Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – July 23, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:54am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the July 18, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown reviewed committee progress regarding the Title 34 rewrite,

  • Revised current definitions and inserted new definitions
  • Modified section 34-2702 –Operation of a One Call Center
  • Modified section 34-2704 – Notification prior to an Excavation
  • Modified section 34-2709 – Emergency Notification
  • Modified section 34-2705 – Excavator Requirements
  • New 6 – Owner or Operator responsibilities, Positive Response, Emergency and Designer Response

Committee Discussion Topics,

  • Positive Response, coding a ‘no access ticket’
  • Damage Prevention includes designer work

Title 34 – working copy (see attachment – yellow and green highlights denotes future committee examination)

    New 7: Section 34-2706 – Damages Caused by Excavation or Demolition
    Reviewed protocol for effective damage investigations; documentation using pictures of marked lines with landmarks, utility measurements, securing contact information.  Chairman Brown provided an overview of a recent Montgomery County pilot for enhanced positive response.  Utility participants included, WGL, WSSC, Verizon and PEPCO.  Each ticket’s locate included a manifest of the marked site available with the Ticket Check Positive Response as an attachment via the call center’s Search & Status application.  Chairman Brown reported a significant improvement comparing reported damages for the same 2013 time period.

Next Committee Meetings (Miss Utility Call Center),

    Tuesday, August 19th starting at 8:30am

Chairman Brown asked the committee to prepare for the next meeting by thinking about Title 34 enforcement.

The meeting adjourned at 11:11am.

Meeting Attendees for July 23, 2014

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
(410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Cheri Hance Staples
Office of the General Counsel, DDOT
DDOT (202) 671-3237 cheri.staples@dc.gov
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call Center Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.