Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – July 9,, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

PURPOSE OF REWRITE

    To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:48am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the June 25, 2014 minutes.

There was a lengthy discussion on the topics of;

  • Road saw cutting, various committee members reported on their standards, techniques and contractor approaches.  Joe Shelton described ‘Key Hole’ technology.
  • Designer notices, who qualifies, recommended best practices, how other states are using this ticket type and if the Design notice would be a benefit to damage prevention in the District.

Title 34 – working copy (see attachment)

§34-2701 (14) added Designer definition
New 6: Owner or Operator Responsibilities, Designer Notice was added.

The committee agreed upon the following proposed meeting dates to be held at the Miss Utility Call Center on;

    Friday, July 18th
    Wednesday, July 23rd
    Tuesday, August 5th

The meeting was adjourned at 11:15 AM.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.