Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – December 8, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 30TH meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:55am by Chairman Brown.

Meeting minutes from December 1, 2014 were approved as written.

The committee continued discussions regarding Title 34 enforcement.
Continued discussion topics;
                Authority Purpose
                Authority By-laws
                Authority Structure
Authority Tenure
                Authority Funding
                Authority Enforcement (possible AG’s Office or DC PCS)
                Claim Process

Changes were made to below draft sections;
                New 7, Authority Creation
                New 8, Enforcement & Penalties

Upon completion of the Title 34 draft the committee will evaluate the draft to the PHSMA – State Damage Prevention Program Characterization Tool (SDPPCT) to ensure all elements have been met.

The committee planned for future 2015 meeting dates as follows;

Monday, January 5th
Wednesday, January 21st
Wednesday, January 28th

Meetings will begin promptly at 8:30am.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30am.
Next scheduled meeting;    Monday, January 5, 2015 starting at 8:30am at the Miss Utility Call Center located at 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100, Hanover, MD 21076.

Sorted By First Name

Alex Dankanich
PHSMA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thruman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com

Meeting minutes, attendee list and Title 34 working draft copies are available for review at,

The Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public and are held at the Miss Utility Call Center located at; 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076.

© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.