Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – September 16, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The 26TH meeting of the Steering Committee was called to order at 9:00am by Chairman Brown.

The committee approved the September 24, 2014 minutes.

Topic Discussions;

  • White lining – should call center accept electronic excavation polygon as virtual white line
  • Ticket receiving software
  • Draft section details, describing processes vs. 2701 (definitions)
  • Call center manage ticket transmission based on inbound work to begin dates

Draft review includes changes made to grammar, organization, and structure and/or inserting new verbiage.

NEW 1:  Definitions
NEW 3: Notification
NEW 4: Emergency

Sections numbers 4 through 12 were changed; new numbers are 4 through 11 due to combining section 4 into 3.

Committee attendees received a handout; PHMSA’s Characterization Tool

Next scheduled meeting;    Wednesday, October 22, 2014

The meeting adjourned at 11:45am.

Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6002 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.