Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
June 27, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne began the meeting by verifying contact information and attendance
Error: Dennis Lescalleet is missing “C” in name for e-mail address.
For the record: K. Woolbright, M. Jewell, D. Collins, K. Riley, C. Musgrove, D. Jones and T. Goodman were not present for this meeting.

Reviewed committee’s operating procedures as they apply to attendance. Kathy Riley has missed two meetings and will bee contacted by Kelly Hardy and reminded that her attendance is important.
Tom Baldwin made some points about the commitment to attend the meetings.

Mark Hamrick suggested that at the bottom of the minutes that it should be stated that the next meeting will be held on _____ and that if for whatever reason you are unable to attend or send an alternate, to please notify the committee of an upcoming absence.

Wayne asked the group to review minutes of last meeting of May 23, 2006. Motion was made by Tim VanCleve to accept/approve the minutes as they are.

Ken Payne expressed concerns about distance between markings as reviewed in APWA.

Tom Baldwin reviewed current standards that state marking facilities from 18” on either side of facility.

Wayne referred back to Del Marva packet on distances between markings.

Kelly Hardy discussed that typically, in rural areas markings are spread further out as opposed to more congested areas.

The committee began discussing the width, length and distance between markings and as recorded by Wayne Gilmer, the committee voted 100% in favor of:

Single facility markings being:

  • 2”-4” wide
  • 6”-18” long
  • 2’-12’ distance between markings, all site specific

Also, the committee voted 100% in favor of:

  • Use of statement on page 10 of BGE marking standards with the inclusion of
    “historic locations”.

Tom Baldwin reminded the committee that when specific wording is used that it can be turned around and used against a company, so we should be careful.

Both Tom Baldwin and Ken Payne discussed the use of single line markings (for a single facility) for pipe sizes 4” or less and the use of corridor markings for pipe sizes greater than 4”.

Kelly Hardy gave his definition of a corridor mark: “where multiple cables are direct buried in a common trench”. Discussion was made as to which utility co. would mark the corridor marks, when several utilities exist.

Everyone on committee had comments about what the definition of a corridor mark is.

Norman Moore expressed concerns as to what the excavator will believe they are digging to expose.

Wayne interjected to remind the group that identifiers will be discussed at future meetings.

Tom Baldwin and Zeek both commented that utility companies may be opening  themselves up for liability for incorrectly labeling utilities as being in a conduit that may not be.

Ken Payne expressed concerns about not being sure (per asbuilts) as to what is in a conduit and what isn’t.

Tom Baldwin stated that we, as a group cannot cater to one utilities’ issues and that some things will just have to be accepted as the best practice. Tom also tasked himself to detail the definition of corridor marks and conduit marks. He will send this to Wayne for Wayne to forward to group for review before next meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 1:35pm

The next meeting will be held immediately after the Damage Prevention Meeting on July 25, 2006. If you cannot be present or send an alternate, please notify the group of your upcoming absence.

Attendee List
Name Company Fax Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-210-0894 Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tim VanCleve Verizon 410-303-3983 Timothy.m.vancleve@verizon.com
Shawn Breen Verizon 410-303-3987 Shawn.p.breen@verizon.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
John F. Payne Southern MD Cable 410-867-4340 jpayne@smcinc.biz
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Christy Stinebaugh Verizon 410-737-4056 Christy.m.stinebaugh@verizon.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
David Turner Colonial Pipeline 410-781-7110 dturner@colpipe.com
Calvin Mustgrove AA County DPW   Pmwusg62@aacounty.org
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Escavating   dlesalleet@pleasants.org
John Eichorn Comcast   John.eichorn@cable.comcast.com
Kathy Riley Absolute Underground   kathyaui@cablespeed.com
Lynn Barry WSSC   j.barry@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo Miss Utility   matt@missutility.net
Scott Brown Washington Gas   ssbrown@washgas.com
Gary Shulties Delmarva Power 410-758-4112 Gshulties@Delmarva.com
Tony Goodman Washington Gas   agoodman@washgas.com
Jim Jennings OCCLS 443-783-4211 Jimmy@OCC.com
Karen Watkins SMECO 301-274-4350 Karen.Watkins@Smeco.coop
Norman Moore SMECO 410-535-9409 Norman.Moore@Smeco.coop
Dave Dubs NETWORX 703-989-1715 DDubs@NETWORXUSA.com
  Zenon Sushko MDPSC 410-767-8113  Zshushko@PSC.STATE.MD.US
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.