Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown: Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – April 8, 2016
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary


    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 56th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:02 am by Chairman Brown. Customary committee and guest introductions were made, thirteen committee members and one guest were in attendance.

Meeting minutes of March 21, 2016 were approved as presented.

Elliott Garrett (DDOT) stated that the requested notice regarding Title 34 draft overview and proposed enforcement strategies was forwarded to the Mayor’s office. Elliott also stated that DDOT is a supporter of the Title 34 rewrite committee and their attention to achieving a law for the District of Columbia to meet the requirements of the 2006 Nine Key Elements of the PIPES Act.

Jim Barron stated a ruling from the Maryland Court of Appeals upheld that the Maryland Underground Facilities Damage Prevention Authority was constitutional and a part of the Executive Branch.

Joe Shelton (B. Frank Joy) provided an overview of trade associations affected by Title 34.

Committee Discussions;

  • Current Title 34-2707, Liability of damages; civil penalties
  • Violation fine amounts
  • Enforcement to include training
  • Authority creation make-up
  • Language changes to rewrite section 2
  • Authority appointments by the Mayor

The committee worked on sections 1, 2 and 3.

The meeting adjourned at 1:50pm.

Scheduled committee meetings at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30am,

Friday, April 29, 2016– committee will meet until 2:00pm, lunch will be provided.
Thursday, May 12, 2016


Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

Sorted By First Name

Angela Lee
Manager, State Government Relations
Verizon (202) 515-2513 angela.lee@verizon.com
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Hung Nguyen
PHMSA   hung.nguyen@dot.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org

Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member

B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MDUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Udeozo Ogbue
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9190 uogbue@psc.dc.gov
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.