Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – September 1, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The 47th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:53 am by Chairman Brown.

Vice Chair, Meena Gowda provided a list of comments from DC Water regarding the DC Title 34 law working copy draft. The committee reviewed each comment providing clarification for those particular points.

Committee discussions regarding stakeholder computer based law training;

  • Mandatory
  • How to administer
  • Possible reduction of violation fines if training was completed
  • Training cost
  • Who is required to take the training

The committee worked through the remainder of the working draft copy dated 15 0826 addressing highlighted areas in preparation for legislative formatting.

The next committee meeting is planned for;
Thursday, October 1st

Refreshments will be available at 8:00am followed by the committee meeting ending at approximately 11:30am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:58am.

_________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 denny@insightdmv.com
Dora Parks
Secretary(br> Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vince Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.