Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – September 11, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 9:10am by Chairman Brown.

The committee approved the August 27, 2014 minutes.


  • PHMSA Characterization Tool & the impact on one call law.
  • Locate Symbols, Marking Guidelines Brouchure
  • Review of Title 34 working copy (see below)

Draft review includes changes made to grammar, organization, and structure or inserting new verbiage.

NEW 6; Owner or Operator Responsibilities
(c)           Changes made

NEW 7; Damages
(a)          Changes made

NEW 5; Duties of an Excavator
(3)          Changes made

NEW 2; Formation and Operations of One Call Center
(a)          Changes made

Modifications were made to the draft section titles for clarification of section content.

Scheduled meetings; September 16th, 24th and on October 6th.
The meeting adjourned at 11:40am.

Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call Center Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.