Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – April 29, 2016
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 57th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:30 am by Chairman Brown. Customary committee and guest introductions were made, eleven committee members and one guest were in attendance.

Meeting minutes of April 8, 2016 were approved as presented.

The committee reviewed the revisions made to section 2, Authority Creation and made changes.

The committee reviewed the Authority Notice of Probable Violation procedures flow starting with receipt through appeals. Bob Evans will convert the flow chart into text to be inserted into the working draft for the May 12th meeting.

There was a lengthy discussion regarding components of the enforcement matrix;

    Gravity
    History
    Culpability
    Circumstances
    Other

The matrix section was moved within the section 3.

The committee discussed the implication of utility damages within the District. Committee members reported;

    30% of District damages for WGL were due to no tickets
    20-25% of no ticket damages were realized across the Nation.
    72% of the Maryland, Notice of Probable Violations were a result of damages without tickets

The committee’s final discussion involved Authority funding.

The meeting adjourned at 12:55pm

Scheduled committee meetings at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am,

    Thursday, May 12, 2016 (8:30am – 11:30am)
    Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (8:30am – 2:00pm, lunch provided)

_________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Hung Nguyen
CATS MANAGER EASTERN REGION
PHMSA hung.nguyen@dot.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MDUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark K Battle, Esq. PEPCO
Vice President, PEPCO Region
(202) 872-3360 mkbattle@pepco.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Udeozo Ogbue
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9190 uogbue@psc.dc.gov
GUEST - Erik Phillips
UtiliQuest (443) 324-7835 erik.phillips@utiliquest.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.