Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD

Minutes of the Meeting – February 9, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The 35th meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown.

Meeting minutes from February 5, 2015 were approved as written.

The committee reviewed PHMSA’s Statewide Damage Prevention Programs Characterization Tool and the Nine Elements to ensure the working copy of Title 34 meets the characterization standards. The committee worked through criteria:

Element 1 – Effective Communications
Element 2 – Comprehensive Stakeholder Support
Element 3 – Operator Internal Performance Measurement
Element 4 – Effective Employee Training
Element 5 – Public Education
Element 6 – Dispute Resolution
Element 7 - Enforcement

The committee will resume working through the Nine Elements SDPPC tool on February 23rd.

Changes were made to below draft sections;

    New 3, Notification Prior to Excavation
    New 5, Duties of the Excavator

The next committee meetings are planned for;

    Monday, February 23rd
    Monday, March 23rd

Meetings will begin at 8:30am, refreshments available at 8:00am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:25am.
_________________________________________________________

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.