Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown: Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – February 8, 2016
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary


    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 52nd meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:05 am by Chairman Brown. Customary committee and guest introductions were made, there were (13) in attendance.

Chairman Brown stated Common Ground Alliance (CGA) is considering changing their logo tag line from ‘Know What’s Below, Call 811’ to ‘Call or Click 811, Know What’s Below’. The committee agreed this was a positive move forward in light of the amount of excavators using the internet to process tickets. Miss Utility’s ITIC is at an average of 85%.

The committee discussed the current enforcement draft and considered the possible impact on the District’s City Council and Mayor, the Attorney’s General Office and Public Service Commission. It was suggested that the committee continue to move forward with the draft on a best effort basis understanding the various agencies will have a voice during their reviews.

PHMSA’s letter relating to ‘Pipeline Damage Prevention Program Final Rule’ (49 FR 43835-43869) was distributed and reviewed by the committee. The rule includes new procedures and criteria to measure a state’s damage prevention enforcement program. It was stated PHMSA has given states 10 years to implement the 2006 PIPES Act that provides for an adequate damage prevention program that includes enforcement.

The committee reviewed the DC Authority flow chart draft making changes, the revised flow chart will be available at the next committee meeting for review.

Discussion ensued regarding how violation fines are to be used; solely for education and damage prevention outreach, or to support enforcement operations and education/outreach. The committee agreed to use the Maryland approach to Authority industry seat selections. Dora Parks was asked to insert the Title 12-107, Membership into the Title 34 working copy for review at the next committee meeting.

Draft changes were made to sections; Enforcement & Penalties and Damage Prevention Fund.

Chairman Brown encouraged committee members to attend a Virginia Advisory meeting and a Maryland Authority meeting to review both state processes of enforcement.

The Maryland Authority meets the first Wednesday of the month at 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, Maryland 21076 at 9:00am.

The Virginia Advisory Committee meets the first Tuesday of the month at 1300 East Main Street Richmond, VA at 9:00am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:33am.

Scheduled committee meetings at Miss Utility, call center starting at 8:30am,

    Monday, February 22, 2016
    Monday, February 29, 2016
    Monday, March 21, 2016

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

Sorted By First Name

Angela Lee
Manager, State Government Relations
Verizon (202) 515-2513 angela.lee@verizon.com
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano)
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org

Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member

B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MDUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vince Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.