Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Damage Prevention Committee

Minutes of Maryland/DC Damage Prevention Meeting
March 28, 2006
Miss Utility Call Center
Hanover, MD  21076

I. Call To Order and Introduction:
Wayne Gilmer (Utiliquest) called the regular monthly meeting to order at 9:35 am.
Introductions were made.

The minutes of February 28, 2006 were approved.

II. New Business:
Wayne Gilmer gave a brief updates on the Frederick County Builders Home Show and the Allegany County Home Show. He stated that there were a lot of people in attendance at the Allegany County Home Show and several thanked us for being there.

Wayne stated that the Suburban Maryland Home Show was going to be held at the Show Place Arena from March 31st through April 2nd.

Matt Ruddo (Miss Utility) said he attended the CGA Excavation Safety Conference & Expo in Phoenix, AZ from March 13th-15th. He stated that there were a lot of discussions about 811.

Dora Parks (Miss Utility) gave an update on the 2005 Dig Smart and Locator Achievement Award Winner night which will be held the evening of April 20th at the Columbia Sheraton. She said that Goldin & Stafford, LLC was the D.C. winner and Joseph Canova & Son, LLC was the Maryland winner. She said that Herman Wilson of Utiliquest was the overall Locator Achievement Awards winner and that the regional winners were Brian Merritt (OCCLS), Eric White (Utiliquest), Frank Bachman (Utiliquest), Mark Thomas (Utiliquest), Pat Anderson (Charles County Utilities) and Wayne Sargent (Utiliquest).

Wayne Gilmer stated that the new Miss Utility Hats were delivered and that they are available to anyone that needs them. He also said that the new Miss Utility booth was in and that it only takes a few seconds to set up.

Wayne Gilmer thanked Karen Watkins of SMECO for donating their safety video to the Miss Utility lending library.

Wayne Gilmer stated that he was going to have a Common Marking Standards Committee meeting sometime in April. He said that he was going to check with Scott Brown of Washington Gas when he would be available for a meeting.

Nelson Sneed (Verizon) stated that Verizon is going to have a Damage Prevention Symposium for the FTTP compliance people on April 12th and 19th at BGE’s Pumphrey Gas Training Facility.  He stated that hopes to bring down the 2.0 damage per 10,000 ft. ratio and he wanted to thank everyone for their partnership.

Nelson gave the footage projections for March, April and May:

March
Montgomery County - 50,000
Prince George’s County - 150,000
Anne Arundel County - 200,000
Howard County - 200,000

April:
Montgomery County - 50,000
Prince George’s County - 200,000
Anne Arundel County - 260,000
Howard County - 200,000

May:
Montgomery County - 50,000
Prince George’s County - 250,000
Anne Arundel County - 260,000
Howard County - 250,000

Nelson stated they are trying to go back and track the actual footages installed to what they have projected in previous months.

There was a lengthy discussion about locating the FTTP and FIOS lines. Concerns were raised about the ability to locate the lines that have damaged mule tape or have no tracer wire. Several of the Verizon representatives requested that one of their compliance persons be contacted when that issue occurs. Verizon provided compliance contacts to those that needed after the meeting. Nelson Sneed asks everyone to make sure they contact the hotline at 1-888-550-2244 for all FTTP related issues.

Michael Collins II, Denise Collins and Dave Dubs (Networx, Inc) introduced their selves to the group and stated that are going to be working for Verizon in the Southern MD area. They said they were interested in processing their tickets online. Matt Ruddo was going to talk to them after the meeting.

Alex Dankanich (DOT/OPS) gave an update on the CGA Conference & Expo in Phoenix, AZ. He said that he attended a seminar on damages to water and sewer laterals from horizontal directional drilling installations. He said there were discussions about asking the municipalities to make good faith effort to locate water & sewer laterals.

Andy Kaldmaa (Long Fence) stated that he is having issues with locates on large projects for apartment complexes.  Several suggested he call for a meeting or white line his jobs. Joe Feronti (Utiliquest) suggested that Long Fence break their tickets up into smaller ones, so that they are only calling in the areas they can work for a given week. Lyle Bolyard (Millennium Cable) suggested that he call the street light company because they probably won’t be notified through the Miss Utility Center.

There was a brief discussion from concerns Andy Kaldmaa raised about getting utility line damage invoices over a year old. Mark Hamrick (Verizon) told Andy that he would have his damage investigation folks call him whenever damage occurs from an incident that involves Long Fence.

There was a general discussion about locating marks in residential areas. Bob Bold (Verizon) stated that he has gotten complaints from homeowners about the excessive use of paint on FIOS jobs. Kelly Hardy & Joe Forenti (Utiliquest) stated that their locators are trained to put down locate marks in a tasteful manner in residential areas. Joe stated they use dots whenever they are crossing driveways or having to mark near decorative concrete or brick walkways.

John Payne (Southern MD Cable) stated that he is having statusing issues on some of his tickets and that he would get with Tom Hastings (OCCLS) and Joe Feronti after the meeting.

