Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

:: Marking Guidelines Committee

Minutes of The Marking Guidelines Meeting
May 3, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD 21076

Wayne opened the meeting with Team expectations and Committee function.

Mission: To create consistency amongst locating markings and current standards to eliminate confusion/discrepancies in efforts to increase the safety of MD and DC communities.

Tom: the best practices developed in this team, may be incorporated into new legislation for utilities. Kelly was asked to spearhead those efforts. Kelly was heavily involved with Common Ground Alliance. There are also multiple complaints associated with marking graffiti. Kelly would like to develop standards and accepted protocol for white lining. Are we going to establish standards on consensus or majority? Wayne, we should first look at current standards and procedures developed and decide if they are applicable to MD and DC needs. Tom, I agree that we should look at what CGA put together, VA standards, FL standards, and other areas and see what we are comfortable with and look at various facilities concerns. Wayne: Once we have examined all materials, and dissect the information, and develop a consistency to avoid confusion with the standards and from going from one state to another. Mark: In VA and WV the standards are the same, although if the contractor is coming from PA, there is a large difference. Wayne: gave examples of standards we need to look at to develop i.e. multiple cables in a trench. Then we need to have the MD/DC standards available in booklets, on the Miss Utility website, and enforce training certification before an excavator can dig. When to use offsets, when to use flags, when to use dots. The marking colors are standard.

Wayne: Let’s look at gas, using a yellow mark, how wide/large should the markings be, how it should be marked, etc.

ACTION: Tom: we should get materials for everyone in the team so we can all look at what has been developed. Tom: FL, Kelly: CGA, Nulca, Don Jones: VA.

Christy: will depth be addressed? Wayne: no, just marking standards. Kelly: we should discuss team goals today, expectations, etc. Wayne: we should discuss what constitutes a majority. Kelly: and labeling. Once we develop the standards, we should distribute them to the major utilities and get a 75% agreement.

ACTION: We do not have a presence from SMECO, WSSC, and Baltimore City. Wayne will contact WSSC and DC Water. Tom Hastings is going to try to contact Baltimore City. Ken will Contact USPCD. John: SMECO.

Committee Rules:

  • To pass a vote: 75% agreement, quorum, and one person present for each stakeholder above.
  • Votes may go out by e-mail, rules above apply.
  • Wayne will tally votes.
  • Quorum: 75% of member present
  • Attendance: Wayne will designate the removal of members

Next Meeting after the MD/DC Damage Prevention Meeting, May 17, 2006, to receive materials.

Attendee List
Name Company Phone Email
Wayne Gilmer Utiliquest 301-210-0894 Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tim VanCleve Verizon 410-303-3983 Timothy.m.vancleve@verizon.com
Shawn Breen Verizon 410-303-3987 Shawn.p.breen@verizon.com
Tom Baldwin BGE 410-291-3677 t.c.baldwin@bge.com
John F. Payne Southern MD Cable 410-867-4340 jpayne@smcinc.biz
Sherell Stone NPL 410-354-3972 sstone@nplcc.com
Tom Hastings OCCLS 410-712-0544 thastings@occls.com
Ken Payne Pepco 202-388-2148 khpayne@pepco.com
Christy Stinebaugh Verizon 410-737-4056 Christy.m.stinebaugh@verizon.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon 410-414-5685 Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Kelly Hardy Utiliquest   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Don Jones Washington Gas 703-750-7584 djones@washgas.com
David Turner Colonial Pipeline 410-781-7110 dturner@colpipe.com
Calvin Mustgrove AA County DPW   Pmwusg62@aacounty.org
Dennis Lescalleet Pleasants Escavating   dlesalleet@pleasants.org
John Eichorn Comcast   John.eichorn@cable.comcast.com
Kathy Riley Absolute Underground   kathyaui@cablespeed.com
Lynn Barry WSSC   j.barry@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo Miss Utility   matt@missutility.net
Scott Brown Washington Gas   ssbrown@washgas.com
Sherall Stone Northern Pipeline   sstone@nplcc.com
Tony Goodman Washington Gas   agoodman@washgas.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.