Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD


Minutes of the Meeting – February 23, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The 36th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown.

Meeting minutes from February 9, 2015 were approved as written.

The rewrite committee continued discussions regarding Title 34 enforcement;

    Enforcement power via a District entity; PSC, Attorney General or Mayor and City Council
      New District Mayor; Muriel Bowser
      New District Attorney; Karl Racine
    Various committee members to contact; DDOT, PSC, AG and Mayor’s office to present the Title 34 rewrite, intent and garner support.
    Damage Prevention Training; an integral part of law violators
    Enforcement funding

The committee reviewed PHMSA’s Statewide Damage Prevention Programs Characterization (SDPPC) tool that includes the Nine Elements to ensure that Title 34 meets the characterization standards. The committee worked through criteria for;

    Element 8 – Technology
    Element 9 – Damage Prevention Program Review

The committee agreed that all (9) elements have been adequately incorporated into the Title 34 rewrite.  Chairman Brown completed a copy of the PDF SDPPC tool using the draft law copy.

On-line Title 34 Training – Enforcement funding and training
Discussions continued regarding implementation of mandatory Title 34 training for education and awareness of District law and to provide a level of funding for the enforcement authority.  All stakeholders (with possible exemptions for DDOT) would be required to maintain yearly training credentials for a fee (possible $100.00 per company) and be available in both English and Spanish. The trained person would be considered the Damage Prevention Competent Person (DPCP).  One annual fee per company, additional staff for on-line training is free. Excavating companies could be tracked via the Miss Utility caller I.D.’s.  Non trained excavating companies could experience a higher law violation fee if they did not take the on-line training.  

It was suggested that a new field be added to the Miss Utility ticket to log the completed training; Training I.D.:_____________.  The committee proposed using PHMSA grant money to implement this new training requirement.

Next steps;

    Provide Bruce Bereano with the Title 34 draft rewrite copy, and
    Schedule meetings with Mayor and City Council and the Attorney General’s office

The next committee meeting is planned for;

    Monday, March 23rd at 8:30am, refreshments available at 8:00am

The meeting adjourned at 11:15am.

    _________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Chris Taylor
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-3357 crtaylor@pepco.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.