        
Nelson Sneed stated that they are holding their primes responsible for any damage and would like to work with utility owners that have abandon lines. Rick Behrens asked if there was a ratio on damages to abandon lines vs. live ones. Al Thomas (Millennium Cable) stated that they tell the contractor whether the cable is live or abandon. Mitzi Ambush (PEPCO) said that most contractors know before they leave the jobsite whether the electric cable is live or not.

Tom Hastings (OCCLS) request that he be added to the Common Marking Standard Subcommittee.

Sherell Stone (NPL Construction) expressed concerns with the water and sewer facility owners that aren’t marking the service laterals. She stated that her company is taken a strong stance against the water and sewer companies and that people are getting hurt because the laterals are not being located. She also requested that she be added to the Common Marking Standards Subcommittee.

There was a brief discussion about whether a homeowner needs to be home whenever a telephone or cable TV line is being repaired. Several stated that the homeowner does not need to be home.

Lyle Bolyard asked if there are legislative changes being planned for next year. Zenon Sushko (MDPSC) said that a working group will be planned sometime in the foreseeable future.

Upcoming Damage Prevention Presentations:
April 29th Locus Land Farms 1500 Buck Lane Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 at 7:30AM. There will be approximately 20 people in attendance.

May 10th City of Frederick 111 Airport Drive Frederick, MD at 7:30AM. Approximately 15 people will be attendance.

June 20th Corman Construction at the Holiday Inn - 15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707 at 3:30PM. Approximately 120 people will be in attendance.                                                     

Upcoming Trade shows:

April

22nd-23rd Harford Home & Garden Show at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, MD

June

25th-28th Maryland Municipal League Convention at the Roland Powell Convention Center in Ocean City, MD

August

16th-19th Maryland Association of Counties Summer Conference at the Roland Powell Convention Center in Ocean City, MD

Upcoming Meetings:
The next Maryland/DC Damage Prevention meeting is scheduled for April 25, 2006 at the Miss Utility Center.  Coffee and donuts will be served at 9:00 am.  The meeting will begin at 9:30 am.

The Maryland/DC Subscribers meeting will be held May 17, 2006 at the Miss Utility Center. Coffee and donuts will be served at 8:30 am, and the meeting will begin at 9:00 am.

There being no further business to be brought before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:35 am

Attendee List
Name   Company   Phone   Email
Greg Johnson   PEPCO   301-670-8735   gmjohnson@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick   Verizon   410-610-1371   Mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Tom Hastings   OCCLS   410-712-0202   thastings@occls.com
Matt Ruddo   Miss Utility Center   410-712-0056   matt@missutility.net
Joe Feronti   Utiliquest   301-343-8762   Joe.feronti@utilitquest.com
Wayne Gilmer   Utiliquest   301-674-2769   Walter.gilmer@utiliquest.com
Tim Kempa   Comcast   410-371-3304   Tim_kempa@cbale.comcast.com
John Payne   Southern MD Cable   410-867-7577   jpayne@smcinc.biz
Bob Bold   Verizon   410-224-9458   Robert.R.Bold@verizon.com
Robert Vicks   PEPCO   202-388-2141   rlvicks@pepco.com
Cal Brooks   Howard County   410-313-4952    
Tom Baldwin   BGE   410-291-3121   T.C.Baldwin@bge.com
Brain Sink   S&N   301-874-8173   mcrawford@sncommfo.com
Z. Sushko   PSC   410-767-8113   zsushko@psc.state.md.us
Karen Watkins   SMECO   301-274-4350   Karen.watkins@smeco.coop
Andy Kaldmaa   Long Fence   301-350-2400   akaldmaa@longfence.com
Mitzi Ambush   PEPCO   240-508-4075   mambush@pepco.com
Vic Giordani   NTI   410-796-7770   vgiordani@netzero.com
Arthur Higgins   Verizon   202-253-3994   Arthur.r.higgins@verizon.com
Dora Parks   Miss Utility Center   410-782-2026   dora@missutility.net
Lyle Bolyard   MDM   410-987-8400   lbolyard@mdm.net
Monty Crawford   S&N   301-874-8173   mcrawford@sncommfo.com
Bob Norman   Utiliquest   443-790-0052   Bob.norman@utiliquest.com
Al Thomas   Millennium Cable   443-871-0386   althomas@mdm.net
Dave Dubs   Networx   703-989-1715   ddubs@netwroxusa.com
Sean Davis   S&N   240-285-8875   sdavis@sncommfo.com
Marc Haines   BGE   443-324-0371   Marc.haines@bge.com
Denise Collins   Networx, Inc.   410-414-8494   dcollins@networxusa.com
Sherell Stone   NPL Construction   410-355-1083   sstone@nplcc.com
Michael Collins II   Networx,Inc.   410-414-8494   mc@networxusa.com
Joe Wilkinson   Verizon   301-904-6024   Joseph.a.wilkson@verizon.com
Kelly Hardy   Utiliquest   410-536-0070   Kelly.hardy@utiliquest.com
Rick Behrens   CableCom   916-712-5028   rlbehrens@bellsouth.net
Alex Dankanich   DOT/PHSMA/OPS   202-260-8518   Alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Dave Roberts   Utiliquest   240-447-3602   Dave.roberts@utiliquest.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.