Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD

Minutes of the Meeting – April 15, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks


    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law, Title 34 “Public Utilities”; Subtitle 7, Chapter 27 to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The 38th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:47am by Chairman Brown.

Meeting minutes from March 23, 2015 were approved as written.

Committee Discussions;
Ticket work site length, it was suggested that the ticket length be written as to not exceed 1,320 feet instead of current draft of 660 feet, 1/8 mile.
Intent of Authority under new draft;

    Is the Authority considered an advisory committee to a higher power or will the DC Authority have the final say in fines and settlement?
    Change to number of Authority members
    Process for member application and selection – possibility of a Membership Chairman
    Course for filling vacant seats
    Added quorum of five
    Ability to create rules to enforce District law
    Authority By-laws
Report of a probable violation progression
Delay codes using Ticket Check
Damage Ticket new, use of a header or process via Ticket Check
Project Tickets relating to the prime, their rented equipment, operators and day laborers

Title 34 draft changes were made to;

    New 1 Terms
    New 7, Authority Makeup/Creations
    New 8, Enforcement and Penalties

The committee addressed several of the draft highlights for comments and item resolve.

The next committee meeting is planned for;

    April 22nd, refreshments available at 8:00am

The meeting adjourned at 11:41am.


Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

Sorted By First Name

Alex Dankanich
PHMSA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.