Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown: Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – May 12, 2016
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 58th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:57 am by Chairman Brown. Customary committee introductions were made, eleven committee members were in attendance.

Meeting minutes of April 29, 2016 were approved as presented.

Chairman Brown presented Mr. Evans’ work regarding converting the Authority Notice of Probable Violation procedures flow chart into text for the Title 34 working draft.  The committee made some revisions to the text information and inserted the data into section 3 of the working draft.

Committee discussions;

  • Civil penalties
  • Authority settlement conditions
  • Investigative procedures for reports of probable law violations
  • Review procedures
  • Permits for DDOT, public space (application, permit life, waivers)
  • Ticket life
  • Ticket size
  • Review of sections 4, 5 and 6

Chairman Brown stated we should begin the legislative format process offering committee contributions during the process.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30am. 

Scheduled committee meetings at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am,

Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (8:30am – 2:00pm, lunch provided)

_________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

 Meeting Attendees;

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Kevin Woolbright
MDUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Manmohan Singh DC PSC (202) 316-0300 msingh@psc.dc.gov
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Udeozo Ogbue
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9190 uogbue@psc.dc.gov

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.