Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – August 19, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:47am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the July 23, 2014 minutes.

Prior to working with the enforcement section of Title 34, the committee will review the working copy changes that have been made so far. The committee started with 34-2701, Definitions 1-14. Various adjustments were made to the current working copy draft based on committee discussions and clarifications. Please review the Title 34 working draft dated 14 0819 for all 34-2701 modifications.

Term 1 No change
Term 2 No change
Term 3 Changes made
Term 4 No change
Term 5 Discussion on homeowner ownership of buried lines and call center membership
Term 6 Discussion of mill work impact on damage prevention in addition to RFID (utility/facility markers) being included as an underground facility. Changes made.
Term 7 Changes made
Term 8 No change
Term 9 Discussion regarding road cutting and appropriate procedures to protect the underground utilities.   Changes made.
Term 10 Changes made to grammar and punctuation
Term 11 No change
Term 12 Discussion of definition of ‘cross bore’, appropriate separation and intersection of gas and sewer pipes.  Changes made.

The remaining terms will be discussed at the next meeting scheduled for August 27th, 8:30am at
Miss Utility.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30am.

Meeting Attendees for July 18, 2014

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Alex Dankanich
PHMSA
PHMSA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
(410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Kirsten Bowdent
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
Verizon (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Michael Sakata MWRTBA (202) 289-4434 msakata@mwrtba.org
David Cantwell Recycle Aggregates (202) 438-5114 dcantwell@re-agg.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.