Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – May 14, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The 41st meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:15 am by Chairman Brown.

The committee continued reviewing the highlighted areas the Title 34 draft copy starting with section New 3, Excavation and Demolition – Notification prior to excavation.

Committee Discussions;

  • Exposing underground lines in area of excavation, and
  • Test pitting – what is considered reasonable distances based on utility type, and
  • Utility installations in a townhome/row home environment

Chairman Brown asked the committee to think about the below verbiage from New 5, Duties of the Excavator for discussion at the next meeting;

Before using mechanized equipment for excavation or demolition a person shall:

Test pit the facilities when within five feet of marked facilities that will be crossed.

Test pit the facilities at reasonable distances when excavating within three feet of a parallel marked facility.

The next committee meetings are planned for, June 9th and June 24th at the Miss Utility call center located at, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.  Refreshments will be available at 8:00am followed by the committee meeting, 8:30am to approximately 11:30am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:15am.


Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.