Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – July 23, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary


    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 44rd meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:15 am by Chairman Brown.

Chairman Brown opened the meeting with a report of PHMSA’s rule making relating to Part 198, Subpart D, standards for adequate state damage prevention enforcement programs and processes for assessment.  There is a new “Part 196” regarding PHMSA’s enforcement pertaining to excavators who damage pipelines in states with inadequate damage prevention enforcement programs.  Excavators cited for violations of pipeline safety will be judged at the same level as pipeline operators. Additionally, states who do not have an effective damage prevention program as outlined by PHMSA are subject to a reduction of 4% of PHMSA grant money.  The new rule will go into effect on January 1, 2016.  There are currently (10) states without any level of damage prevention enforcement.  PHMSA will take into consideration states working on law change for effective damage prevention standards and enforcement while implementing the final rule in 2016.

There was a general discussion regarding the impact of this new approach by PHMSA on the District of Columbia, timing of the DC Title 34 rewrite is on target.

The committee resumed Title 34 draft sufficiency, grammar and criteria relating to several sections. .  Dora Parks will revise the definition order for committee review and reorganize the working draft as suggested by Mr. Bereano.

The next committee meeting is planned for Wednesday, August 19th at the Miss Utility call center located at, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.  Refreshments will be available at 8:00am followed by the committee meeting ending at approximately 11:30am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:10am.


Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Meeting Attendees;

Sorted By First Name

Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
(410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com


Sorted By First Name

Erik Phillips UtiliQuest (443) 324-7835 Erik.phillips@utiliquest.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.