Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – June 8, 2016
Dora Parks, Secretary

Meeting notes provided by Matt Ruddo, Committee Member. UNAPPROVED COPY

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 59th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order by Chairman Brown. Customary committee introductions were made, nine committee members and one guest were in attendance.

Meeting minutes of May 12, 2016 were approved as presented.

There was a general discussion about a July 12th meeting PHMSA will have with the certain stakeholders in the District regarding the enforcement authority process. Udeozo Ogbue (DC PSC) is going to forward the PHMSA meeting notice to Dora Parks so that she can notify the appropriate people. There was a brief discussion about who should be in attendance.
There was a review of the following sections of the working draft:
NEW 6: Notification Prior to Excavation

  • Brief discussion about the 3 hour ticket and how excavators and utility owners will act and respond to them.

NEW 7: Owner or Operator Responsibilities

  • Everyone agreed that the current version of this section was fine

NEW 8: Excavation and Demolition, Duties of the Excavator

  • There was a discussion about enforcement of excavating activities on Federal Property. Everyone agreed that there shouldn’t be any exemptions

  • There was a brief discussion about changing the name for CBT (Computer Based Training) and who would be required to take the training

A lengthy discussion ensued about creating a NEW SECTION: TRAINING. There was a debate about how and who would administer the training as well as what the cost structure would be for small, medium and large organizations/companies.

Please see the Working Draft for the details.

Meeting adjourned at 12:05pm

Scheduled committee meetings at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am,

Friday, June 17th
Friday, July 1st

_________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Elliott Garrett
DOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Hung Nguyen
CATS MANAGER EASTERN REGION
PHMSA hung.nguyen@dot.gov
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Udeozo Ogbue
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9190 uogbue@psc.dc.gov
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST - Erik Phillips
UtiliQuest (443) 324-7835 erik.phillips@utiliquest.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.