ACHIEVEMENT & DIG SMART AWARDS
Dora Parks (Miss Utility) stated the Miss Utility website has posted information regarding the awards for the 2005 Locator Achievements and the excavator Dig Smart awards and provided copies of the website information. The website also included information on the Awards Banquet, complete with pictures of the keynote speaker, Earl Lewis, Jr. (Assistant Secretary of the MD Dept. of Transportation) and the Dig Smart winners and the Utiliquest Locator Achievement winners. Dora provided an overview of the awards purpose and benefits. Each year, enhancements to the program have been implemented and will continue into the awards program for 2006.

V. NEW BUSINESS
Marking Standards Committee: Wayne Gilmer provided a handout for group feedback regarding the committee’s progress regarding acceptable identification of buried utility plant. The next committee meeting will be held directly following the Damage Prevention Meeting.

Vehicle Signage: Wayne Gilmer passed around a sample of what New York and Virginia are using as vehicle signage to promote safe excavation. There was a brief conversation regarding possible utility specifications regarding additional vehicle signs. No conclusions at this point in time.

VI. CONTRACTOR EVENT
Lisa Howard was not available for comment; Wayne Gilmer will contact her.

VII. FTTP /FIOS REPORT
Ken Rupert (Verizon FTTP) provided the following county projections which will be the same for July, August and September;

AA County 140,000 feet
Howard County 140,000 feet
PG 220,000 feet

Ken stated that as of June 24, 2006, Verizon had installed 477,000 feet of a projected 500,000 feet for the month of June. Additionally, as of June 27th, nothing has been projected for Baltimore County.

Pat Knickman (Verizon FIOS) stated they have secured the video franchises in Howard County and City of Bowie in PG County. They have a tentative date of July 5, 2006 for Anne Arundel County. Pat said that Verizon is receiving about 9,000 FIOS requests per month.

VIII. OPEN DISCUSSION
Alex Dankanich (DOT/PHMSA) talked about the benefits of becoming a regional partner with CGA and provided some website handouts. Alex stated damage prevention is the number one issue for CGA and invited the committee to visit their website; www.commongroundalliance.com to learn more about Best Practices, data reporting, education, OCSI and membership. He reported that USPCD had joined the CGA organization.

Dennis Lescalleet (Pleasants Construction) stated he was not having much success in finding material on certification requirements for operating backhoes, skid steers and other heavy equipment. He contacted OSHA and reported they stated certification is not enforceable. Wayne Gilmer offered Safety Council of Maryland and Priority One Consultants. There may be a fee for their educational and certification services. Tom Baldwin offered; MOSH for educational materials and to contact local contractor associations for feedback on this issue.

Tim Vancleve (Verizon) inquired about the possibility of having the Miss Utility website converted to Spanish. A general discussion regarding the benefit of such a costly venture ensued. For now, this inquiry has been tabled.

IX. UPCOMING MEETINGS
Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting will be held on Tuesday July 25, 2006 at 9:30am at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00am.

Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be held on Wednesday September 6, 2006 at 9:00am at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 8:30am.

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:10am.

Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Jimmy Jennings   OCCLS   410-712-0202   jimmy@occ.com
John Eichhorn   Comcast   410-513-0450   John_Eichhorn@cable.comcast.com
Joe Shelton   B. Frank Joy LLC   301-699-6002   jshelton@bfjoy.com
Tom Baldwin   BGE   410-291-3121   T.C.Baldwin@BGE.com
Jay Spence   Mirant   301-751-6269   James.Spence@mirant.com
John Payne   Southern MD Cable   410-867-7577   jpayne@smcinc.biz
Ken Rupert   Verizon   301-931-2600   Kenneth.e.rupert@verizon.com
Joe Burton   P.H.R.A.   410-313-4652    
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952    
Beverly Walsh   RRG/SCHOA   410-654-4444   bwelsh@residential-realty.com
Norman Moore   SMECO   443-532-5774   Norman.moore@smeco.coop
Z. Sushko   MDPSC   410-767-8113   zsushko@psc.state.md.us
Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   Karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Joe Feronti   Utiliquest   301-343-8762   Joe.feronti@utiliquest.com
Bob Norman   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   Bob.norman@utiliquest.com
Alex Baquie   AA County   410-222-7344   pwbaquie@aacounty.org
Kelly Hardy   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Rick Behrens   CableCom   301-595-4704   rlbehrens@bellsouth.net
Sherell Stone   NPL   410-355-1083   sstone@nplcc.com
Dave Dubs   Networx, Inc.   703-989-1715   ddubs@netwroxusa.com
Sean Davis   S&N   240-285-8875   sdavis@sncommfo.com
Vic Giordani   NTI   410-796-7770   vgiordani@trenching.com
Dennis Lescalleet   Pleasants Construction   301-370-7286   dlescalleet@pleasants.org
Ron Rose   Anne Arundel Co.   410-222-7344    
Pat Knickman   Verizon   410-224-9270   Patrick.p.knickman@verizon.com
Paul Gibbs   Verizon   410-768-4082   Milton.p.gibbs@verizon.com
Tony Goodman   Washington Gas   703-750-4708   agoodman@washgas.com
Scott Brown   Washington Gas   703-750-4388   ssbrown@washgas.com
Alex Dankanich   DOT/Pipeline Safety   202-260-8518   Alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Dora Parks   Miss Utility   410-782-2026   dora@missutility.net
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.