Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – January 5, 2015
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 31st meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:39am by Chairman Brown.

Meeting minutes from December 8, 2014 were approved as written.

The committee reviewed the following items as needed follow up:
                Bruce Bereano – guidance regarding working copy format, sponsorship and various funding
                Ann Marie – PHMSA grants and funding for regulators
                Evaluate the Title 34 draft to the PHMSA, SDPPC tool 

The committee continued discussions regarding Title 34 enforcement and processes
Continued discussion topics;
                Authority Funding
                Excavator/contractor Title 34 training and licensing (fee)
                Violation Fees and collection            

Changes were made to below draft sections;
                New 7, Authority Creation
                New 8, Enforcement & Penalties

The next committee meetings are planned for;
Wednesday, January 21st
Wednesday, January 28th

Meetings will begin promptly at 8:30am, refreshments available at 8:00am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:31am.

Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Cheri Hance Staples
Office of the General Counsel, DOT
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 cheri.staples@dc.gov
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,
http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.