Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – July 18, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:50am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the July 9, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown provided an overview of the committee’s purpose for the benefit of our new member.

  • To align Title 34 with the PIPES Act of 2006 regarding an effective damage prevention program
  • To revise older terms of communications (i.e., teletype)
  • To insert certain accepted and best practices for damage prevention
  • To improve the flow of information
  • To provide a level of enforcement for Title 34

Committee Discussion Topics;

  • Contractors using APWA utility paint colors to provide counterfeit marking and private locating.
  • Current length of a ticket is 1,320 feet within one quadrant; the committee discussed limiting addresses on the ticket and changing the current ticket length.
  • Paving tickets – should the current exemption be removed from the rewrite.
  • Review of current Ticket Check and the code rules.

Title 34 – working copy (see attachment)

    New 1: Definitions and General Provisions
    §34-2701 – Definitions #10 modified
    New 6: Owner or Operator Responsibilities – worked on the ‘yellow’ list of reasons a locate cannot be completed on time and added in DC Ticket Check as the method of positive response.

Upcoming Committee Meetings (Miss Utility Call Center),

    Wednesday, July 23rd
    Tuesday, August 5th

The meeting was adjourned at 11:17 AM.

Meeting Attendees for July 18, 2014

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Cheri Hance Staples
Office of the General Counsel, DDOT
DDOT (202) 671-3237 cheri.staples@dc.gov
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.