Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – June 25, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the June 12, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown provided an overview of the law rewrite committee purpose and call center processes for the new meeting attendees.

The committee agreed to cancel the July 1st meeting.  Wednesday, July 9th will be the next committee meeting.  Future meetings will be scheduled at the July 9th meeting.

Title 34 – working copy (see attachment)

§34-2704 (c) was modified under new Section 6, Owner or Operator Responsibilities. The committee accepted the re-write of both (b) and (c).

Discussion ensued regarding standard and emergency ticket types in addition to the Designer request. The various levels of ‘SUE’ (Subsurface Utility Engineering) as a best practice were reviewed by the committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:53 AM.

The next committee meetings will be held at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100, Hanover, MD 21076 starting at 8:30am on;

Wednesday, July 9th


Sorted By First Name

Alex Damkanich
PHMSA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Dora Parks
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dora@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Scott Brown
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Kate Kelley
AG Committee Member
DC - OAG (202) 724-5533 katherine.kelley@dc.gov
Kim Lincoln-Stewart PSC - DC (202) 626-5100 kstewart@psc.de.gov
Mike Hightowner Verizon (301) 785-1698 michael.x.hightowner@verizon.com
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.