Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – August 27, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the August 19, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown provided a ‘bullet’ list of changes that have been drafted for the revision of Title 34.  The list does not include all changes or revisions and will be revised during future committee meetings.

The committee continued with the review of draft revisions to the current Title 34 one call law.  Please review the Title 34 working draft dated 14 0827 for all modifications.

Continuing with 34-2701 Definitions, the committee started with;
Term 13                No change
Term 14                Designer, there was a lengthy discussion regarding the new designer notice. The designer notice is a CGA Best Practice and included on the PHMSA SDPPC Nine Elements tool.  There where changes made to the definition.
Term 15                New - Underground Facilities Information Exchange System, definition

34-2702 Formation and Operation of One Call Center
 (a)                         Changes made, yellow highlighted areas will be reviewed at a later time.

Excavation and Demolition

34-2704 - Notification to the One-Call Center
(a) and (b)           No changes

34-2709 – Emergency Notification           
No changes, yellow highlighted areas will be reviewed at a later time.

The committee engaged in a discussion regarding separation.  There will be a review of the industry
standard at a future meeting.  There was also discussion on marking colors and symbols.  The District Marking Guidelines may be referenced in the Title 34 draft.

The committee agreed to review the PHMSA SDPPC tool to ensure all elements are addressed while
drafting Title 34.

Scheduled meetings;  September 11th, 16th and 24th.  Also on October 6th.

The meeting adjourned at 11:45am.

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kirsten Bowden
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Robert Glidewell WGL (202) 624-6451 rglidewell@washgas.com
Greg Johnson PEPCO gmjohnson@pepco.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.