Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – December 1, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 29TH meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown.

The committee continued its discussion on enforcement regarding the current one-call law, Title 34.

Changes were made draft sections;

    New 1, Definitions
    New 7, Authority Creation
    New 8, Enforcement & Penalties

Discussion topics;

    Authority purpose
    Authority Structure (make-up)
    Authority board members
    Authority tenure
    Authority staff (investigator)
    Investigator duties

Due to some members having future meeting conflicts, the December 9th meeting was changed to, Monday December 8th. 
               
The meeting adjourned at 11:22am.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Next scheduled meeting;    Monday, December 8,,2014 starting at 8:30am at the Miss Utility Call Center located at 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100, Hanover, MD 21076.
Meeting minutes, attendees and Title 34 working copies are available at, http://www.missutility.net/SteeringCommitteeRewriteDcLaw/index.asp

The Title 34 Rewrite Steering Committee meetings are open to the public.

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEES      
Mike Burns UtiliQuest (443) 786-7994 mike.burns@utiliquest.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.